Mangakahia Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 80
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 1480 Mangakahia Road, Titoki, Whangarei
- Territorial authority
- Whangarei District
- Phone
- 09-4331702
- admin@mangakahia.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Whangārei · schools in Northland
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 37
- Māori
- 67
- Pacific
- 9
- Asian
- 0
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 02 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 03 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 04 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 05 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 06 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 07 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 09 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 10 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 11 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 12 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 13+ | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 74 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 78 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 06 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 08 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 09 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 10 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 12 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 13 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 14 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 16 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 74 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 78 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
62.5%
| Mangakahia Area School | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 82.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
62.5%
| Mangakahia Area School | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
25%
| Mangakahia Area School | 25% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 48.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 25% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Mangakahia Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 16.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
62.5%
| Mangakahia Area School | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
86.7%
| Mangakahia Area School | 86.7% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 52% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 152.6% |
| Māori | 89.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 74.1% |
| Total | 86.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Mangakahia Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 6.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Mangakahia Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 2.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 560
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural other
- Date opened
- 25 January 1907
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 6 May 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 May 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 6 May 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that high risk activities are clearly identified in education outside the classroom (EOTC) approvals prior to board sign off. [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
The board has since taken steps to address the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 80 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
April 2019
90
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 May 2019
August 2017
73
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 November 2017
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 May 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Mangakahia Area School is in the small rural town of Titoki , southwest of Whāngarei. The school provides education for students from Years 1 to 13. In 2024 the school roll was 75 students. The board appointed a permanent principal in 2024.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Improvements are required to ensure all learners are engaged, make progress and achieve well.
A small majority of learners in Years 1 to 6 achieve at expected curriculum levels in mathematics; in Years 7 to 10, mathematics achievement is less than a third.
Less than half of learners in Years 1 to 10 achieve at expected curriculum levels in reading and writing.
National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) information shows an increase in attainment over the last three years; a small majority of learners achieve NCEA Level 1 and 2, and a large majority achieve NCEA Level 3.
Learners are proud of their school; they speak positively about the way staff value and affirm their identity, language and culture, enhancing their wellbeing.
Less than a third of students attend school regularly; however, regular attendance is improving towards the Government’s target and leaders and the board are actively taking steps to develop strategies that increase attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
Leaders are taking steps to foster a professional culture of continuous improvement and increase learner engagement and achievement.
Leadership is effectively guiding the school through a period of change that is focused on strengthening high quality teaching and learning.
Leaders set and implement clear strategic goals that aim to support a responsive curriculum and improve learner outcomes.
Senior leaders build good relational trust among staff that ensures positive and clear communication and collaboration for planning and teaching.
The school is taking steps to provide a responsive curriculum and high-quality teaching practice.
Students experience culturally responsive and inclusive learning environments that foster positive and respectful relationships amongst students and with staff.
Teachers are developing their use of assessment practices and student achievement information to consistently inform planning and teaching.
Teachers adapt learning programmes, using practices tailored to the individual, that increasingly support learner engagement, particularly for those at risk of not achieving.
School conditions that support learner success are being established.
The board represents and works with the community to develop the school’s vision, values and strategic direction.
Staff and students recognise and value external educational partnerships that enrich teaching and learning opportunities.
Leaders and some teachers are beginning to collect, analyse and interpret student engagement and achievement information to make evidence-based decisions for schoolwide improvement actions.
Professional learning opportunities for teachers increasingly align to improvement goals and learner needs, particularly for those learners most at risk of not achieving.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
implement strategies and initiatives to improve students’ regular attendance
further develop and implement the school curriculum, integrating the new literacy and mathematics requirements schoolwide to increase student progress and achievement
strengthen schoolwide teaching, learning and assessment practices through the staff professional growth cycle to ensure consistency of approaches and the effective use of student achievement information to inform ongoing planning and teaching.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
review the school’s current attendance actions and implement a plan to increase regular attendance
Within six months:
review structured literacy and mathematics approaches schoolwide and provide relevant staff professional learning that strengthens teachers’ understanding and use of highly effective teaching, learning and assessment practices
collate and analyse feedback from staff about the professional growth cycle to support its ongoing implementation and impact on practice and learner outcomes
Every six months:
review the impact of the plan to improve students’ regular attendance and identify next steps
review progress made with implementing the school curriculum, including the literacy and mathematics requirements, to support future planning and action
Annually:
review and report to the board on student attendance, progress and achievement information to inform ongoing strategic decision making and planning
evaluate the impact of teaching, learning and assessment practices on students’ engagement, progress and achievement and use this to support next steps.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
increased regular attendance for all learners
improved progress and achievement in reading, writing and mathematics and more students achieving NCEA Levels 1, 2 and 3
effective use of assessment practices and achievement information schoolwide that support consistent high-quality teaching and learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools (Acting)
6 May 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).