Pakūranga College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 2,270
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Pigeon Mountain Road, Bucklands Beach, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Howick Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-534 7159
- info@pakuranga.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
All international students will be welcomed to Pakūranga College with a pōwhiri, led by our students and staff.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Premier Boys’ Basketball team
Ka pai to our Premier Boys’ Basketball team for an epic win against Sacred Heart.
- Premier Netball team
A massive ka rawe to our Premier Netball team for their 39-31 victory against EGGS Premier 2!
- Astronomy
We have clubs from Astronomy to UN Youth, and everything in between!
- UN Youth
We have clubs from Astronomy to UN Youth, and everything in between!
- Premier Boys’ Basketball team
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 986
- Māori
- 208
- Pacific
- 221
- Asian
- 1,108
- MELAA
- 129
- Other
- 59
- International
- 127
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 45 | 54 | 193 | 19 | 8 | 207 | 2 | 423 |
| Year 10 | 49 | 60 | 181 | 21 | 9 | 220 | 9 | 436 |
| Year 11 | 44 | 46 | 179 | 20 | 21 | 200 | 36 | 462 |
| Year 12 | 32 | 43 | 201 | 17 | 17 | 191 | 48 | 476 |
| Year 13+ | 24 | 51 | 178 | 15 | 11 | 170 | 33 | 421 |
| Total | 194 | 254 | 932 | 92 | 66 | 988 | 128 | 2218 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 38 | 47 | 146 | 13 | 5 | 156 | 1 | 322 |
| Age 14 | 42 | 57 | 188 | 24 | 10 | 219 | 5 | 433 |
| Age 15 | 51 | 46 | 162 | 17 | 19 | 208 | 22 | 438 |
| Age 16 | 36 | 43 | 209 | 20 | 18 | 202 | 47 | 491 |
| Age 17 | 23 | 51 | 150 | 15 | 12 | 170 | 41 | 402 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 8 | 62 | 3 | 2 | 30 | 9 | 109 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 2 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 | 22 |
| Total | 194 | 254 | 932 | 92 | 66 | 988 | 128 | 2218 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.9%
| Pakuranga College | 90.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.3% |
| Māori | 74.4% |
| Pacific | 82.5% |
| Asian | 93.6% |
| MELAA | 88.2% |
| Other | 81.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 89.9% |
| Total | 90.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
87.5%
| Pakuranga College | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83% |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | 73% |
| Asian | 91.4% |
| MELAA | 88.2% |
| Other | 81.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 86% |
| Total | 87.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
70.4%
| Pakuranga College | 70.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 59% |
| Māori | 41% |
| Pacific | 55.6% |
| Asian | 80.2% |
| MELAA | 70.6% |
| Other | 63.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 65.2% |
| Total | 70.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.4%
| Pakuranga College | 16.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 27.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.6% |
| Māori | 2.6% |
| Pacific | 4.8% |
| Asian | 16% |
| MELAA | 11.8% |
| Other | 18.2% |
| European/Pākehā | 18.8% |
| Total | 16.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
91.6%
| Pakuranga College | 91.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 96.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.9% |
| Māori | 74.4% |
| Pacific | 84.1% |
| Asian | 94.1% |
| MELAA | 94.1% |
| Other | 90.9% |
| European/Pākehā | 89.4% |
| Total | 91.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
30.1%
| Pakuranga College | 30.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 47.8% |
| Māori | 69.4% |
| Pacific | 75.8% |
| Asian | 14.5% |
| Other | 20.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 29.4% |
| Total | 30.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5%
| Pakuranga College | 5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8.7% |
| Māori | 9.1% |
| Pacific | 3.8% |
| Asian | 2.5% |
| Other | 6.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 7% |
| Total | 5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.5%
| Pakuranga College | 2.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.2% |
| Māori | 8.2% |
| Pacific | 2.4% |
| Asian | 1.6% |
| Other | 4% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.5% |
| Total | 2.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 431
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1960
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 3 July 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (3 July 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 3 July 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 2270 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2018
2047
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 June 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 3 July 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Pakuranga College is a large urban secondary school located in Auckland, providing education for students in Years 9 to 13. The school’s long-serving principal resigned at the end of 2023, and the acting principal was appointed permanently to the position in Term 2, 2024. There have been additional recent changes to the senior leadership team.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Outcomes for most students are excellent but remain inequitable for some groups of learners.
Achievement data patterns over time show that most students achieve at National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Levels 1 to 3.
A high proportion of NCEA achievement is at Merit and Excellence levels, and approximately two-thirds of students achieve University Entrance (UE).
Disparity for Māori and Pacific students at all levels of NCEA and in UE continues.
The school is not yet meeting Ministry of Education targets for regular student attendance. Two thirds of students regularly attend school; however, only half of Māori and Pacific students attend school regularly.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic senior leadership effectively builds the capability and capacity of middle leaders and teachers.
Systematic and effective programmes and processes that build and sustain leadership capacity are well embedded.
Leaders effectively identify and respond to the professional development needs of staff in relation to the school’s strategic priorities.
Leadership has established clear expectations for high quality teaching with a strong focus on reducing disparity and achieving excellent student outcomes.
Broad curriculum opportunities and effective teaching practices are supporting positive learning outcomes for most students.
Teachers use a range of purposeful teaching strategies to sequence lessons and engage students in their learning.
Students experience positive relationships for learning and are provided with opportunities to collaborate in settled, well-resourced classroom environments.
Teachers have subject-matter expertise and are beginning to consider ways to increase aspects of te ao and mātauranga Māori into contexts for learning.
Internal evaluation processes and practices to inform improvement actions at all levels of the school are increasingly effective.
A range of useful systems and templates guide internal review and build evaluation capability at all levels of the school.
Achievement, engagement, and pastoral data is regularly collected and analysed by the Board, leaders and teachers to monitor student outcomes and set goals.
Standardised assessment data is used in the junior school to identify and provide effective targeted programmes for students who require additional literacy support.
The school has yet to develop a schoolwide system for monitoring the academic progress of Years 9 and 10 students.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue to prioritise and improve achievement outcomes for Māori and Pacific students
increase rates of regular attendance for Māori and Pacific students
continue to increase teachers’ confidence and capability to integrate te ao and mātauranga Māori into the curriculum and classroom teaching practices.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
identify Māori and Pacific students whose progress needs acceleration and set clear expectations for teacher accountability in relation to the achievement of these students
develop schoolwide processes to track and monitor junior school achievement, and identify and set targets for all year 9 and 10 students at risk of not achieving at expected curriculum levels
Every six months:
monitor progress, achievement and attendance data against improvement goals to ensure successful outcomes for Māori and Pacific students, and adjust targeted actions as required
at faculty level, review and report on the extent to which te ao and mātauranga Māori is integrated in curriculum and teaching practice, and implement targeted professional learning to strengthen teachers’ confidence and capability in this area
Annually:
report on the annual and over time progress, attendance and achievement of Māori and Pacific students, and other targeted students
evaluate the impact of teaching and pastoral care interventions on improving student achievement and attendance, particularly in addressing levels of inequity of student outcomes
use internal evaluation findings to identify areas for further improvement in curriculum, teaching, and pastoral care processes.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
decreased levels of disparity for Māori and Pacific students in NCEA and UE attainment
higher rates of Māori and Pacific students’ regular attendance
the continued development of a learning environment where Māori students experience culturally responsive teaching practices and curriculum content that reflects and affirms their identity.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
3 July 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).