KuraHub

← Back to search

Nelson College For Girls Prep School

Intermediate · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
7–8
Total roll
96
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Girls School
Every one of the 23 schools in Nelson Region with a published location. Nelson College For Girls Prep School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
Trafalgar Street South, Nelson
Territorial authority
Nelson City
Phone
03-5482194
Email
prep@ncg.school.nz
Website
http://www.ncg.school.nz
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Nelson

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

Uniform

Not stated on the school’s website.

Where to buy the uniform

Check it on the school’s own website →

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

International students
  • Accepted, as statedWith a roll of 950 students, including 40 international students, we welcome applications for Years 9–13

Check it on the school’s own website →

What is on offer beyond the classroom?

The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

On offer
  • Watch Anime/ Manga in JapaneseWatch Anime/ Manga in Japanese – (Wednesdays at lunch in Room 1) Student-Led
  • Bel CantoBel Canto Thursday lunchtime (no experience required)
  • NC/ NCG Combined choirNC/ NCG Combined choir Friday 8am – 9am
  • PikimaiPikimai is our Kapa Haka group, which this year is tutored by an ex-student, Amelia Kawe.
  • SCGNZ SHEILAH WINN SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL
  • HOUSE DRAMA HOUSE MUSIC
  • STAGE CHALLENGE (BIENNIAL)
  • VAST DANCE FESTIVAL
  • BIENNIAL PRODUCTION NELSON COLLEGE FOR GIRLS AND NELSON COLLEGE
  • SHOWCASESHOWCASE This is an upbeat variety show, which is organised and run by the Arts Leaders and their Arts Committee.
  • THEATRESPORTS CLUB
  • Mountain Biking- Mountain Biking
  • Netball (approx 27 teams)- Netball (approx 27 teams)
  • Rowing- Rowing
  • Rugby- Rugby
  • Sailing- Sailing
  • Shooting- Shooting
  • Squash- Squash
  • Swimming- Swimming
  • Table Tennis- Table Tennis
  • Tennis- Tennis
  • Touch Rugby- Touch Rugby
  • Triathlons- Triathlons
  • Underwater Hockey- Underwater Hockey
  • Volleyball- Volleyball
  • Adventure Racing- Adventure Racing
  • Athletics- Athletics
  • Badminton- Badminton
  • Basketball- Basketball
  • Bowls- Bowls
  • Cricket- Cricket
  • Cross Country- Cross Country
  • Cycling- Cycling
  • Equestrian- Equestrian
  • Football- Football
  • Futsal- Futsal
  • Golf- Golf
  • Gymnastics- Gymnastics
  • Hockey- Hockey
  • Martial Arts- Martial Arts

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
88
Māori
10
Pacific
1
Asian
6
MELAA
3
Other
1
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 075031048050
Year 083130047048
Total8161095098
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 1000000101
Age 114011031033
Age 123140053054
Age 131010010010
Total8161095098

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Large urban area
Date opened
1 February 1883

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
3
Last reviewed
3 May 2024
Latest report
Nelson College For Girls Prep School May 2024
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 96 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. October 2019

    96

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 November 2019

  2. March 2016

    84

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 12 May 2016

We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 3 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).