Marcellin College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 466
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 617 Mt Albert Road, Royal Oak, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Puketāpapa Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-625 6509
- office@marcellin.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Marcellin College welcomes enrolment enquiries from international students.
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- $70 for 2026 ($17.50 per term)
- Catholic Special Character Contribution – $70 This voluntary donation ($17.50 per term) supports services provided by the Catholic Education Services Board.
- $70 for 2026 ($17.50 per term)
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
- Athletics
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Tag Rugby
- Tag Rugby
- Touch Rugby
- Touch Rugby
- Softball
- Softball
- Cross Country
- Cross Country
- Rugby
- Rugby
- Netball
- Netball
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Soccer
- Soccer
- Turbo Touch
For sport, we have a state-of-the-art gymnasium which is used for Basketball, Volleyball, Turbo Touch, Badminton and Netball.
- Badminton
For sport, we have a state-of-the-art gymnasium which is used for Basketball, Volleyball, Turbo Touch, Badminton and Netball.
- The La Valla Youth Group
The La Valla Youth Group: Our dynamic school youth group is driven by a genuine heart to serve.
- Junior Swimming Sports Days
We also have big events such as Junior Swimming Sports Days and a full school Athletics Day.
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 47
- Māori
- 29
- Pacific
- 283
- Asian
- 163
- MELAA
- 15
- Other
- 5
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 1 | 17 | 13 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 33 |
| Year 08 | 2 | 26 | 21 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 48 |
| Year 09 | 8 | 55 | 24 | 2 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 80 |
| Year 10 | 7 | 66 | 28 | 3 | 1 | 10 | 0 | 100 |
| Year 11 | 11 | 74 | 37 | 0 | 1 | 11 | 0 | 111 |
| Year 12 | 5 | 60 | 26 | 3 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 88 |
| Year 13+ | 7 | 67 | 22 | 8 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 98 |
| Total | 41 | 365 | 171 | 21 | 3 | 59 | 0 | 558 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 1 | 16 | 9 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 27 |
| Age 12 | 2 | 23 | 24 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 47 |
| Age 13 | 7 | 44 | 23 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 66 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 69 | 26 | 3 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 101 |
| Age 15 | 11 | 69 | 28 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 98 |
| Age 16 | 5 | 65 | 35 | 3 | 1 | 11 | 0 | 102 |
| Age 17 | 5 | 63 | 20 | 4 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 88 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 15 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 7 |
| Total | 41 | 365 | 171 | 21 | 3 | 59 | 0 | 558 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.9%
| Marcellin College | 86.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.2% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | 86.7% |
| Asian | 95.2% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 86.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
80.3%
| Marcellin College | 80.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.7% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | 77.8% |
| Asian | 95.2% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 75% |
| Total | 80.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
68%
| Marcellin College | 68% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 72.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 63.2% |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | 62.2% |
| Asian | 95.2% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 66.7% |
| Total | 68% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
5.7%
| Marcellin College | 5.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.5% |
| Māori | 12.5% |
| Pacific | 5.6% |
| Asian | 9.5% |
| MELAA | 10% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.5%
| Marcellin College | 88.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.7% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 84.4% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 88.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
89.5%
| Marcellin College | 89.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 55.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 120.9% |
| Māori | 158.7% |
| Pacific | 124.2% |
| Asian | 3.8% |
| Other | 90.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 18.2% |
| Total | 89.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.9%
| Marcellin College | 9.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 17.2% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 14.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 9.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Marcellin College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 470
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 1957
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 18 June 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 June 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 18 June 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that the Board has checked an original primary identity document and a secondary identity document. [Children’s Act 2014, and regulations 5–8 of the Children’s (Requirements for Safety Checks of Children’s Workers) Regulations 2015]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 466 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2017
528
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 28 September 2017
October 2014
643
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 December 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 18 June 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Marcellin College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Marcellin College, in Royal Oak, Auckland, is a state integrated co-educational Catholic secondary school providing special character education for students from Years 7 to 15. Since the previous ERO review in 2017, a new principal been appointed to the school.
The school’s vision is to ‘Transform lives through faith, knowledge and education founded on Marist traditions .
Marcellin College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
cultivate a global missionary mindset underpinned by the teachings of Christ to enhance ākonga Marist mission and spirituality
strengthen school wide culture to ensure the physical, emotional, social, and spiritual wellbeing of ākonga
enable effective ako (teaching and learning) to empower ākonga to be future ready, lifelong learners.
A copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan can be requested from Marcellin College.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively the implementation of interventions to raise achievement and track progress promote equitable and excellent achievement outcomes and engagement for all ākonga .
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to ensure interventions promote improved attendance and engagement in learning
to raise achievement in literacy and numeracy
to support effective engagement and success in future curriculum learning and achievement.
The school expects to see:
improvement in attendance and punctuality
improved achievement outcomes for students
the refinement and embedding of systems and processes to promote attendance and engagement.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal evaluate the implementation of interventions to raise achievement and track progress promote equitable and excellent achievement outcomes and engagement for all ākonga .
its dedication to its Catholic special character and values
high expectations for students’ academic success
strong whānau spirit of the Marcellin College stakeholders to work together to find responsive solutions to improve the wellbeing and learning outcomes for all tamariki .
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
embedding systematic and sustained school processes, practices, and actions
responding quickly to learners so they progress and achieve well.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
18 June 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).