Nga Tawa Diocesan School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 198
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 164 Calico Line, Marton
- Territorial authority
- Rangitikei District
- Phone
- 06-3276429
- admin@ngatawa.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.ngatawa.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- How to enrol
- http://www.ngatawa.school.nz/cms_files/forms/nga%20tawa%20application%20form%20current.pdf
If you are interested in a Nga Tawa education for your daughter, you can download an [application form](http://www.ngatawa.school.nz/cms_files/forms/nga%20tawa%20application%20form%20current.pdf) and email it to our Enrolments Officer, Tracey Brannelly
- http://www.ngatawa.school.nz/cms_files/forms/nga%20tawa%20application%20form%20current.pdf
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students made up approximately 10% of our student roll.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
- Track Cycling
- Cricket
- Equestrian
- Swimming
- Tennis
- Touch Rugby
- Volleyball
- Badminton
- Cross Country
- Hockey
- Netball
- Football
- Basketball
- Harriers
- Road Cycling
- Outdoor Education programme in years 12 and 13
Nga Tawa also offers an Outdoor Education programme in years 12 and 13, in conjunction with our Outdoor Education partner, TOPEC.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 173
- Māori
- 30
- Pacific
- 4
- Asian
- 16
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 2
- International
- 18
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 37 | 0 | 41 |
| Year 10 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 44 | 0 | 45 |
| Year 11 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 27 | 1 | 29 |
| Year 12 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 4 | 36 |
| Year 13+ | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 24 | 0 | 29 |
| Total | 26 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 161 | 5 | 180 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 34 | 0 | 38 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 36 | 0 | 37 |
| Age 15 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 33 | 1 | 35 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 33 | 3 | 39 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 22 | 1 | 27 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 26 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 161 | 5 | 180 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
96.8%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 96.8% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 96.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.2% |
| Total | 96.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
93.5%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.3% |
| Total | 93.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.1%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 16.1% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 15.4% |
| Total | 16.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
93.5%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.3% |
| Total | 93.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Nga Tawa Diocesan School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 431
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1891
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 3 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (3 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 3 July 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 198 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2018
198
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 3 May 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 3 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 11 months of the Education Review Office and Nga Tawa Diocesan School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Nga Tawa Diocesan School is a state integrated, Anglican school. It caters for girls from Years 9 to 13 with most learners living onsite in the school’s boarding houses. The school is located rurally in Marton, in the Rangitīkei district.
Nga Tawa Diocesan School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
remaining authentic and passionate about the special character, traditions, and culture of the school
acknowledging, nurturing, and challenging every young woman at Nga Tawa ; to embody the school’s values, to be aspirational and resilient
providing a safe and inclusive living and learning environment that promotes holistic wellbeing.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Nga Tawa Diocesan School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent that the school’s established wellbeing strategies equip learners with the skills and attitudes to better manage life challenges.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation comes from noticing that mental health challenges for young people in our society, are increasing. The school wants to evaluate the tools they have in place to support their young people. They want to equip them to notice and respond positively to challenges, helping them to find success and to become the best version of themselves.
The school expects to see:
a cohesive and culturally informed schoolwide strategy of wellbeing and resilience
young people who are aware of how to use a range of tools to support their wellbeing
shared knowledge across the school to support wellbeing.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal to evaluate the extent that the school’s established wellbeing strategies equip learners with the skills and attitudes to better manage life challenges:
a culture of inclusivity, underpinned by its special character, informed by positive psychology and increasingly culturally responsive
consistently high academic achievement outcomes at all levels of NCEA
clear strategic intent to improve wellbeing and resilience that is purposefully led and implemented by experienced school leaders
internal expertise that can support ongoing capacity building of staff
staff who use the school’s effective processes to ensure every learner is well known.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
implementing and embedding a cohesive wellbeing and resilience strategy
building staff and student capacity to support wellbeing
analysing a range of evidence to help evaluate the wellbeing and resilience strategy
documenting the wellbeing and resilience strategy and sharing it with the school’s community.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of School
3 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).