Palmerston North Boys' High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,821
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Featherston Street, Palmerston North
- Territorial authority
- Palmerston North City
- Phone
- 06-354 5176
- admin@pnbhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.pnbhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Palmerston North · schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Palmerston North Boys’ High School seeks to provide young men with an intellectual and moral education which will enable them to make a valuable contribution to society. The School aims to develop all students in terms of providing the widest opportunities in academic, sporting and cultural activities in an environment which fosters the awareness of growth in personal and social relationships.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We offer international students a comprehensive and encompassing education. Our students are consistently top performers, academically, culturally and on the sporting field.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,285
- Māori
- 443
- Pacific
- 182
- Asian
- 341
- MELAA
- 58
- Other
- 57
- International
- 33
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 95 | 42 | 67 | 13 | 8 | 275 | 2 | 385 |
| Year 10 | 104 | 35 | 69 | 9 | 6 | 302 | 7 | 412 |
| Year 11 | 100 | 38 | 47 | 10 | 7 | 274 | 7 | 361 |
| Year 12 | 82 | 41 | 61 | 9 | 5 | 264 | 14 | 368 |
| Year 13+ | 48 | 30 | 46 | 12 | 7 | 198 | 7 | 276 |
| Total | 429 | 186 | 290 | 53 | 33 | 1313 | 37 | 1802 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 78 | 32 | 58 | 11 | 7 | 219 | 1 | 311 |
| Age 14 | 101 | 40 | 66 | 8 | 3 | 310 | 6 | 421 |
| Age 15 | 103 | 36 | 49 | 10 | 11 | 274 | 5 | 355 |
| Age 16 | 83 | 44 | 59 | 11 | 5 | 262 | 12 | 367 |
| Age 17 | 56 | 29 | 45 | 12 | 6 | 218 | 8 | 295 |
| Age 18 | 6 | 5 | 10 | 0 | 1 | 29 | 5 | 47 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 429 | 186 | 290 | 53 | 33 | 1313 | 37 | 1802 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
89.1%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 89.1% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 89.1% |
| Māori | 82.2% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | 92.7% |
| MELAA | 81.3% |
| Other | 87.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 90.6% |
| Total | 89.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
81.2%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 81.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.2% |
| Māori | 74% |
| Pacific | 65% |
| Asian | 89.1% |
| MELAA | 75% |
| Other | 87.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 82.6% |
| Total | 81.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
57.8%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 57.8% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.8% |
| Māori | 53.4% |
| Pacific | 40% |
| Asian | 72.7% |
| MELAA | 62.5% |
| Other | 75% |
| European/Pākehā | 58.3% |
| Total | 57.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 12% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 12% |
| Māori | 13.7% |
| Pacific | 7.5% |
| Asian | 3.6% |
| MELAA | 18.8% |
| Other | 12.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 13.4% |
| Total | 12% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
82.8%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 82.8% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.8% |
| Māori | 76.7% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | 89.1% |
| MELAA | 75% |
| Other | 87.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 82.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Other | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.2%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 7.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.2% |
| Māori | 4.5% |
| Pacific | 11.1% |
| Asian | 11% |
| Other | 6.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 6.9% |
| Total | 7.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.8%
| Palmerston North Boys' High School | 2.8% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.8% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 3.3% |
| Asian | 4.6% |
| Other | 8.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.8% |
| Total | 2.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 441
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1902
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 25 January 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (25 January 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 25 January 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Complied with the requirement to adopt a statement on the delivery of the Health Curriculum, at least once every two years after consultation with the school community.
[Section 91 Education and Training Act 2020]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 25 January 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Also provides
- College House hostel, on site
This school has a hostel, College House on site.
- Manawatu Community High School Activity Centre
The school also manages Manawatu Community High School Activity Centre
- College House hostel, on site
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1821 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2017
1836
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 June 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 25 January 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Palmerston North Boys’ High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Palmerston North Boys’ High School, located in central Palmerston North provides education for boys from years 9 to year 13. The school’s mission is “t o educate young men by challenging and extending them in academic, sporting, and cultural activities to develop the required knowledge, skills, values and character they need to succeed in their lives” . The school has an on-site hostel, College House, housing up to 180 students.
Palmerston North Boys’ High School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners include to:
ensure the academic ethos of the school is retained. Continually achieve better NCEA results. Challenge pupils to earn merit and excellence grades
develop and extend opportunities for pupils at years 12 and 13 to pursue on site and tertiary-based extension academic courses and vocationally oriented courses
focus on the development of literacy and numeracy skills within the core curriculum.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Palmerston North Boys’ High School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the effectiveness a range of curriculum opportunities has on improving literacy and numeracy outcomes and the development of tertiary based partnerships.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
enable all students to leave Palmerston North Boys’ High School having benefitted from the opportunities to participate in a wide range of experiences, finding their individual strengths, and attaining the best qualification they can
build on raising achievement through providing opportunities for pupils at Years 12 and 13 to pursue university and vocationally oriented courses and qualifications
deepen leaders’ and teachers’ understanding of factors influencing progress and achievement in literacy and numeracy across the curriculum
proactively identify gaps in learning and understand how well the school is responding to learner needs.
The school expects to see progress in the areas of:
students leaving school having identified and gained qualifications enabling them to meet their aspirations for future success
gathering evidence to inform which aspects of learning in literacy and numeracy are working well for learners and which are not effective
an increased capability in identifying and responding to literacy and numeracy needs for individual learners leading to students demonstrating increased confidence and achievement in literacy and numeracy.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to integrate effective cross curricular practices for the teaching of literacy and numeracy and raise achievement:
well established teaching and learning practices strongly based on the principles of inquiry, individual thinking, deep-learning, personal excellence, and relationships of care and connectedness
new curriculum pathways such as the Trades Building Program and a Gateway work-based learning program leading to valuable qualifications and employment
a well-considered framework developed for observing teaching and learning to inform potential improvements in practice
effective processes are in place for evaluating achievement information, using evidence-based inquiry, to improve learner outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
consolidating quality university, tertiary-based and vocational opportunities which make students highly sought after by industry providers and well placed for achieving their best qualifications during and after leaving school
leaders mapping understanding of learner strengths and needs against the new literacy and numeracy matrices to establish priority areas for development across the curriculum
continuing to develop and integrate explicit teaching and learning practices across the curriculum that reflect integrated literacy and numeracy and support success at all levels of NCEA
use of Professional Growth Cycle inquiry, targeted professional development, observations and learning conversations to support teachers in meeting to the needs of diverse learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
25 January 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has a hostel, College House on site.
The school also manages Manawatu Community High School Activity Centre
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).