Matamata College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 830
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Firth Street, Matamata
- Territorial authority
- Matamata-Piako District
- Phone
- 07-8819018
- tfo@matcol.nz
- Website
- https://www.matcol.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 650
- Māori
- 231
- Pacific
- 50
- Asian
- 96
- MELAA
- 11
- Other
- 15
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 64 | 10 | 24 | 1 | 6 | 168 | 0 | 217 |
| Year 10 | 53 | 13 | 21 | 3 | 2 | 143 | 0 | 181 |
| Year 11 | 52 | 10 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 139 | 0 | 175 |
| Year 12 | 40 | 8 | 15 | 3 | 2 | 115 | 0 | 147 |
| Year 13+ | 14 | 2 | 21 | 0 | 1 | 78 | 0 | 104 |
| Total | 223 | 43 | 97 | 9 | 11 | 643 | 0 | 824 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 43 | 7 | 20 | 0 | 5 | 133 | 0 | 172 |
| Age 14 | 61 | 10 | 21 | 3 | 2 | 147 | 0 | 183 |
| Age 15 | 54 | 13 | 15 | 3 | 1 | 136 | 0 | 174 |
| Age 16 | 39 | 10 | 13 | 3 | 2 | 116 | 0 | 148 |
| Age 17 | 21 | 2 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 95 | 0 | 111 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 27 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 223 | 43 | 97 | 9 | 11 | 643 | 0 | 824 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
80.6%
| Matamata College | 80.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 76.5% |
| Māori | 65% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 81.5% |
| Total | 80.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
70%
| Matamata College | 70% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 64.2% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 70.4% |
| Total | 70% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
40%
| Matamata College | 40% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 52.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 25.9% |
| Māori | 20% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 65% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 40% |
| Total | 40% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.3%
| Matamata College | 15.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 19.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.1% |
| Māori | 12.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 20% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 15.6% |
| Total | 15.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
75.9%
| Matamata College | 75.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 74.1% |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 75.6% |
| Total | 75.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
54%
| Matamata College | 54% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 37.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.2% |
| Māori | 86.2% |
| Pacific | 147.4% |
| Asian | 15.6% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 55% |
| Total | 54% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.9%
| Matamata College | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.4% |
| Māori | 2.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.6% |
| Total | 1.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.3%
| Matamata College | 2.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.9% |
| Māori | 2.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.9% |
| Total | 2.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 479
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1918
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 16 April 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (16 April 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 16 April 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
A further Police vet must be obtained every three years for non-teaching personnel. [Clause 12, Schedule 4, Education and Training Act 2020]
The board has since taken steps to address the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 830 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2019
664
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 January 2020
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 16 April 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 17 months of the Education Review Office and Matamata College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Matamata College, located in the Waikato District, provides education for students in Years 9 to 13. The school whakatauki ‘Ma mahi, ka ora ’ underpins a focus on providing learning programmes and opportunities for every student to reach their full potential.
Matamata College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
Success for all - providing all students/ ākonga with access to a quality, relevant, exciting and engaging local curriculum so they attain their highest possible standard in educational achievement
Connection - building strong connections with the wider school community to support learners to achieve educational success
Mauri ora – delivering a learning environment that promotes wellbeing for all, where learners/ ākonga and staff are able to thrive.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Matamata College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent to which schoolwide culturally responsive practices are supporting students to engage, feel connected and achieve.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the need to pursue equitable outcomes for Māori students and boys
alignment with the school’s strategic plan and the findings of the 2022 ERO review.
The school expects to see equitable outcomes resulting from:
an exciting, relevant and responsive localised curriculum based on Te Mātaiaho supporting students to engage in learning
partnerships with whānau, hāpū, iwi and the wider community informing educational opportunities and promoting learner success
a holistic approach to wellbeing that promotes student confidence in language, culture and identity supporting learners to feel connected and thrive.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to improve student engagement and achievement:
leadership and governance with a clear vision for improvement
systems and processes to track student achievement and the capacity to use student achievement information to inform decision making.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing a curriculum that responds to the needs of learners, particularly Māori and boys, at risk of underachieving
implementing systems and practices to support ongoing collaboration with whānau, hapū, iwi and the wider community
implementing a range of programmes to support greater connection and wellbeing schoolwide
reviewing the effective implementation of policies and procedures that guide school operation, prioritising complaints, police vetting, standdown and suspension.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
16 April 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).