Nayland College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,276
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 166 Nayland Road, Stoke, Nelson
- Territorial authority
- Nelson City
- Phone
- 03-5479769
- xtend@nayland.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.nayland.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Nelson
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Where to buy the uniform
- http://naylandcollege.nzuniforms.com/
To order uniforms online please visit our [ordering page](http://naylandcollege.nzuniforms.com/).
- http://naylandcollege.nzuniforms.com/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Nayland College offers a broad and varied curriculum designed to cater for the individual needs of our international students.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Tennis
TSS Tennis
- Mountain Biking
Mountain Biking - TSS, SISS, National Champs
- Volleyball
Volleyball - Senior Seeding Tournament, Mainland Volleyball Tournament, Senior Volleyball National Champs
- Athletics
Athletics - Schools Athletics Day, TSS, SISS
- Stand-up Paddleboarding
TSS Stand-up Paddleboarding
- Cricket
TSS Cricket
- Team Sailing
Team Sailing - TSS, SISS
- Motocross
TSS Motocross
- Track Cycling
TSS Track Cycling
- Lawn Bowls
TSS Lawn Bowls
- Netball
Netball and Basketball Trials
- Basketball
Netball and Basketball Trials
- Badminton
TSS Badminton
- Cross Country
Cross Country - TSS, SISS
- Ki o Rahi - Senior
TSS Ki o Rahi - Senior
- Road Cycling
TSS Road Cycling
- Golf
TSS Golf
- Squash
TSS Squash
- Equestrian
TSS Equestrian
- Table Tennis
TSS Table Tennis
- Futsal - Junior/Senior
TSS Futsal - Junior/Senior
- Waka Ama
TSS Waka Ama
- Adventure Racing/Orienteering
- Football
Football and Hockey Trials
- Hockey
Football and Hockey Trials
- Disc Golf
TSS Disc Golf
- Pickleball
TSS Pickleball
- Rugby
Rugby - 10's, TSS 7's
- Ski | Snowboard
TSS Ski | Snowboard
- Rugby 7's
TSS Rugby 7's
- Ki o Rahi - JNR
TSS Ki o Rahi - JNR
- Touch
Touch - Nelson Competition, TSS JNR
- 3x3 Basketball
Junior Tournament Week - Volleyball, 3x3 Basketball
- Nayland College Institute of Sport (IOS)
The Nayland College Institute of Sport (IOS) aims to build successful, well-rounded people, not just successful athletes.
- Tennis
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,067
- Māori
- 207
- Pacific
- 57
- Asian
- 112
- MELAA
- 46
- Other
- 23
- International
- 60
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 55 | 15 | 23 | 12 | 4 | 265 | 1 | 308 |
| Year 10 | 53 | 14 | 19 | 6 | 2 | 257 | 2 | 290 |
| Year 11 | 50 | 14 | 29 | 11 | 7 | 244 | 14 | 315 |
| Year 12 | 34 | 10 | 21 | 5 | 4 | 189 | 23 | 249 |
| Year 13+ | 48 | 8 | 14 | 3 | 1 | 209 | 22 | 260 |
| Total | 240 | 61 | 106 | 37 | 18 | 1164 | 62 | 1422 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 45 | 11 | 11 | 7 | 3 | 199 | 1 | 227 |
| Age 14 | 49 | 13 | 27 | 9 | 2 | 257 | 1 | 296 |
| Age 15 | 54 | 15 | 23 | 8 | 6 | 254 | 7 | 309 |
| Age 16 | 37 | 12 | 19 | 7 | 6 | 204 | 25 | 269 |
| Age 17 | 42 | 9 | 16 | 5 | 1 | 196 | 21 | 247 |
| Age 18 | 12 | 1 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 49 | 7 | 67 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 6 |
| Total | 240 | 61 | 106 | 37 | 18 | 1164 | 62 | 1422 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.9%
| Nayland College | 86.9% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 86.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.1% |
| Māori | 76.9% |
| Pacific | 91.7% |
| Asian | 85% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 86.9% |
| Total | 86.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
82.1%
| Nayland College | 82.1% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75.5% |
| Māori | 70.8% |
| Pacific | 83.3% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 82.5% |
| Total | 82.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
57.7%
| Nayland College | 57.7% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 49% |
| Māori | 53.8% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | 45% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 57.5% |
| Total | 57.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
18.3%
| Nayland College | 18.3% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 16.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 19.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 16.6% |
| Māori | 23.1% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 15% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 18.5% |
| Total | 18.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
81.4%
| Nayland College | 81.4% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 74.8% |
| Māori | 78.5% |
| Pacific | 83.3% |
| Asian | 85% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 80.7% |
| Total | 81.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Male | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
49.4%
| Nayland College | 49.4% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 49.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 32.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.9% |
| Māori | 110.6% |
| Pacific | 41% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 26.4% |
| European/Pākehā | 47.9% |
| Total | 49.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.4%
| Nayland College | 3.4% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 4.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3% |
| Māori | 14.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.1% |
| Total | 3.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.4%
| Nayland College | 2.4% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.9% |
| Māori | 7.9% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.3% |
| Total | 2.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 462
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 2 February 1966
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 28 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (28 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 28 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1276 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2016
966
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 19 September 2016
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 28 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within ten months of the Education Review Office and Nayland College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Nayland College is a large, state, co-educational secondary school located in Nelson. It provides education for students in years 9 to 13. The school’s work is guided and informed by its SOAR values of success, opportunity, ako and respect.
Nayland College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
Success: to ensure that all students strive for personal success and leave Nayland College ready for their next steps in the world.
Opportunity: a wide range of authentic and culturally rich opportunities, both within and extra to the curriculum, empower all learners to be treaty partners and global citizens.
Ako : to inspire all learners through positive relationships and effective teaching and learning practices.
Respect: to develop an inclusive and equitable learning community through valuing and nurturing hauora .
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Nayland College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of its revised, localised curriculum on year 9 and 10 student achievement, engagement, and equitable outcomes.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
improve the consistency of curriculum planning and delivery across learning areas
increase learner agency in all areas of learning
more effectively respond to identified target groups of students needing to make accelerated progress to achieve equitable outcomes
evaluate the effectiveness of significant changes to curriculum design and delivery introduced for year 9 and 10 students.
The school expects to see:
increased numbers of students achieve personalised learning success across the refreshed curriculum, and improved engagement and equity
students showing increased learner agency in all areas of learning, exploring their strengths and what learning works for them so they know how to learn effectively
local iwi priorities for learning woven into the localised curriculum.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the impact of its revised, localised curriculum on year 9 and 10 student achievement, engagement, and equitable outcomes.
Agreed and established teacher profile, classroom culture guide, pastoral systems, and learning design principles are used to inform planning and reinforce expectations across the school.
Systematic processes track students’ progress, achievement and engagement and identify those needing interventions to make accelerated progress.
Partnerships with mana whenua and whānau Māori are growing and helping to identify priorities and inform curriculum and evaluate curriculum development.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
further targeted professional learning to develop teachers’ cultural capabilities and to upskill them in providing quality teaching and learning to students with additional needs
implementing and evaluating the impact of improved academic mentoring, tracking and reporting processes to monitor progress, achievement and engagement, and identify students in need of targeted interventions
continued strengthening of connections with whānau , community and mana whenua to inform and evaluate curriculum development.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
28 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
The school holds the management contract for the local alternative education provider and is the managing school of the Top of the South Trades Academy.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).