Patricia Avenue School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 211
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 20 Patricia Avenue, Hamilton East, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-8569350
- office@patave.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.patave.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- School transport is provided by bus companies selected by Ministry of Education Transport; students travelling on the buses and vans attend a range of schools in Hamilton.
School transport is provided by bus companies selected by Ministry of Education Transport. Students travelling on the buses and vans attend a range of schools in Hamilton.
- School transport is provided by bus companies selected by Ministry of Education Transport; students travelling on the buses and vans attend a range of schools in Hamilton.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- school band
Extension music opportunities provided through the school band
- Hamilton Competitions
Participation in performing Arts opportunities e.g. Hamilton Competitions, Launched Festival
- Launched Festival
Participation in performing Arts opportunities e.g. Hamilton Competitions, Launched Festival
- school band
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 117
- Māori
- 93
- Pacific
- 25
- Asian
- 21
- MELAA
- 14
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 02 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 03 | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 04 | 7 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 05 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 06 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 07 | 10 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 08 | 6 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 09 | 11 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 10 | 8 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 11 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 13+ | 14 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 36 |
| Total | 86 | 21 | 19 | 12 | 0 | 111 | 0 | 202 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 06 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 07 | 5 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 08 | 7 | 0 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 09 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 10 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 11 | 9 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 12 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 13 | 12 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 14 | 7 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 15 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 17 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 19+ | 5 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 86 | 21 | 19 | 12 | 0 | 111 | 0 | 202 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Patricia Avenue School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
20.6%
| Patricia Avenue School | 20.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 28.1% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 115.7% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 16.8% |
| Total | 20.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Patricia Avenue School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 500
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 7 February 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 7 May 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board did not attest to all areas (7 May 2024)
Areas the board did not attest to, in ERO’s words: Personnel Management. The report says what that meant and what happened next.
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 7 May 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
identity checks as part of workforce safety checking [ Children’s Act 2014 - Safety Checking of Workforce].
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 211 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2017
193
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 June 2017
May 2014
158
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 June 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 7 May 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Patricia Avenue School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff, and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Patricia Avenue School, in Hamilton, is a specialist school dedicated to meeting the unique learning needs of students aged from 5 to 21 years . All students have Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS) funding. Students learn across a range of settings, including 12 classes at the base school, 18 satellite classes in 8 host schools and a transition unit for older students in a community-based setting.
Specialist therapy services provide transdisciplinary support for learners’ wellbeing and access to learning. A specialist teacher outreach service works with ORS funded students and staff in local schools.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
The school’s mission – ‘Learning for Living,’ underpins the vision to enhance students’ learning, building on their needs and respects their dignity, challenging them to achieve personal standards of excellence and to reach their potential.
Patricia Avenue School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
building networks which maximises students’ opportunities to gain experience skills
developing students’ independence and self-esteem
enabling students to make significant personal decisions affecting their own future and wellbeing.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Patricia Avenue School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well the curriculum is promoting clear and coherent pathways to inform teaching and learning that enables all learners to reach their potential and achieve success.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
leaders have identified the need to strengthen the school’s localised and holistic curriculum to provide clear direction for teaching and learning while giving priority to Te Tiriti o Waitangi .
The school expects to see a holistic, coherent, and relevant curriculum that:
provides clear direction for effective teaching and learning
identifies and supports meaningful pathways for ākonga success
is reflective of and responds to the diverse needs of learners.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate how well the curriculum is promoting clear and coherent pathways to inform teaching and learning that enables all learners to reach their potential and achieve success .
Clear systems for tracking and reporting students’ progress with individual goals that promote students seeing themselves as successful learners.
A culture, climate and positive relationships promote wellbeing and care of all in the school community.
Distributed leadership is highly responsive and sustains conditions for improving outcomes learners including provision of staff professional learning and development opportunities.
Collaboration and coordinated staff planning for learning and wellbeing effectively responds to individual learner needs and promotes their success and wellbeing.
Staff teamwork that consistently demonstrate and enact high expectations for learners and their success.
Leadership that focuses on creating conditions for innovative solutions to sustain and improve outcomes for learners.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
completing and implementing the literacy curriculum
embedding the mathematics curriculum
developing documentation to support planning over time
reviewing and strengthening assessment processes and documentation
developing partnerships with mana whenua and extending community connections.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
7 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).