Murchison Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 166
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 61 Waller Street, Murchison
- Territorial authority
- Tasman District
- Phone
- 03-5239072
- enquiries@murchison.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Tasman
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
The only item of clothing within the uniform that MUST have a logo is our fleece or hoodie, otherwise we give you the freedom of choice of retailer, however we ask that you are consistent with the colours chosen by the school for each clothing item as they are considered smart uniform items.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- School Values. Our aim for our students is that they will be:
- Respectful. Responsible. Considerate. Honest.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 155
- Māori
- 22
- Pacific
- 1
- Asian
- 9
- MELAA
- 2
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 02 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 09 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 10 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 11 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 12 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 19 | 1 | 11 | 2 | 0 | 182 | 0 | 194 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 06 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 07 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 08 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 09 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 21 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 14 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Total | 19 | 1 | 11 | 2 | 0 | 182 | 0 | 194 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.9%
| Murchison Area School | 90.9% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 82.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90% |
| Total | 90.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
72.7%
| Murchison Area School | 72.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 72.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 70% |
| Total | 72.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
45.5%
| Murchison Area School | 45.5% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 43.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 50% |
| Total | 45.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Murchison Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
81.8%
| Murchison Area School | 81.8% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 77.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 80% |
| Total | 81.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
43%
| Murchison Area School | 43% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 33% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 72.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.5% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 48.6% |
| Total | 43% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
10.8%
| Murchison Area School | 10.8% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 3.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 23.8% |
| Māori | 118.5% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 12.2% |
| Total | 10.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Murchison Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 2.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 471
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 25 January 1884
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 20 September 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (20 September 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 20 September 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
The board must ensure that suitable human resources management practices are implemented including documenting that original or certified copies of qualifications are properly sighted and, for non-teaching positions, a safety check including a Police Vet has been obtained every 3 years [Education and Training Act, 2020, Children’s Act, 2014]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 166 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2018
146
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 21 September 2018
May 2015
127
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 June 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 20 September 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa .
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Murchison Area School is located in Murchison and provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13. The school’s vision for its learners is: Living to Learn, Learning to Live | Ka ake , ka ora ; Ka ora , ka ako , supported by the four school values: Respect ( Whakaute ), Honesty ( Whakapono ), Consideration ( Whai Whakaaro ) and Responsibility ( Haepapa ) .
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Learners’ progress across the school is positive with increasingly equitable and excellent outcomes.
Most learners in Years 1 to 8 are achieving at or above expected curriculum levels in reading and mathematics, with the majority of learners achieving at or above in writing.
Most learners in Years 9 to 10 are achieving at or above expected curriculum levels in literacy and a small majority in mathematics.
A large majority of Year 11, 12 and 13 learners, including a majority of Māori learners, continue to achieve National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) at Levels 1, 2 and 3.
A small majority of learners are presently attending regularly, although the school is yet to meet the Ministry of Education’s target for regular attendance; school initiatives are improving attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
School leaders work strategically and collaboratively, improving outcomes for learners.
Leaders set goals and targets that are increasing equitable outcomes across all learning areas; specific attention is given to improve outcomes for target learners.
Leaders allocate staff strategically to ensure that learners’ specific needs and learning progression are well supported.
Leaders prioritise professional learning for staff that enhances effectiveness and consistency of teaching practice.
Learners at all year levels experience meaningful and relevant learning through a well-considered localised curriculum.
Teachers know their learners’ needs very well, closely monitor progress and provide appropriate targeted support.
Senior learners’ engagement and achievement is supported by the broad and varied senior curriculum which uses local community resources and supportive and personalised teaching.
Learners have planned transitions into, within and beyond school contributing to a strong sense of belonging and support for their post-school pathways.
Learners’ progress and achievement is well supported by increasingly effective learning partnerships with whānau and the community.
Learners benefit from intentional community partnerships; the board and staff actively include community perspectives in planning.
Leaders continue to grow links with iwi and the local community to further develop and embed localised curriculum across all learning areas.
The school is taking steps to integrate te ao Māori into learning programmes in order to increase bicultural understandings and practices.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue to raise learners’ progress and achievement in literacy in Years 1 to 10, embedding the current approaches to teaching literacy
further grow the understanding of te reo and tikanga Māori and embed consistent practices across the school to ensure that the curriculum reflects an increasing commitment to bicultural partnership
continue the development of staff-wide distributed leadership to ensure practices that best promote learner progress and achievement are sustained.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
leaders continue to improve evaluation and reporting to the board on the impact of strategies on improving progress and literacy achievement of learners in Years 1 to 10
teachers use Poutama Reo to determine specific targets and timeframes to continue the development of staff capacity in te reo and tikanga Māori and the development of mātauranga Māori across the school curriculum
Every six months:
leaders continue to report progress towards meeting attendance and literacy targets, wider student learning and achievement to the board and act on any emerging trends
Annually:
leaders evaluate the effectiveness of literacy practices to inform planning
leaders review and evaluate schoolwide consistency of application of mātauranga Māori
leaders review how effectively staff professional learning is supporting leadership development to ensure sustainability of schoolwide systems and learner progress and outcomes.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
raised learner achievement in literacy in Years 1 to 10
schoolwide consistency of the implementation of mātauranga Māori
effective systems to sustain schoolwide practices for learner attendance, progress and achievement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau , kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
20 September 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).