Nelson College For Girls
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 965
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Trafalgar Street, Nelson
- Territorial authority
- Nelson City
- Phone
- 03-5483104
- admin@ncg.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.ncg.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Nelson
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://www.nzuniforms.com/
WHERE & WHEN CAN YOU BUY YOUR UNIFORM? NZ Uniforms: 8/38 Estuary Place, Richmond, Nelson. Store Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sat 9am-1pm, Sun closed. Phone: 03 928 0757 Email: nelson@nzuniforms.com Website: [NZ Uniforms](https://www.nzuniforms.com/)
- https://www.nzuniforms.com/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
With a roll of 950 students, including 40 international students, we welcome applications for Years 9–13, for students aged 13 to 19 years.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Watch Anime/ Manga in Japanese
Watch Anime/ Manga in Japanese – (Wednesdays at lunch in Room 1) Student-Led
- Bel Canto
Bel Canto Thursday lunchtime (no experience required)
- NC/ NCG Combined choir
NC/ NCG Combined choir Friday 8am – 9am
- KAPA HAKA: PIKIMAi
KAPA HAKA: PIKIMAi Pikimai is our Kapa Haka group, which this year is tutored by an ex-student, Amelia Kawe.
- SCGNZ SHEILAH WINN SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL
SCGNZ SHEILAH WINN SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL Every year many students perform in the Nelson regional Shakespeare Festival.
- House Music
All students have the opportunity to perform in House Music or House Drama (they alternate) each year.
- House Drama
All students have the opportunity to perform in House Music or House Drama (they alternate) each year.
- STAGE CHALLENGE (BIENNIAL)
STAGE CHALLENGE (BIENNIAL) This student led and choreographed event is a great expression of talent vitality and leadership.
- VAST DANCE FESTIVAL
VAST DANCE FESTIVAL Only two years old, this regional schools dance festival is a great opportunity for our girls
- BIENNIAL PRODUCTION NELSON COLLEGE FOR GIRLS AND NELSON COLLEGE
BIENNIAL PRODUCTION NELSON COLLEGE FOR GIRLS AND NELSON COLLEGE Every second year the combined colleges produce a high calibre show.
- SHOWCASE
SHOWCASE This is an upbeat variety show, which is organised and run by the Arts Leaders and their Arts Committee.
- THEATRESPORTS CLUB
THEATRESPORTS CLUB The NCG improvisation group have taken out the Nelson regional title for two years running
- 'NCG Wings' sports membership
Our sporting department also offers the 'NCG Wings' sports membership, which is an all inclusive collective of student athletes
- Mountain Biking
- Mountain Biking
- Netball (approx 27 teams)
- Netball (approx 27 teams)
- Rowing
- Rowing
- Rugby
- Rugby
- Sailing
- Sailing
- Shooting
- Shooting
- Squash
- Squash
- Swimming
- Swimming
- Table Tennis
- Table Tennis
- Tennis
- Tennis
- Touch Rugby
- Touch Rugby
- Triathlons
- Triathlons
- Underwater Hockey
- Underwater Hockey
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Adventure Racing
- Adventure Racing
- Athletics
- Athletics
- Badminton
- Badminton
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Bowls
- Bowls
- Cricket
- Cricket
- Cross Country
- Cross Country
- Cycling
- Cycling
- Equestrian
- Equestrian
- Football
- Football
- Futsal
- Futsal
- Golf
- Golf
- Gymnastics
- Gymnastics
- Hockey
- Hockey
- Martial Arts
- Martial Arts
- Watch Anime/ Manga in Japanese
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 719
- Māori
- 155
- Pacific
- 37
- Asian
- 176
- MELAA
- 28
- Other
- 13
- International
- 34
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 42 | 8 | 31 | 8 | 4 | 157 | 1 | 207 |
| Year 10 | 32 | 7 | 32 | 4 | 3 | 136 | 4 | 187 |
| Year 11 | 32 | 14 | 33 | 2 | 1 | 141 | 13 | 208 |
| Year 12 | 30 | 11 | 31 | 4 | 1 | 137 | 8 | 191 |
| Year 13+ | 20 | 11 | 18 | 1 | 5 | 100 | 11 | 149 |
| Total | 156 | 51 | 145 | 19 | 14 | 671 | 37 | 942 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 13 | 34 | 4 | 25 | 7 | 3 | 115 | 1 | 156 |
| Age 14 | 31 | 10 | 24 | 4 | 2 | 136 | 5 | 183 |
| Age 15 | 31 | 10 | 31 | 2 | 3 | 150 | 8 | 201 |
| Age 16 | 31 | 12 | 27 | 5 | 1 | 134 | 8 | 188 |
| Age 17 | 22 | 11 | 21 | 1 | 3 | 105 | 14 | 159 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 0 | 2 | 27 | 1 | 39 |
| Age 19+ | 3 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 14 |
| Total | 156 | 51 | 145 | 19 | 14 | 671 | 37 | 942 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.8%
| Nelson College For Girls | 86.8% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 86.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 78.8% |
| Pacific | 84.6% |
| Asian | 90% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 87.5% |
| Total | 86.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
82.2%
| Nelson College For Girls | 82.2% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 72.7% |
| Pacific | 76.9% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 84.4% |
| Total | 82.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
62.6%
| Nelson College For Girls | 62.6% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 62.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 45.5% |
| Pacific | 46.2% |
| Asian | 65% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 67.2% |
| Total | 62.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
17.2%
| Nelson College For Girls | 17.2% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 16.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 15.2% |
| Pacific | 7.7% |
| Asian | 5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 21.1% |
| Total | 17.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
83.3%
| Nelson College For Girls | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 75.8% |
| Pacific | 92.3% |
| Asian | 85% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 84.4% |
| Total | 83.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
21.1%
| Nelson College For Girls | 21.1% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 49.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 44.5% |
| Pacific | 15.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 25.6% |
| Total | 21.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Nelson College For Girls | 0% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 4.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Nelson College For Girls | 0% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 442
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1883
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 27 May 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (27 May 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 27 May 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Through the analysis of good quality assessment information, the school must evaluate the progress and achievement of learners, particularly junior students in literacy and numeracy and students who have special needs [Sections 127, 164, 165, Education and Training Act 2020].
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 965 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2019
1018
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 13 March 2020
March 2016
1059
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 May 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 27 May 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Nelson College for Girls is a single sex school for girls in Years 9 to 13, located in Nelson. The school’s vision is to educate, empower and nurture each student so they can confidently succeed in their world | Kia whakaakona, kia whakamanatia, kia whāngaia ia ākonga, kia tū maia rātou i roto i tō rātou ake ao .
The school provides some opportunities to learn in Māori medium for junior learners transitioning to the school from a Māori medium environment.
The college’s board also governs the Nelson College for Girls Preparatory School, Nelson Young Parent School and Clarice Johnstone House boarding hostel. A new principal was appointed in 2024.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Learning outcomes are increasingly equitable and excellent.
In 2024, a majority of Year 10 learners achieved the literacy requirements for NCEA, just over half achieved the numeracy requirements; the school needs to develop processes for monitoring and reporting on junior students’ progress and achievement, particularly in literacy and numeracy.
Most learners achieve the National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) Levels 2 and 3, a majority achieve Level 1 and University Entrance (UE); a good proportion of learners gain merit and excellence endorsements on their national qualifications.
There are equitable outcomes for Māori learners in NCEA Levels, 2, 3 and UE; the school has identified there is further work to do to improve equity in engagement and achievement for Māori learners in Yrs 9 to 11.
The majority of learners attend school regularly; the school is yet to meet government targets for regular attendance and continues to work with parents and the community to improve attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is actively fostering the conditions for sustainable school improvement.
Leadership sets and pursues clear, relevant improvement goals and is fostering a culture committed to high quality teaching and equity and excellence in learner outcomes.
Leadership is strengthening relational trust and effective collaboration at every level of the school community to achieve the strategic vision and improvement goals.
Leaders increasingly involve whānau , hapū and iwi in decision-making in the school; the school’s vision, goals, targets and priorities are beginning to reflect those set out by iwi .
Curriculum design and teaching are increasingly responsive to the diverse interests, cultures and abilities of learners.
Learners have rich opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of the New Zealand curriculum with a consistent focus on supporting learners to gain sound foundation skills in literacy and numeracy.
Learners needing additional support are known and provided with a range of relevant and tailored support; there are strengthened opportunities and contexts for learning that respond to learners’ cultures, identities and languages.
Learners benefit from learning in calm, orderly environments supported by clear expectations, routines and explicit teaching.
School conditions are well-established and support school improvement and positive outcomes for learners.
Students report feeling cared about in their school and having positive relationships with staff and students.
A comprehensive range of policies, programmes and practices effectively promote learners’ wellbeing, inclusion, confidence in their identity, language and culture and engagement in learning.
Leaders and teachers are engaging in professional learning that is improving their confidence and capability in integrating te reo Māori, tikanga Māori and mātauranga Māori in teaching and learning.
Leaders and teachers are developing and embedding shared expectations for effective, inclusive teaching.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
improve the attendance levels of students, and groups of students, who need this to experience success in learning
strengthen analysis and reporting of junior student progress and achievement to better support strategic decision-making and evaluation of the effectiveness of curriculum and teaching
strengthen the breadth and consistency of teaching practices that meet the many different learning needs of students
embed the school’s expectations for effective, culturally responsive teaching practices and evaluate the impact of these on improving student learning and engagement.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
promote and implement the school’s new processes for communicating about and following up on concerning learner attendance with staff, learners and their families
develop processes for evaluating and reporting the progress and achievement of junior students, particularly in literacy and numeracy
identify expected teaching practices to meet the different learning needs of students and plan for teacher professional development and feedback
implement the school’s plan for further developing teaching and curriculum that values and affirms learners’ cultures, identities and languages
Every six months:
analyse attendance data to assess the effectiveness of strategies and adapt accordingly
report on Year 9 and 10 learners' progress in literacy and numeracy, identifying priorities and adapting plans
monitor progress in strengthening teaching practices to meet diverse learner needs and respond to cultures, identities, and languages
Annually:
review annual attendance data to evaluate trends and the effectiveness of strategies and to make strategic decision
report on Year 9 and 10 learners' progress in literacy and numeracy, identifying successes and areas for improvement to set goals for the next year
evaluate how well professional learning has supported teachers in meeting learning needs and affirming learners' cultures, identities, and languages, and use this to inform future planning.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
more learners attending school regularly and succeeding in learning
junior student progress data being used to evaluate curriculum and teaching effectiveness and support decision-making
junior students making good progress and being well-prepared for the literacy and numeracy requirements of national qualifications
teachers using a wider range of strategies to meet different learner needs and affirming their cultures, identities, and languages.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools (Acting)
27 May 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).