Mana College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 511
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 22 Awarua Street, Takapuwahia, Porirua
- Territorial authority
- Porirua City
- Phone
- 04-2375424
- office@mana.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.mana.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Where to buy the uniform
- manacollege.nzuniforms.com
online purchasing will also be available through our dedicated website: manacollege.nzuniforms.com.
- manacollege.nzuniforms.com
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Towards Flourishing
- We expect success every day
- Success together; success for our futures
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- athletics
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- futsal
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- badminton
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- volleyball
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- basketball
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- tennis
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- rugby
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- soccer
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- netball
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- hockey
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- squash
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- ki o rahi
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- waka ama
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- touch rugby
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- orienteering
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- outdoor education
The college offers over 20 codes within the sports programme including athletics, futsal, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, rugby, soccer, netball, hockey, squash, ki o rahi, waka ama, touch rugby, orienteering and outdoor education.
- bi-annual production
You can take part in the bi-annual production upfront on stage or behind the scenes making costumes, lighting, or sound production.
- Jazz band
You can learn to play an instrument, sing or participate in the Jazz band.
- Rockquest/Tangata Beats
You can compete at the top level against other schools in Rockquest/Tangata Beats or NZ Chamber Group Contest.
- NZ Chamber Group Contest
You can compete at the top level against other schools in Rockquest/Tangata Beats or NZ Chamber Group Contest.
- athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 220
- Māori
- 299
- Pacific
- 186
- Asian
- 46
- MELAA
- 10
- Other
- 5
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 66 | 37 | 9 | 2 | 0 | 51 | 0 | 106 |
| Year 10 | 79 | 58 | 8 | 1 | 1 | 53 | 0 | 132 |
| Year 11 | 60 | 27 | 9 | 2 | 1 | 44 | 0 | 102 |
| Year 12 | 63 | 39 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 96 |
| Year 13+ | 38 | 15 | 10 | 0 | 1 | 22 | 0 | 64 |
| Total | 306 | 176 | 39 | 5 | 3 | 205 | 0 | 500 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 61 | 33 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 44 | 0 | 92 |
| Age 14 | 79 | 54 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 54 | 0 | 132 |
| Age 15 | 60 | 32 | 7 | 1 | 2 | 46 | 0 | 102 |
| Age 16 | 58 | 37 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 92 |
| Age 17 | 44 | 15 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 306 | 176 | 39 | 5 | 3 | 205 | 0 | 500 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
74.7%
| Mana College | 74.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.2% |
| Māori | 73% |
| Pacific | 63% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.1% |
| Total | 74.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
66.3%
| Mana College | 66.3% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 71.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 63.2% |
| Māori | 63.5% |
| Pacific | 59.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 60.5% |
| Total | 66.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
43.2%
| Mana College | 43.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 44.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 42.1% |
| Māori | 41.3% |
| Pacific | 29.6% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 42.1% |
| Total | 43.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.6%
| Mana College | 12.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 5.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 17.5% |
| Māori | 12.7% |
| Pacific | 7.4% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 15.8% |
| Total | 12.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
76.8%
| Mana College | 76.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 78.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75.4% |
| Māori | 74.6% |
| Pacific | 74.1% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 73.7% |
| Total | 76.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
32.2%
| Mana College | 32.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 44.5% |
| Māori | 42.7% |
| Pacific | 23.4% |
| Asian | 18.6% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 34.6% |
| Total | 32.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4%
| Mana College | 4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7% |
| Māori | 6.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.4% |
| Total | 4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Mana College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 509
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 4 February 1957
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 10 April 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (10 April 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 10 April 2026 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
authorised employees, who are not teachers, and who have been trained to use physical restraint must be given a written copy of the authorisation. [Section 99, Education and Training Act, 2020; Rule 5, Education (Physical Restraint) Rules, 2024]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 29 August 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Mana College is a co-educational, secondary school located in Porirua City. It provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13, including in onsite Construction and Service Academies. There are just over 500 learners enrolled in the school. 57% of students identify as Māori . 42% identify as Pākehā / New Zealand European, and 34% as being of Pacific heritage. The school’s vision is Towards Flourishing. Its values are Manaakitanga, A’O, Ngakau and Aspire. An entirely new leadership team has been appointed since Term 4, 2024.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
What we know about learner success
The judgments in this section are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 65% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Improvement is required to ensure students are attending regularly, engaged in learning, making sufficient progress and achieving well.
Less than half of learners achieve at expected curriculum levels in reading, writing and mathematics by the end of Year 10.
A majority of learners achieve National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Levels 1, 2, and 3. Few learners achieve University Entrance.
The school has yet to achieve equity of achievement for boys in reading, writing and NCEA. There is slight disparity of achievement for Māori and Pacific learners in NCEA Levels 2 and 3.
Fewer than half of students attend school regularly (more than 90% of the time).
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leaders have identified key priorities for improvement and are taking strategic steps to improve outcomes for learners.
The new leadership team are clear in their strategic vision for the school and are implementing a research and evidence-based plan, Ngā Kawa o te Kāreti o Mana , that builds on effective and inclusive learning relationships to improve student outcomes.
Leaders are beginning to establish shared expectations for coherent and consistent teaching practices with a focus on improving outcomes for students, particularly in reading, writing and mathematics in Years 9 and 10.
Leaders, teachers and support staff identify and provide a range of well-considered pathways for learners towards further study or employment beyond school.
Leaders and teachers are taking steps to provide responsive learning programmes and consistent, high-quality teaching practices.
Teachers know their learners well and increasingly use a range of effective practices that respond to learners’ languages, cultures and identities, and engage them with purposeful and relevant learning.
Te reo Māori, tikanga Māori and te ao Māori are well integrated in learning, pastoral care and school systems.
The school is working towards a common agreement for assessment practices to improve teachers’ insights into learners’ progress and needs to inform planning and improve outcomes.
Systems, structures and supports to improve engagement, progress and achievement are strengthening.
Learners express strong pride in their school and say that their cultures, identities and languages are celebrated and affirmed.
Relationships between staff and learners are founded on respect and mutual trust that allow students to ask for help and support.
Trusting and sustained partnerships with local iwi, Ngāti Toa Rangatira , support learning pathways and actively give meaningful effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi .
Leaders and teachers are building a shared understanding of the role of evaluation for improvement.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school.
Key priorities
Embedding coherent and consistent teaching, learning and assessment practices.
Improve reading, writing and mathematics achievement, particularly for students Years 9 and 10.
Implementing Ngā Kawa o te Kāreti o Mana strategies to improve attendance, achievement, engagement, wellbeing and success for Māori and all learners.
Using evidence to plan, apply, and evaluate actions that improve students' attendance, engagement, and achievement.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and teachers will gather baseline wellbeing data from learners, whānau and community to inform planning for improvement
leaders and teachers develop a plan to improve regular attendance and share with the community
Within six months:
leaders provide professional learning for teachers so that Ngā Kawa o te Kāreti o Mana is understood and being incorporated consistently in teaching and learning practices across the school
Every six months:
leaders and teachers respond to reading, writing and mathematics progress and achievement data for Year 9 and 10 learners to plan for improving outcomes
leaders will monitor how consistently the Ngā Kawa o te Kāreti o Mana strategies have been implemented by teachers and provide support as required
leaders and teachers will evaluate the effectiveness of planned strategies on improving regular attendance and use this to review attendance strategies and plan next steps
Annually:
leaders and teachers evaluate how well teaching, learning and assessment practices have raised engagement and improved reading, writing and mathematics for Year 9 and 10 learners to enable planning for the following year
the School Board and leaders evaluate the impact of the implementation of Ngā Kawa o te Kāreti o Mana strategies on the achievement, engagement, wellbeing and success of Māori and all learners to refine annual planning
the School Board and leaders evaluate, and report to and community on, the impact of strategies to increase regular attendance.
Expected outcomes
Learner achievement and equity in reading, writing and mathematics progress will improve.
Increased achievement, engagement, wellbeing and success for all learners, including Māori learners.
Evaluation will be embedded to enable analysis of the impact of actions and strategies, and drive improve planning.
Students’ levels of regular attendance will improve.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within 4 years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools (Acting)
29 August 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 2 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).