Otahuhu College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,155
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 74-78 Mangere Road, Otahuhu, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-9634000
- enquiries@otahuhucollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students must be wearing completely black shoes, polishable shoes are preferred. Boys are to wear the school socks or plain black socks. Girls wear white socks.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://otahuhucollege.nzuniforms.com/catalog/Browse+By+Category-1103684.htmx
and also available online: [NZ Uniforms](https://otahuhucollege.nzuniforms.com/catalog/Browse+By+Category-1103684.htmx)
- https://otahuhucollege.nzuniforms.com/catalog/Browse+By+Category-1103684.htmx
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- bi-annual production
Whilst our Drama students will have the opportunity to devise and perform in our bi-annual production.
- ‘Performing Arts Roadshow’
Other major events on our performing arts calendar that involve many ākonga include our ‘Performing Arts Roadshow’ and ‘Arts Week’.
- ‘Arts Week’
Other major events on our performing arts calendar that involve many ākonga include our ‘Performing Arts Roadshow’ and ‘Arts Week’.
- ASB Polyfest
the school is an active participant in the ASB Polyfest
- Samoan Group
- Cook Islands Group
- Tongan Group
- Niuean Group
- Fijian Group
- Filipino Group
- Athletics
- Soccer
- Basketball 3v3
- Softball
- Basketball
- Swimming
- Kilikiti
- Tag
- Netball
- Tag Football
- Rowing
- Tennis
- Rugby
- Volleyball
- Rugby 7’s
- Rugby League
- Waka Ama
- bi-annual production
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 53
- Māori
- 168
- Pacific
- 791
- Asian
- 274
- MELAA
- 44
- Other
- 4
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 39 | 172 | 61 | 4 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 252 |
| Year 10 | 54 | 186 | 69 | 3 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 266 |
| Year 11 | 30 | 152 | 62 | 5 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 225 |
| Year 12 | 28 | 153 | 68 | 4 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 231 |
| Year 13+ | 26 | 133 | 53 | 4 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 193 |
| Total | 177 | 796 | 313 | 20 | 3 | 81 | 0 | 1167 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 34 | 138 | 48 | 2 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 203 |
| Age 14 | 51 | 189 | 64 | 4 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 262 |
| Age 15 | 35 | 150 | 69 | 5 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 232 |
| Age 16 | 26 | 163 | 51 | 2 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 224 |
| Age 17 | 29 | 132 | 60 | 3 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 198 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 23 | 19 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 44 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 177 | 796 | 313 | 20 | 3 | 81 | 0 | 1167 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
87.7%
| Otahuhu College | 87.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.6% |
| Māori | 91.7% |
| Pacific | 85.8% |
| Asian | 92.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 87.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
81.3%
| Otahuhu College | 81.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.5% |
| Māori | 86.1% |
| Pacific | 78.4% |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 81.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
65.9%
| Otahuhu College | 65.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 70.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 61.2% |
| Māori | 61.1% |
| Pacific | 63.6% |
| Asian | 75% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 65.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
4.8%
| Otahuhu College | 4.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 6.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.5% |
| Māori | 2.8% |
| Pacific | 5.1% |
| Asian | 7.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 4.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
86.5%
| Otahuhu College | 86.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.8% |
| Māori | 83.3% |
| Pacific | 85.2% |
| Asian | 95.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 86.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
92.5%
| Otahuhu College | 92.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.9% |
| Māori | 164.2% |
| Pacific | 92% |
| Asian | 33.1% |
| Other | 266.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 107.8% |
| Total | 92.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.2%
| Otahuhu College | 2.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.2% |
| Māori | 5.4% |
| Pacific | 1.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 5.2% |
| Total | 2.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.6%
| Otahuhu College | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2% |
| Māori | 6.6% |
| Pacific | 0.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 509
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1931
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 5 December 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (5 December 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 5 December 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1155 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2019
895
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 May 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 5 December 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 9 months of the Education Review Office and Otahuhu College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Otahuhu College is in South Auckland and caters for students in Years 9 to 13. Students reflect the diverse community served by the school. All students belong to the houses of Grey, Hobson, Massey and Seddon which were established in 1932, and are part of the school’s long and established history.
Otahuhu College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
engagement and retention
academic achievement
teaching and curriculum development
our campus: built environment
a culture of high performance.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Otahuhu College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well effective teaching practices are embedded consistently throughout the school to improve outcomes for students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to promote effective teacher practice as a major determinant of outcomes for students
to improve student attendance, engagement, retention, academic achievement and planned pathways
school leaders acknowledge the need to ensure teachers are supported to improve their practice
student voice indicates a need to improve consistency across the school.
The school expects to see:
a shared understanding of effective teaching at Otahuhu College across all stakeholders
teachers consistently using effective teaching strategies and practices in adaptive ways to promote equitable and excellent outcomes
students experiencing a responsive curriculum which responds to their cultures, languages and identities
high levels of student participation and success in extra-curricular activities to promote student engagement
well established school-wide leadership that ensures that teaching capability and capacity are continuously improving
community collaborations enrich opportunities for students to become confident, connected and actively involved learners.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how well effective teaching practices are embedded consistently throughout the school:
a positive history of NCEA Level 3 achievement, including University Entrance, for students who remain at school to the end of Year 13
school leaders have a relentless focus on student achievement through improved attendance, retention and wellbeing
teachers continue to accelerate learning for students to support achievement at the highest levels possible.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing a shared understanding of what effective teaching looks like at Otahuhu College, incorporating the agreed observation tool already in use
working collaboratively with ERO to develop evaluation planning to support the realisation of the expected outcomes.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
5 December 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).