Marist College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 766
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 31 Alberton Avenue, Mount Albert, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Albert-Eden Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-8468311
- admin@maristcollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
The correct regulation school uniform should be worn at ALL times when students are travelling to and from the College as well as during the school day.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- http://www.prestidges.co.nz
You can also shop online at [www.prestidges.co.nz](http://www.prestidges.co.nz)
- http://www.prestidges.co.nz
- Getting there
- School buses run by Kiwi Coachlines serving Titirangi/Laingholm, Mangere East/via Hillsborough, Papakura, Mangere Bridge and Onehunga
School Bus information can be found for the following journeys: - Kiwi Coachlines,[www.kiwicoaches.co.nz](http://www.kiwicoaches.co.nz) ,[\[email protected\]](http://www.maristcollege.school.nz/cdn-cgi/l/email-protection#553c3b333a153e3c223c363a34363d30267b363a7b3b2f) - Titirangi/Laingholm - Mangere East/via Hillsborough - Papakura - Mangere Bridge - Onehunga
- School buses run by Kiwi Coachlines serving Titirangi/Laingholm, Mangere East/via Hillsborough, Papakura, Mangere Bridge and Onehunga
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- The whole school community, through its general school programme, its instruction and observances, exercises the right to live and teach the values of Jesus Christ. Marist College has daily prayer, regular celebration of the Sacrament of the Eucharist and formal study of a religious education programme.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Marist College International Student Enrolment
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 440
- Māori
- 67
- Pacific
- 190
- Asian
- 247
- MELAA
- 35
- Other
- 11
- International
- 9
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 9 | 26 | 36 | 7 | 4 | 77 | 0 | 115 |
| Year 08 | 11 | 25 | 42 | 2 | 2 | 60 | 0 | 112 |
| Year 09 | 12 | 29 | 31 | 5 | 2 | 61 | 3 | 111 |
| Year 10 | 9 | 38 | 30 | 3 | 3 | 75 | 0 | 118 |
| Year 11 | 11 | 35 | 32 | 4 | 1 | 55 | 3 | 105 |
| Year 12 | 11 | 31 | 32 | 2 | 2 | 58 | 2 | 115 |
| Year 13+ | 9 | 30 | 26 | 3 | 1 | 60 | 2 | 111 |
| Total | 72 | 214 | 229 | 26 | 15 | 446 | 10 | 787 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 8 | 22 | 29 | 4 | 4 | 58 | 0 | 90 |
| Age 12 | 12 | 26 | 40 | 5 | 2 | 70 | 0 | 120 |
| Age 13 | 8 | 24 | 34 | 5 | 2 | 56 | 0 | 104 |
| Age 14 | 12 | 39 | 32 | 1 | 3 | 69 | 3 | 116 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 37 | 26 | 6 | 1 | 64 | 0 | 106 |
| Age 16 | 13 | 33 | 38 | 2 | 2 | 56 | 3 | 119 |
| Age 17 | 9 | 24 | 26 | 3 | 0 | 63 | 2 | 107 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 9 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 10 | 2 | 25 |
| Total | 72 | 214 | 229 | 26 | 15 | 446 | 10 | 787 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Marist College | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
97.3%
| Marist College | 97.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 96.9% |
| Asian | 92% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 97.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
93.7%
| Marist College | 93.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 87.5% |
| Asian | 88% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.7% |
| Total | 93.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
6.3%
| Marist College | 6.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 6.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 20% |
| Pacific | 3.1% |
| Asian | 4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 9.8% |
| Total | 6.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
98.2%
| Marist College | 98.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 92% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 98.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Māori | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
17.8%
| Marist College | 17.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 18.6% |
| Pacific | 25.6% |
| Asian | 11.9% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 18% |
| Total | 17.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.5%
| Marist College | 1.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 8.3% |
| Pacific | 5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 1.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Marist College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 398
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1928
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 7 February 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (7 February 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 7 February 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 766 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2019
760
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 August 2019
May 2014
750
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 June 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 7 February 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Marist College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Marist College is in Mt Albert, Auckland and provides a Catholic education for girls in Years 7 to 13. The College’s mission statement states that “the Marist College Community is committed to fostering excellence in education founded on living Catholic values and the Spirit of Mary”. Marist College strives to ensure that school leavers graduate as well qualified, faith-driven, competitive, nurturing, community leaders who have a sense of purpose and belonging.
Marist College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
Catholic Education
Academic Success
Leadership through Service
Sense of Belonging.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Marist College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively Marist College is continuing to develop its culturally sustaining practices and restorative frameworks.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
ensure equity and excellence in achievement outcomes across the school for all learners
embed culturally sustaining practices and continue to strengthen tuakana-teina relationship opportunities for learners.
The school expects to see:
teachers consistently using culturally responsive practices to support equitable and excellent achievement outcomes for all learners
pastoral care processes are inclusive of Te Ao Māori and Pacific approaches
student leadership opportunities are aligned with Catholic values and grow tuakana-teina relationships within the school.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how effectively it is continuing to develop its culturally sustaining practices and restorative frameworks:
engaged learners and whānau who work in partnership with the school to ensure excellent outcomes for all learners
flexible and adaptable teaching and learning programmes and modes of assessment that are responsive to individual learning needs
comprehensive systems of support focused on the pastoral and academic needs of students and grounded in the Catholic faith that minimise barriers that affect learning and achievement
leadership consistently prioritises and plans for school improvement and for equitable and excellent outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
providing professional development for staff to ensure that the changes to NCEA and Te Mātaiaho - the NZ Curriculum Refresh are implemented in a way that is meaningful and responsive to learner needs
reviewing pastoral care processes to ensure that practices are inclusive of Te Ao Māori and Pacific approaches to restorative practice
researching different approaches of student leadership and finding opportunities and programmes that align with Catholic values and grow tuakana-teina relationships within the school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
7 February 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).