Mangere College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 773
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 23 Bader Drive, Mangere, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2754029 Ext 106
- operations@mangerecollege.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.mangere.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Year 9 and 10 students are required to wear the Māngere College Junior Uniform.
- Required
- Term dates
- Term 1, 2026: 29 January 2026 - 2 April 2026
Term 1: 29 January 2026 – 2 April 2026
- Term 2, 2026: 20 April 2026 - 3 July 2026
Term 2: 20 April 2026 – 3 July 2026
- Term 3, 2026: 20 July 2026 - 25 September 2026
Term 3: 20 July 2026 – 25 September 2026
- Term 1, 2026: 29 January 2026 - 2 April 2026
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Mangere College is a school at the heart of its community. The board and staff celebrate the school’s multicultural composition. In particular, the school acknowledges the significant pasifika student community, and staff emphasise a strong sense of whanau, aiga and family within the college.
- Values - Respect and Responsibility
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 56
- Māori
- 156
- Pacific
- 650
- Asian
- 64
- MELAA
- 8
- Other
- 12
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 46 | 162 | 13 | 2 | 2 | 18 | 0 | 185 |
| Year 10 | 30 | 134 | 14 | 1 | 2 | 16 | 0 | 157 |
| Year 11 | 38 | 145 | 18 | 1 | 3 | 16 | 0 | 178 |
| Year 12 | 21 | 122 | 19 | 1 | 3 | 8 | 0 | 148 |
| Year 13+ | 11 | 103 | 15 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 120 |
| Total | 146 | 666 | 79 | 6 | 10 | 64 | 0 | 788 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 43 | 143 | 10 | 2 | 2 | 15 | 0 | 163 |
| Age 14 | 30 | 134 | 11 | 1 | 2 | 17 | 0 | 153 |
| Age 15 | 32 | 135 | 14 | 1 | 2 | 16 | 0 | 162 |
| Age 16 | 28 | 122 | 19 | 1 | 2 | 8 | 0 | 149 |
| Age 17 | 13 | 115 | 15 | 1 | 2 | 8 | 0 | 136 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 17 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 146 | 666 | 79 | 6 | 10 | 64 | 0 | 788 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
74.7%
| Mangere College | 74.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 79.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.4% |
| Māori | 59.3% |
| Pacific | 73.7% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 74.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
66.7%
| Mangere College | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 67.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 65.9% |
| Māori | 44.4% |
| Pacific | 65.8% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
42.5%
| Mangere College | 42.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 49.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 35.3% |
| Māori | 22.2% |
| Pacific | 42.8% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 42.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.1%
| Mangere College | 12.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.1% |
| Māori | 7.4% |
| Pacific | 13.8% |
| Asian | 13.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 12.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
79.9%
| Mangere College | 79.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 76.5% |
| Māori | 59.3% |
| Pacific | 79.6% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 79.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
112.5%
| Mangere College | 112.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 103.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 121.2% |
| Māori | 113.7% |
| Pacific | 118% |
| Asian | 32.7% |
| Other | 58.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 65.6% |
| Total | 112.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4%
| Mangere College | 4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.9% |
| Māori | 3.1% |
| Pacific | 4.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Mangere College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 521
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1971
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 16 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (16 October 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 16 October 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure a risk assessment process is completed before appointing staff [Section 31, Children’s Act 2014]
ensure safety checks are completed before students undertake work experience [Section 53, Education and Training Act 2020]
ensure the school reports the use of physical restraint to the Ministry of Educatio n [Sections 99, 100 and 101 of the Education and Training Act 2020: limits, rules and use of physical restraint and behaviour management at registered schools; Ministry of Education (Physical Restraint) Rules 2023].
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 16 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 13
provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13
- Years 9 to 13
- Also provides
- Two Keith Park School satellite classes
The school hosts its two Keith Park School satellite classes
- Achievement Centre for alternative education
the Achievement Centre for alternative education
- Two Keith Park School satellite classes
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 773 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2018
707
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 11 October 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 16 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Mangere College is located in South Auckland and provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13. The current roll of approximately 760 students includes just 23% of students who identify as Māori and 45 percent who are from Pacific heritage; Samoan, Tongan and Cook Island Māori students make up the largest Pacific nation groups.
The school’s vision is Excellence in Education. The school values are respect and responsibility . The school hosts its two Keith Park School satellite classes and the Achievement Centre for alternative education.
The Principal was appointed during Term 2 of 2024, and a new Deputy Principal was appointed in Term 4 of 2024. Another new Deputy Principal was appointed at the beginning of 2025.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
What we know about learner success
The judgments in this section are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Outcomes for learners require improvement.
A small majority of students achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement NCEA Level 2, and a large majority achieved NCEA Level 3. Less than a third of students achieved (NCEA) Level 1 and University Entrance in 2024.
Most students gained NCEA Level 1 literacy and numeracy. Disparity of achievement is evident for males, Māori , and Pacific students across NCEA and with the exception of Level 3, achievement in NCEA has declined compared to previous years.
The majority students in Years 9 and 10 are achieving below curriculum expectations in literacy and mathematics. Raising junior students' achievement is an urgent priority.
Students’ cultural background is valued and celebrated contributing to their positive sense of wellbeing.
Less than half of students attend school regularly. Regular attendance rates are significantly below the Government target of 80% regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership across the school requires further development.
Leadership is beginning to plan and coordinate the school’s curriculum so that teaching expectations for high-quality teaching is shared and understood.
Leadership is taking steps to foster a culture committed to quality teaching and equity and excellence in learner outcomes. A strategic goal is to grow and support the capacity and capability of staff.
Leadership is beginning to use limited evidence to plan and monitor aspects of the school’s strategic improvement cycle and effectiveness strategies designed to improve learner outcomes.
Teachers are beginning to provide suitable learning opportunities for learners.
Learners have some opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of the curriculum. There is a varying emphasis on helping learners develop strong foundational skills in literacy and mathematics.
Teachers are beginning to use some evidence-based and teaching strategies adapted to learner needs. These strategies include self-management and thinking skills.
Across the school a strong focus is evident on students’ home languages including te reo Māori . Teachers are beginning to understand their commitment to tangata whenuatanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi partnership to improve outcomes and promote engagement.
The school is taking steps to establish conditions that support ongoing improvement in the quality of education for learners.
The Board is taking steps to represent, serve and work with the school community including mana whenua , to enact the school’s vision, values, strategic direction, improvement priorities and goals related to learner learning, wellbeing, achievement and progress.
Shared understanding of the role of evaluation in school improvement is not yet in place. The Board is beginning to evaluate its own performance.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Improve the quality of teaching for better progress and achievement at all year levels.
Improve conditions for learning, including provision of learning support and support for student wellbeing.
Strengthen the quality and use of assessment information in teaching and learning.
Ensure collaboration between leaders, staff and the wider school community to have clear strategic direction for improvement.
Ensure students can access meaningful pathways to further education or employment.
Improve students’ regular attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and teachers work together to identify the key barriers to improving the quality of teaching and develop a plan to address these
leaders and staff collaborate to identify, understand, and start applying effective strategies and interventions that enhance student learning and outcomes
the Board and school leaders work with the school community to develop and implement a suitable attendance plan
Within six months:
leaders finalise a cohesive plan to improve the quality of teaching monitor this for consistent implementation, including outcomes measures to track improvements to teaching and the impact on learner outcomes
leaders create and put into action a clear plan to improve teaching and track its progress, making sure it leads to better outcomes for students
staff work with students and their families/ whānau to ensure they are aware of different pathways through and beyond school to be able to make well informed decisions
the Board has an attendance plan in place and has shared this with the school community
Every six months:
school leaders evaluate and report to the Board on teaching effectiveness, learner engagement and attendance, informed by student achievement information
the Board review achievement, attendance and engagement information and work with school leaders to monitor progress, identify areas for further improvement and plan next steps
Annually:
school leaders and teachers’ review attendance, engagement, progress and achievement to evaluate the impact of teaching and learning, identify areas for improvement and plan for the following year
leaders and the school Board review student outcomes, including achievement and attendance, identify improvement priorities, use these to inform planning and resourcing and report to the school community.
Expected outcomes
Improved progress and achievement outcomes for all students.
Student achievement data is reviewed regularly and used to inform planning of teaching and learning.
Leaders, teachers and the Board know the extent of the impact of initiatives on students’ engagement and learning through regulate review and evaluation.
Improved attendance that meets or exceeds the Government’s target of 80% regular attendance.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education consider a support/intervention(s) listed in section 171 of the Education and Training Act 2020 in order to bring about the following improvements:
improving the quality of teaching
raising achievement for students in Years 9 and 10
the use of assessment information in teaching and learning
strategies to improve students’ regular attendance
leadership to bring about improvement.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
16 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).