Mangakōtukutuku College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 780
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 6 Collins Road, Glenview, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-899 8057
- accounts@mkt.school.nz
- Website
- https://www.mkt.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- The vision of Mangakōtukutuku College is Te Kura Whaikaha.
- In our school, our ākonga are nurtured to be strong in
- their cultural identity and smart in the way they pursue
- personal excellence.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 257
- Māori
- 398
- Pacific
- 149
- Asian
- 181
- MELAA
- 40
- Other
- 7
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 44 | 18 | 6 | 3 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 70 |
| Year 08 | 66 | 15 | 20 | 4 | 2 | 39 | 0 | 106 |
| Year 09 | 78 | 24 | 28 | 3 | 1 | 51 | 0 | 134 |
| Year 10 | 62 | 30 | 47 | 5 | 1 | 56 | 0 | 148 |
| Year 11 | 82 | 29 | 30 | 7 | 1 | 69 | 0 | 153 |
| Year 12 | 49 | 22 | 39 | 6 | 0 | 47 | 0 | 111 |
| Year 13+ | 21 | 12 | 26 | 4 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 65 |
| Total | 402 | 150 | 196 | 32 | 6 | 295 | 0 | 787 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 41 | 17 | 9 | 3 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 68 |
| Age 12 | 61 | 16 | 15 | 3 | 2 | 31 | 0 | 93 |
| Age 13 | 79 | 19 | 25 | 4 | 1 | 59 | 0 | 133 |
| Age 14 | 63 | 31 | 40 | 5 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 135 |
| Age 15 | 77 | 27 | 35 | 5 | 2 | 71 | 0 | 156 |
| Age 16 | 50 | 24 | 35 | 7 | 0 | 52 | 0 | 114 |
| Age 17 | 27 | 15 | 21 | 3 | 1 | 22 | 0 | 65 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 15 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 402 | 150 | 196 | 32 | 6 | 295 | 0 | 787 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
70.8%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 70.8% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.5% |
| Māori | 58.1% |
| Pacific | 62.5% |
| Asian | 96.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.4% |
| Total | 70.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
59.1%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 59.1% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 57.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 60.2% |
| Māori | 43.2% |
| Pacific | 54.2% |
| Asian | 87.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 60.3% |
| Total | 59.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
25.5%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 25.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 31.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 21.7% |
| Māori | 12.2% |
| Pacific | 37.5% |
| Asian | 58.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 19% |
| Total | 25.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0.7%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.2% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 3.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
55.5%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 55.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 68.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 47% |
| Māori | 41.9% |
| Pacific | 54.2% |
| Asian | 90.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 44.4% |
| Total | 55.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
119.5%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 119.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 109.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 127.9% |
| Māori | 195% |
| Pacific | 129.1% |
| Asian | 8.8% |
| Other | 107.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 102% |
| Total | 119.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
32.9%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 32.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 44.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 23.8% |
| Māori | 59.2% |
| Pacific | 32.1% |
| Asian | 7.9% |
| Other | 13.9% |
| European/Pākehā | 16.9% |
| Total | 32.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
18.4%
| Mangakōtukutuku College | 18.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 29.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 10% |
| Māori | 33.3% |
| Pacific | 14.4% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 16.7% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.6% |
| Total | 18.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 529
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 2023
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 12 December 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (12 December 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 12 December 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Learners in Years 7 and 8 are not receiving an average of five hours per week of reading, writing and mathematics teaching and learning [Education and Training Act 2020 (2023 Amendment), Section 90] .
The Board has not consistently completed satisfactory safety checks for all persons employed, including verification of identity, background and work history, and risk assessments [Children’s Act 2014: Safety checks of children’s workers, Sections 25-27].
A small number of teachers have not completed physical restraint training within 10 weeks of starting work [Education and Training Act 2020: limits, rules and use of physical restraint and behaviour management at registered schools; Sections 99-101; Ministry of Education (Physical Restraint) Rules 2023].
The board has taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 12 December 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 7 to 13
provides education for learners in Years 7 to 13
- Years 7 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 12 December 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Mangakōtukutuku College opened in South-West Hamilton in January 2024 and provides education for learners in Years 7 to 13.
Mangakōtukutuku College was established as part of a strategic response to educational and demographic shifts in south-west Hamilton. In late 2023, Melville High School and Melville Intermediate were closed due to declining enrolments and merged to form a single Year 7 to 13 school on the same site, led by a newly appointed leadership team and school board. Mangakōtukutuku College was established with the aim to promote resilience, cultural identity, leadership, and personal excellence for all learners . The school’s vision is Te Kura Whaikaha , and values are Whaimana , Whaiora and Whaiara .
During its first year, Mangakōtukutuku College faced significant operational challenges in staffing, leadership capability and the establishment of school systems and processes to effectively cater for the needs of its foundation students. Since 2024, establishing and maintaining a positive and safe emotional and physical climate and high quality and engaging curriculum and teaching for learners has remained a priority.
In April 2024 the Ministry of Education appointed a Limited Statutory Manager (LSM) to work with the Mangakōtukutuku College Board in their governance function and leadership of teaching and learning. Three new deputy principals have joined the school since its opening, and a new principal started at the school in July 2025.
The school roll is 847, with 35% of learners identifying as Māori , 30% as Pākehā/NZ European, 17% Asian, 14% of Pacific heritage and 3% Middle Eastern, Latin American or African.
The school provides offsite learning opportunities for students through a partnership with Te Kōhao Health.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Significant improvements are required to ensure all learners are engaged, making sufficient progress and achieving well.
Less than half of students achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) at Level 1, 2, or 3 in the school’s first year and very few students achieved University Entrance (UE).
There is disparity for Māori students’ achievement across all outcome measures.
The school is yet to develop a clear understanding of progress and achievement in reading, writing and mathematics for students in Years 7 to 10. Of the students who were assessed, less than half of the students meet or exceed the expected curriculum level.
Less than a third of students attend school regularly and nearly half of students are chronically absent. Although attendance has slightly improved since 2024 the school must urgently take action to improve attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership requires strengthening to ensure sustained improvement across teaching, curriculum, and learner outcomes.
The new leadership team are establishing priorities and improvement goals and updating strategic and annual plans to guide the school and support leadership growth. Leaders work together to develop their leadership capability and build effective teams across the school.
Leaders are taking steps to strengthen the quality and consistency of teaching and learning.
Leaders are in the early stages of providing a positive, settled school environment to maximise learning.
Leaders are in the early stages of establishing systems and oversight for assessment, curriculum, and provision for learner support.
Teaching quality is variable. The school is in the early stages of providing consistent, high quality teaching practices and a coherent curriculum.
Students in the senior years are provided a well-developed curriculum with different options and pathways to support their progress and achievement.
The junior curriculum is in the early stages of being developed to provide adequate literacy and numeracy teaching for students to develop foundational skills and to support their successful progression.
Leaders and teachers are beginning to improve student engagement and achievement by fostering positive relationships and behaviours for learning. This is supported by ongoing professional development to grow staff capacity.
School conditions require immediate improvements. The school is beginning to establish systems, structures and practices to bring about improvements.
The school is still establishing a physically and emotionally secure and inclusive environment for all learners. School systems are beginning to support students through restorative and responsive practices. Positive behaviour for learning is improving, and serious behavioural incidents have reduced noticeably. However, this remains a priority for the school.
Teachers, leaders, and support staff are building relational trust, improving communication systems, and beginning to take collective responsibility for learner outcomes.
Learners needing additional support are identified and some supports are in place. More tailored approaches are needed to accelerate students’ progress.
The school should further develop a comprehensive assessment system that helps guide teaching and planning, and tracks students’ achievement to better enable staff to know how students are progressing.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
The school needs to act immediately to:
strengthen strategic and action planning to deliberately include: developing systems and processes for pursuing measurable goals and targets for student attendance, engagement, achievement, progress and retention aligning and strengthening school systems, processes and organisational conditions to support these goals creating a reporting framework that provides visibility about the progress being made towards goals.
This plan should include actions to:
further implement and consistently use agreed behaviour management and restorative practice
improve regular attendance and reduce chronic absence levels
improve the design and delivery of the junior curriculum
improve teaching practices, assessment and systems to raise achievement, engagement and retention
improve assessment practices and use reliable achievement data to monitor and track the impact of initiatives on student attendance, achievement and progress
improve learning support provision
strengthen leadership capability to bring about improvement and achieve strategic goals and targets.
Priority actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
the school Board and leaders develop a clear action plan to address identified areas for improvement
leaders and teachers implement and consistently use agreed behaviour management and restorative practice
leaders and teachers review current assessment practices, identify areas for improvement and adjust systems and processes as required
leaders and teachers review the design and delivery of the junior curriculum, identifying where time and resources for literacy and numeracy programmes can be embedded
leaders and teachers identify barriers to attendance and adjust strategies and implement the school’s attendance plan to improve attendance
leaders, with teachers, develop a schoolwide system for collecting, analysing and reporting reliable student attendance, engagement, progress and achievement data
identify leadership roles, lines of accountability and development needs, to build capability to deliver on improvement plans, aligned with strategic and government targets
leaders review and establish clear expectations for teaching practices, classroom assessment approaches, and support systems to ensure consistency and effectiveness
Within six months:
leaders work with staff to implement an improved junior curriculum, including intervention programmes in reading, writing, and mathematics
leaders work together to ensure their roles and responsibilities are effectively implemented through consistent practices across the school
teachers and leaders use student assessment information to monitor progress and guide teaching and learning
leaders develop and implement a system for regularly observing teaching and learning and using feedback and support to improve teaching practice
using reliable information, review the impact of initiatives on student attendance, engagement and achievement, report progress against school and government priorities and plan next steps.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in significant improvement in:
achievement outcomes for all students
levels of attendance and engagement in learning
school culture, wellbeing and safety, with behaviour management practices being consistently applied
the quality of curriculum and teaching practice, effective assessment practices and support for students with additional learning needs
leadership, with a clear understanding of progress, informed decision-making, and continuous improvement toward achieving strategic goals.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education maintains the ongoing support of the Limited Statutory Manager, as outlined in section 171 of the Education and Training Act 2020, prioritising:
strengthening leadership capability across the school
urgent development of curriculum, quality of teaching and assessment practice.
ERO will undertake a review to monitor progress within the next year. The next public report on ERO’s website is due within 12 months.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
12 December 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 2 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).