Otaki College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 422
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Mill Road, Ōtaki
- Territorial authority
- Kapiti Coast District
- Phone
- 06-3648204
- office@otakicollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Mā te kimi ka kite, Mā te kite ka mōhio, Mā te mōhio ka mārama
- Inspiring ākonga to take every opportunity to succeed
- Taiohi Tū Taiohi Ora
- To foster young people to be the best they can be, equipped for great futures
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Te Roopu Kapa Haka
Kahura teaches Kapa Haka every Wednesday, period 1 to the students who participate in Te Roopu Kapa Haka.
- swimming
Our annual swimming and athletics days are a highlight of our school calendar.
- athletics
Our annual swimming and athletics days are a highlight of our school calendar.
- Netball
Netball is played through Kāpiti Netball.
- Te Roopu Kapa Haka
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 258
- Māori
- 230
- Pacific
- 41
- Asian
- 19
- MELAA
- 5
- Other
- 5
- International
- 3
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 34 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 36 | 0 | 57 |
| Year 08 | 40 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 45 | 0 | 66 |
| Year 09 | 40 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 34 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 10 | 33 | 5 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 36 | 0 | 63 |
| Year 11 | 32 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 41 | 0 | 66 |
| Year 12 | 30 | 6 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 44 | 1 | 68 |
| Year 13+ | 23 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 34 | 0 | 45 |
| Total | 232 | 37 | 24 | 4 | 4 | 270 | 1 | 433 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 11 | 31 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 32 | 0 | 50 |
| Age 12 | 36 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 39 | 0 | 59 |
| Age 13 | 40 | 8 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 40 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 14 | 35 | 6 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 62 |
| Age 15 | 31 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 39 | 0 | 63 |
| Age 16 | 29 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 39 | 0 | 62 |
| Age 17 | 26 | 4 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 38 | 1 | 55 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Total | 232 | 37 | 24 | 4 | 4 | 270 | 1 | 433 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
78.9%
| Otaki College | 78.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 74.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.5% |
| Māori | 73.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 78.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
60.6%
| Otaki College | 60.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 54.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 65% |
| Māori | 55.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 69.4% |
| Total | 60.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
32.4%
| Otaki College | 32.4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 35.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 30% |
| Māori | 34.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 42.9% |
| Total | 32.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
8.5%
| Otaki College | 8.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.5% |
| Māori | 15.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 10.2% |
| Total | 8.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
77.5%
| Otaki College | 77.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 67.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85% |
| Māori | 71.1% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.7% |
| Total | 77.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
45.9%
| Otaki College | 45.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 41.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 51.1% |
| Māori | 68.3% |
| Pacific | 18.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 25.6% |
| Total | 45.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.2%
| Otaki College | 6.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8% |
| Māori | 11.9% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2% |
| Total | 6.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.9%
| Otaki College | 2.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 5.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 5.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.5% |
| Total | 2.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 495
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1959
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 16 February 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (16 February 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 16 February 2026 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that there is a policy for attendance [ Education (School Attendance) Regulations 2024]
ensure that there are policy and procedures for responding to accidents [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015 Health and Safety at Work (General Risk and Workplace Management) Regulations 2016]
ensure that policy and procedures for behaviour management include a statement about prohibiting corporal punishment [ Section 98 of the Education and Training Act: Prohibition on corporal punishment and seclusion in schools]
ensure that policy and procedures for child protection include how to manage a reported concern that involves a staff member [Sections 18 and 19 of the Children9s Act 2014: School boards child protection policies]
ensure the staff appointment safety checking process includes records of referee checks, work history checks and the completion of a risk assessment [Sections 25, 26 and 27 of the Children’s Act 2014: Safety checks of children’s workers].
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 16 February 2026 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 7 to 13
providing education for students from Years 7 to 13
- Years 7 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 16 February 2026 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Ōtaki College is a co-educational secondary school providing education for students from Years 7 to 13. The school roll of 433 students includes 63% Pākehā /New Zealand European students, 52% of students identify as Māori and 7% who are of Pacific heritage.
The school’s educational vision is to inspire ākonga to take every opportunity to succeed; Mā te kimi ka kite, Mā te kite ka mōhio, Mā te mōhio ka Mārama.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the January 2023 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Since the previous ERO report the school has focused on evaluating how deep learning and teaching strategies and increased opportunities for learners can make a difference to learner outcomes.
Expected improvements
The school expected to see educationally powerful partnerships supporting learning that is authentic, meaningful, localised and in collaboration with students and whānau. Additionally, they focused on developing a shared language for design and evaluation of learning involving the interrogation of evidence, planning and observation tools. Staff evaluated aspects of the curriculum for alignment with the use of digital technologies for learning.
Findings
The school established strong partnerships that enable meaningful, community-focused learning. Continued efforts to deepen whānau involvement should strengthen engagement and promote positive momentum.
The school made progress toward a shared language for learning design and evaluation. Documented school-wide planning templates have improved consistency in expectations. Full alignment and systematic use of data remain priorities for further development.
Digital technologies are embedded across the curriculum to increase engagement, accelerate learning, and connect learners more effectively. Ongoing monitoring should ensure these strategies improve learner outcomes.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Improvement is required to improve achievement at all levels and increase equity between groups of students.
The school is developing a clear understanding about student progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics in Years 7 to 10.
In 2024, less than half of students achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1, a small majority achieved Level 2, and less than half achieved Level 3.
School leaver data shows that a large majority of students leave school with NCEA Level 2. The school is yet to achieve equitable outcomes for Māori learners across all levels and qualifications.
Senior students can access Secondary–Tertiary Programmes that provide personalised pathways into trades, apprenticeships, and vocational qualifications.
Less than half of students attending regularly. The school is developing a plan and regular attendance is improving.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
School leaders are taking steps to develop the conditions needed for school improvement.
Leaders establish clear and consistent values and relational practices that are known and embedded schoolwide.
Leaders have established trust and collaboration at every level of the school community.
School systems and processes promote student wellbeing and inclusion, and students feel known and cared about.
School leaders and teachers are developing a collective approach to teaching and learning and curriculum programmes that are increasingly responsive to learners.
Teachers create respectful classroom environments that build supportive learning relationships across the school.
Flexible curriculum structures provide increasing student choice and greater responsiveness to student interests.
Leaders and teachers are initiating steps to improve the coherence of teaching and learning programmes through engagement in ongoing professional development to increase student engagement and success.
An inclusive school climate contributes to establish school conditions necessary for student success.
School leaders and staff establish positive and purposeful partnerships with the community that contribute to student engagement and wellbeing.
The school actively promotes Māori culture, identity, and language through curriculum design and schoolwide practices.
Student feedback is regularly sought and used to inform decisions about teaching and learning.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
increase rates of progress, lift achievement and increase equity for Māori and other priority learners
develop and implement a systematic process for collecting, analysing, and using Year 7 to10 achievement data to identify target groups and inform responsive initiatives to accelerate progress and improve equity
strengthen data literacy and evaluative capability schoolwide to track progress, monitor impact, and inform improvement planning
improve and sustain regular student attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders agree on the data collection framework for years 7 to 10, including what data to collect, frequency, and responsibilities and begin collecting baseline achievement data for all year 7 to 10 students against curriculum levels in literacy and mathematics
leaders and the Board strengthen the annual implementation plan to include data collection, clear targets and measures for attendance, achievement, and equity
leaders complete and implement the attendance plan
Within six months:
leaders and staff develop and implement expectations for high-quality teaching and provide targeted professional learning
leaders implement and monitor expectations for literacy and numeracy teaching across the school
leaders and staff evaluate the impact of current programmes and initiatives on learner outcomes and make necessary adjustments
Every six months:
leaders and teachers review teaching strategies to accelerate progress and identify areas for further professional learning
leaders and teachers evaluate the impact of targeted initiatives on achievement and adjust as required
teachers monitor and track student progress toward NCEA and individual goals
the Board and leaders evaluate progress against schoolwide goals and report to the community
leaders monitor, review, and refine attendance initiatives to improve regular attendance
Annually:
leaders and the Board review the impact of school initiatives and consistency of teaching practices; use findings to inform strategic planning
leaders and the Board evaluate strategies to increase regular attendance and address barriers to learning; use findings to inform next steps.
Expected outcomes
Improved achievement and equitable outcomes for all learners.
Consistent, high-quality teaching practices informed by data and responsive to learner needs.
Robust evaluation practices used by staff and the Board for ongoing improvement.
Improved and sustained levels of attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
16 February 2026
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).