Paraparaumu College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,488
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Mazengarb Road, Paraparaumu
- Territorial authority
- Kapiti Coast District
- Phone
- 04-9025170
- office@paraparaumucollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Paraparaumu College is a uniform school. We take pride in our uniform, and every Year 9-12 student is expected to wear the correct full school uniform.
- Required
- Getting there
- The Ministry of Education appointed bus provider is Madge Coachlines who run the school bus services from Peka Peka and Reikorangi to Paraparaumu College. Madge Coachlines have contracted Uzabus to provide these services.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- The PC way document brings to life our vision of creating a ‘Caring Community of Great Learners’ and illustrates our commitment to achieving the highest possible equitable outcomes for each of our learners.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
A valid student visa names Paraparaumu College as your school of enrolment.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,266
- Māori
- 317
- Pacific
- 90
- Asian
- 192
- MELAA
- 21
- Other
- 19
- International
- 35
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 61 | 16 | 37 | 6 | 9 | 260 | 1 | 305 |
| Year 10 | 96 | 21 | 46 | 3 | 3 | 286 | 0 | 339 |
| Year 11 | 45 | 12 | 32 | 5 | 1 | 270 | 12 | 313 |
| Year 12 | 64 | 13 | 30 | 1 | 2 | 240 | 22 | 298 |
| Year 13+ | 40 | 12 | 32 | 2 | 2 | 197 | 6 | 247 |
| Total | 306 | 74 | 177 | 17 | 17 | 1253 | 41 | 1502 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 54 | 13 | 31 | 4 | 5 | 222 | 0 | 257 |
| Age 14 | 88 | 22 | 45 | 4 | 5 | 272 | 1 | 325 |
| Age 15 | 52 | 14 | 32 | 5 | 3 | 276 | 4 | 312 |
| Age 16 | 58 | 11 | 30 | 2 | 2 | 243 | 17 | 295 |
| Age 17 | 49 | 12 | 25 | 2 | 2 | 208 | 16 | 263 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 2 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 3 | 45 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 306 | 74 | 177 | 17 | 17 | 1253 | 41 | 1502 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
93%
| Paraparaumu College | 93% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 90.8% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | 93.8% |
| Asian | 91.4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 93.2% |
| Total | 93% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
90%
| Paraparaumu College | 90% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.2% |
| Māori | 83.9% |
| Pacific | 87.5% |
| Asian | 85.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 90.4% |
| Total | 90% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
68.8%
| Paraparaumu College | 68.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 62.1% |
| Māori | 55.4% |
| Pacific | 56.3% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 67.7% |
| Total | 68.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
18.9%
| Paraparaumu College | 18.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 16.3% |
| Māori | 23.2% |
| Pacific | 12.5% |
| Asian | 2.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 21.9% |
| Total | 18.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
91.7%
| Paraparaumu College | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 92.2% |
| Māori | 85.7% |
| Pacific | 87.5% |
| Asian | 97.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 90.4% |
| Total | 91.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Asian | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
11.1%
| Paraparaumu College | 11.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.8% |
| Māori | 17.5% |
| Pacific | 8% |
| Asian | 11.9% |
| Other | 19.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 11.8% |
| Total | 11.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.1%
| Paraparaumu College | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.2% |
| Māori | 1.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.2% |
| Total | 3.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Paraparaumu College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 442
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1977
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 21 September 2022
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (21 September 2022)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 21 September 2022 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1488 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2018
1190
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 12 December 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 21 September 2022 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within seven months of the Education Review Office and Paraparaumu College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Paraparaumu College is a co-educational secondary school for students from Years 9 to 13 located on the Kāpiti Coast.
Paraparaumu College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
fostering connectedness and belonging for all ākonga
achieving the highest equitable outcomes for our students
developing future ready courageous learners.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Paraparaumu College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how best to meet the needs of diverse learners in relation to literacy and numeracy across the curriculum in Years 9 and 10.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is based on:
deepening leaders and teachers understanding of progress and achievement in literacy and numeracy across the curriculum
proactively identify gaps in learning and responding to learner needs.
The school expects to see:
gathering evidence to inform which aspects of learning in literacy and numeracy are working well for learners and which are not working as well to inform the curriculum review
an increased capability in identifying and responding to literacy and numeracy needs for individual learners
deliberate and explicit opportunities and experiences for literacy and numeracy progression in the curriculum.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to provide a strong learning foundation enabling students to achieve the highest equitable outcomes:
well established teaching and learning practices of “The PC Way” strongly based on the principles of collaboration, deep-learning, personal excellence, well-being, personalisation of learning and relationships of care and connectedness
a well-considered framework has been developed for observing teaching and learning to inform potential improvements in practice
effective processes in place for evaluating achievement information, using evidence-based inquiry, to improve learner outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
leaders mapping understanding of learner strengths and needs against the new literacy and numeracy matrices to establish areas of priority for development
continuing to develop teaching and learning practices that reflect the explicit strategies for integrating literacy and numeracy
teachers use of learner profiles, targeted professional development, observations and learning conversations to support teachers in meeting to the needs of diverse learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Dr Lesley Patterson Director Review and Improvement Services (Southern) Southern Region | Te Tai Tini
21 September 2022
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).