Pinehurst School
Composite · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 1,145
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 75 Bush Road, Albany, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Upper Harbour Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-4140960
- info@pinehurst.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our school is known for academic excellence, but that’s only part of the story. We’re just as proud of the values we live by every day:
- - Respect for Self
- - Respect for Others
- - Excellence
- These values shape how we learn, lead, and contribute — helping our students grow into independent, responsible people who are ready to thrive in a global world.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Pinehurst School welcomes international students from Years 1–13 who are looking for a supportive, high-quality education in a safe and inclusive environment.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Premier Boys Badminton team
he has been a committed and influential member of our Premier Boys Badminton team
- Premier Boys Badminton team
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 156
- Māori
- 8
- Pacific
- 1
- Asian
- 984
- MELAA
- 20
- Other
- 2
- International
- 25
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 0 | 61 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 63 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 84 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 91 |
| Year 03 | 1 | 0 | 69 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 69 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 62 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 69 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 0 | 63 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 69 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 67 | 1 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 71 |
| Year 07 | 1 | 0 | 80 | 1 | 1 | 14 | 1 | 98 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 81 | 2 | 0 | 16 | 2 | 100 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 0 | 84 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 100 |
| Year 10 | 0 | 0 | 84 | 1 | 2 | 15 | 0 | 101 |
| Year 11 | 1 | 0 | 73 | 3 | 1 | 26 | 5 | 104 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 0 | 57 | 4 | 1 | 37 | 5 | 101 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 0 | 56 | 5 | 0 | 20 | 5 | 85 |
| Total | 10 | 0 | 921 | 18 | 5 | 172 | 19 | 1121 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 63 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 65 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 61 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 66 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 0 | 65 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 67 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 72 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 0 | 59 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 65 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 67 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 71 |
| Age 11 | 1 | 0 | 80 | 2 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 98 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 86 | 2 | 1 | 13 | 1 | 102 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 0 | 92 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 108 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 0 | 83 | 1 | 2 | 15 | 1 | 102 |
| Age 15 | 1 | 0 | 65 | 1 | 1 | 24 | 3 | 93 |
| Age 16 | 3 | 0 | 68 | 6 | 1 | 39 | 3 | 111 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 56 | 4 | 0 | 22 | 6 | 87 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 13 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Total | 10 | 0 | 921 | 18 | 5 | 172 | 19 | 1121 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Pinehurst School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Pinehurst School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
98.9%
| Pinehurst School | 98.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.3% |
| Total | 98.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Pinehurst School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
93.6%
| Pinehurst School | 93.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 93.5% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.9% |
| Total | 93.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 10 February 1991
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 5 June 2024
- Latest report
- Pinehurst School June 2024
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 5 June 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1145 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
April 2019
846
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 June 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 2 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).