Otago Girls' High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 717
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 41 Tennyson Street, Dunedin
- Territorial authority
- Dunedin City
- Phone
- 03-4740496
- oghsadmin@otagogirls.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Dunedin · schools in Otago
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Footwear and Blazer - Black leather laced shoes and the navy blazer are worn throughout the year
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://otagogirlshighschool.nzuniforms.com
- Navy skirt with blue summer shirt from [NZ Uniforms](https://otagogirlshighschool.nzuniforms.com)
- https://otagogirlshighschool.nzuniforms.com
- Getting there
- Bus drop-offs in several locations including Princes Street, Geroge Street, Centre City New World, Hanover Street, Upper Stuart Street, Moray Place and Otago University
bus drop-offs in several locations including Princes Street, Geroge Street, Centre City New World, Hanover Street, Upper Stuart Street, Moray Place and Otago University.
- Bus drop-offs in several locations including Princes Street, Geroge Street, Centre City New World, Hanover Street, Upper Stuart Street, Moray Place and Otago University
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Strategic Plan 2026
- Inspire ~ Empower ~ Challenge ~ Dream
- Whakaohoho ~ Whakamana ~ Werohia ~ Moemoea
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
our school is home to 720 students, including 26 international students from ten countries.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Te Toi Aweawe
Te Toi Aweawe is our student-led Arts Council, dedicated to fostering creativity, supporting artistic opportunities, and advocating for the arts across all disciplines: music, drama, dance, and visual arts.
- Te Toi Aweawe
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 535
- Māori
- 108
- Pacific
- 44
- Asian
- 107
- MELAA
- 41
- Other
- 13
- International
- 21
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 24 | 6 | 12 | 8 | 3 | 117 | 0 | 137 |
| Year 10 | 20 | 10 | 17 | 8 | 2 | 103 | 1 | 135 |
| Year 11 | 19 | 8 | 16 | 9 | 2 | 109 | 10 | 150 |
| Year 12 | 25 | 9 | 22 | 8 | 3 | 107 | 6 | 152 |
| Year 13+ | 19 | 13 | 11 | 8 | 2 | 98 | 5 | 135 |
| Total | 107 | 46 | 78 | 41 | 12 | 534 | 22 | 709 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 18 | 5 | 9 | 4 | 3 | 88 | 0 | 102 |
| Age 14 | 23 | 7 | 17 | 11 | 2 | 116 | 1 | 146 |
| Age 15 | 20 | 9 | 13 | 8 | 2 | 106 | 3 | 139 |
| Age 16 | 23 | 10 | 22 | 7 | 2 | 109 | 10 | 156 |
| Age 17 | 20 | 11 | 14 | 3 | 2 | 95 | 4 | 127 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 20 | 4 | 36 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 107 | 46 | 78 | 41 | 12 | 534 | 22 | 709 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
94.4%
| Otago Girls' High School | 94.4% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 95% |
| Pacific | 93.3% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.7% |
| Total | 94.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
88.7%
| Otago Girls' High School | 88.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 80% |
| Pacific | 93.3% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.2% |
| Total | 88.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
73.9%
| Otago Girls' High School | 73.9% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 73.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | 60% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 72.7% |
| Total | 73.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
35.2%
| Otago Girls' High School | 35.2% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 35.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 55% |
| Pacific | 13.3% |
| Asian | 77.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 36.4% |
| Total | 35.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
93%
| Otago Girls' High School | 93% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 90% |
| Pacific | 93.3% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.8% |
| Total | 93% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.7%
| Otago Girls' High School | 4.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 6.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 14.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.8% |
| Total | 4.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Otago Girls' High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Otago Girls' High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 439
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 20 May 1870
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 7
- Last reviewed
- 18 June 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 June 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 18 June 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 717 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2015
817
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 October 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 18 June 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Founded in 1870 and located in the heart of Dunedin city, Otago Girls’ High School is the oldest state secondary school for girls in New Zealand. It provides education for girls from year 9 to 13. The school’s vision is, ‘Inspire - Empower - Challenge - Dream; Whakaohoho - Whakamana - Werohia - Moemoea ’
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) published report and subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner outcomes and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the previous report in October 2022, ERO and the school have worked together to evaluate the impact of the school’s evaluation practices on improving learning outcomes.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
Learning area reporting that is evaluative, targeted, time efficient and sustainable, informing teaching and learning as part of an ongoing cycle of improvement.
Collaborative sense-making of achievement information more effectively reveals enablers and barriers for learners and is informing next steps for teachers’ planning.
Inspiring and authentic learning opportunities that are responsive to learner needs developed as a result of improved evaluation practices.
A revised evaluative process prioritises improving learner outcomes and responding to trends across curriculum areas.
Consistent and meaningful reporting and evaluation practices are in place across all curriculum areas.
Dimensions monitored include student voice, attendance, retention, National Certificate of Educational Achievement [NCEA] achievement including endorsements, scholarships and priority learner group progress and achievement.
A strengthening of the evaluative understanding and collective capability of staff.
Mentorship structures have fostered effective distributed leadership and increased levels of confidence and capability among curriculum leaders.
Improvements in evaluation practices are informing teaching and learning and increasing flexibility in programme and assessment design.
Evaluation loops are established between curriculum leaders and their departments, senior leadership and the board, creating an iterative evaluative cycle.
The greatest shift that occurred in response to the school’s actions is a strengthening of the reporting process to inform practice.
Part B: Current state
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Outcomes for learners are increasingly equitable and excellent.
Students, including Māori and Pacific learners, are continuing to achieve very well in NCEA Levels 1, 2 and 3, as well as in University Entrance.
Most Year 9 and 10 students are achieving at or above national expectations in both literacy and numeracy.
Regular attendance rates are above national averages.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic leadership at curriculum area, senior leadership and board levels continually improves school conditions that promote student success.
A widening range of evidence is used by teachers and leaders to set and pursue a small number of coherent goals at school-wide and curriculum area levels.
The developing use of formal evaluation processes helps leaders and board members to establish the impact of strategies on improving student learning outcomes.
Professional development and collaborative mentorship by senior leaders are developing improved middle leadership capability.
Teaching and learning are increasingly responsive to students’ identified needs.
The school is strengthening evaluation practices to improve student engagement, progress and achievement.
Curriculum leaders are addressing barriers to support improvements to student outcomes, curriculum implementation and classroom teaching.
Local contexts are increasingly reflected throughout the curriculum in a way that learners can see themselves, their identities and cultures.
Consistent measures are used to monitor engagement and achievement to better track improvements in equity and excellence.
Parents, whānau and students are respected learning partners.
Māori and Pacific strategic plans are developed following consultation with learners, whānau, hapū and iwi to enhance engagement and achievement of learners.
Learners have a strong sense of connection to the school, evidenced in regular attendance, high participation rates and achievement levels, and involvement in extra-curricular endeavours both within and beyond the school.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue with mentorship of curriculum leaders in order to improve learning outcomes at classroom level
continue to improve learning outcomes by using curriculum area reporting to inform strategic planning.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
focus mentorship of all curriculum leaders on strengthening evaluative practice and building capability
support new curriculum leaders to grow their strengths in evaluation practices in order to foster growth in the collective capability of staff within their curriculum areas
Every six months:
curriculum leaders share experiences and learnings about evaluation with other leaders and within their departments in order to strengthen the impact of evaluation on learner outcomes.
Annually:
outcomes in attendance, retention, NCEA achievement including endorsements, scholarships and priority learner group progress and achievement are regularly monitored and evaluated to ensure that students are engaged and making good progress
curriculum leaders develop evaluative reports collaboratively with their teaching staff to share with senior leadership and board and to inform school improvement actions
the school ensures relevant improvement priorities in its strategic and annual plans are aligned with and reflect knowledge building gained through curriculum area reporting improvements.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved student outcomes including attendance, retention, NCEA achievement, scholarships and priority learner group progress and achievement
the development of increasingly flexible learning and assessment design addressing barriers to progress and achievement
increasing use of student voice to inform school improvement
further strengthening the strategic partnership between board and school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki
Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
18 June 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 7 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).