Parkside School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 176
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 184 Wellington Street, Pukekohe
- Territorial authority
- Franklin Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-238 9689
- office@parkside.net.nz
- Website
- http://www.parkside.net.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- parkside specialist school Core Values
- • Korero pai
- • Quality learning
- • Wellbeing for all
- • Mahi tahi
- • Integrity
- • Whakaute
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 93
- Māori
- 72
- Pacific
- 46
- Asian
- 22
- MELAA
- 6
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 6 | 6 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 02 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 03 | 6 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 04 | 5 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 05 | 5 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 06 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 09 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 10 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 11 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 12 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 13+ | 17 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 36 |
| Total | 68 | 40 | 18 | 6 | 0 | 84 | 0 | 162 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 06 | 4 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 07 | 6 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 8 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 09 | 5 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 10 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 11 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 13 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 14 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 15 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 19+ | 14 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 27 |
| Total | 68 | 40 | 18 | 6 | 0 | 84 | 0 | 162 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Parkside School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Other | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| State | 40.2% |
|---|---|
| Parkside School | 0% |
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Parkside School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 493
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1971
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 16 May 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (16 May 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 16 May 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 176 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2018
150
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 13 March 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 16 May 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Parkside School working in Te Ara Huarau, an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Parkside School, located in Pukekohe , delivers a holistic education for ākonga aged from five to twenty-one years of age who have a range of special educational learning needs, intellectual and physical disabilities. The students are from Pukekohe and the wider Franklin region.
All students enrolled have high or very high needs and are funded through the Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS). A team of specialists and therapists provide transdisciplinary support for students in consultation with whānau and staff. Each student has an individual education plan.
A specialist teacher outreach service provides support for ORS funded students enrolled in local schools.
Beyond the Wellington Street campus, there are 15 classes in 9 hubs in host schools across the wider Franklin region. A young adult transition centre located in the commercial centre of Pukekohe focuses on preparing students for life after school.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
The school’s mission statement seeks to positively affect all aspects of the students’ development: intellectual, social, emotional and physical, and to facilitate the students’ maximum potential in preparation for the whole of life. This goal is supported and enacted through the school’s vision, values and principles.
Parkside School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
within and across school communication: communication pathways are efficient, followed by all stakeholders and promote optimum progress for students
curriculum: a refreshed school curriculum that actively supports the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi and reflects the voice of our ākonga and school community
physical space for wellbeing: learning environments and buildings that are accessible for all students and fit for purpose.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Parkside School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate to what extent the school is developing effective communication pathways that are known by all, efficient and promote optimum outcomes for all students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is that the leadership team identified the need to review and evaluate within and across school communication to:
respond to the ongoing geographic spread of students
address the complexity of current communication systems
strengthen communication with families as the school roll grows
develop and extend links with the local community.
The school expects to see communication pathways accessed by all, prioritising the best interests of students at all times.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to develop effective communication pathways that are known by all, efficient and promote optimum outcomes for students.
Positive relationships and high expectations that support learners to reach their learning goals underpinned by a transdisciplinary approach.
A highly responsive and cohesive leadership team that utilises well established systems to provide strategic direction and a culture for school improvement.
Leadership that creates conditions for innovative solutions to sustain improved outcomes for learners.
Whānau and learner voice effectively supports planning for learning and wellbeing.
Teachers and staff effectively support learners being competent communicators.
Schoolwide practices that effectively support calm and settled environments.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
identification of current communication pathways and setting up an evaluation of their effectiveness
the continued development of the school’s action plan in relation to its evaluation focus.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
16 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).