Morrinsville College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 758
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Alexandra Avenue, Morrinsville
- Territorial authority
- Matamata-Piako District
- Phone
- 07-8898308
- tania-conder@morrcoll.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
The International team is very supportive and pathways and academic progress is monitored closely for each International student.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
Athletics training in Term 1 & 4 (7-8 sessions per term)
- Morrinsville College inter-house Octathlon competition
Morrinsville College inter-house Octathlon competition is held in term one
- Badminton
Badminton takes place in Term 2 & 3 Wednesday 3.15 - 4.30 in the school gym.
- Basketball
Basketball games are played during Term 2 and 3.
- Cricket
Cricket is in Terms 1 & 4. 1st XI Saturdays and some midweek games.
- Cross Country
Cross Country Teacher in Charge: Alison Priestley
- Football
Football is played during Terms 2 & 3 and competition games played on Saturdays.
- Adventure Racing
Adventure Racing Teacher in Charge: Joeline McMillan
- Futsal
Futsal Teacher in Charge: Alison Priestley
- GymSport
GymSport activity is a great way to improve a range of skills including extra strength, flexibility and balance that can support skill development for all sports.
- Hockey
Morrinsville College Hockey strip (Shirt and shorts/skort)
- Lacrosse
Lacrosse Teacher in Charge: Vicky Marshall
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 570
- Māori
- 197
- Pacific
- 29
- Asian
- 118
- MELAA
- 24
- Other
- 2
- International
- 16
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 48 | 4 | 18 | 5 | 0 | 129 | 0 | 165 |
| Year 10 | 60 | 5 | 17 | 2 | 1 | 138 | 0 | 165 |
| Year 11 | 44 | 9 | 14 | 4 | 0 | 142 | 7 | 171 |
| Year 12 | 33 | 7 | 19 | 2 | 2 | 107 | 4 | 145 |
| Year 13+ | 19 | 5 | 17 | 2 | 0 | 86 | 3 | 106 |
| Total | 204 | 30 | 85 | 15 | 3 | 602 | 14 | 752 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 42 | 4 | 11 | 4 | 0 | 106 | 0 | 134 |
| Age 14 | 54 | 3 | 17 | 3 | 1 | 132 | 0 | 159 |
| Age 15 | 47 | 7 | 16 | 4 | 1 | 135 | 0 | 161 |
| Age 16 | 37 | 9 | 13 | 1 | 1 | 109 | 9 | 143 |
| Age 17 | 19 | 6 | 24 | 3 | 0 | 103 | 3 | 131 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 2 | 24 |
| Total | 204 | 30 | 85 | 15 | 3 | 602 | 14 | 752 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
84.6%
| Morrinsville College | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.9% |
| Māori | 69.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 94.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 87.1% |
| Total | 84.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
76.3%
| Morrinsville College | 76.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.1% |
| Māori | 60.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 94.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 79.3% |
| Total | 76.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
49.1%
| Morrinsville College | 49.1% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 63.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 31.6% |
| Māori | 37.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 76.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 49.3% |
| Total | 49.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
8.9%
| Morrinsville College | 8.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 10.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.6% |
| Māori | 11.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 8.6% |
| Total | 8.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
74%
| Morrinsville College | 74% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 60.5% |
| Māori | 62.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 73.6% |
| Total | 74% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
62.6%
| Morrinsville College | 62.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 34.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 94.8% |
| Māori | 145.3% |
| Pacific | 22.1% |
| Asian | 17.1% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 46.4% |
| Total | 62.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.4%
| Morrinsville College | 5.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.9% |
| Māori | 14.4% |
| Pacific | 17.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.1% |
| Total | 5.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.8%
| Morrinsville College | 0.8% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.7% |
| Māori | 2.8% |
| Pacific | 23.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1% |
| Total | 0.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 481
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 8 April 1923
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 5 August 2026
- Latest report
- School Report August 2026
- Report type
- Review report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (2 August 2022)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 2 August 2022 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
ERO published this report as a PDF attachment rather than as text on its page, so there is nothing here for us to quote from it. The report itself is at the link below.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).