Maitai School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 58
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 93 Tasman Street, Nelson
- Territorial authority
- Nelson City
- Phone
- 03-5480281
- office@maitai.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.maitai.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Nelson
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 40
- Māori
- 14
- Pacific
- 5
- Asian
- 7
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 03 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 09 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 11 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Year 13+ | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Total | 15 | 6 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 56 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 06 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 15 | 6 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 56 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Maitai School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 86.4% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Maitai School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.9% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Maitai School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 55.5% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
Too few to report
| Maitai School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 16.7% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
Too few to report
| Maitai School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 80.1% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
116.3%
| Maitai School | 116.3% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 49.5% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 217.2% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 972.9% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 28.8% |
| Total | 116.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Maitai School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 4.9% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Maitai School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Nelson Region | 2.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 484
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 11 September 1955
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 27 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (27 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 27 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 27 March 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Also provides
- Satellite classes at Henley and Tahunanui schools and Nayland College
This school has satellite classes at Henley and Tahunanui schools and Nayland College
- Satellite classes at Henley and Tahunanui schools and Nayland College
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 58 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
42
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 22 November 2019
December 2014
32
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 March 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 27 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Maitai School working in Te Ara Huarau, an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Maitai School is a day specialist school in Nelson that caters for students eligible for Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS) between the ages of five and twenty-one years who have a range of special needs. The school operates from a base school and has satellites operating from four local host schools. A transition centre operates for students aged 18 years and over.
The school provides a specialist therapy team to support a transdisciplinary approach towards students’ wellbeing and access to learning.
A specialist teacher outreach service team provides learning programmes for ORS funded students enrolled in schools across the Nelson, Tasman, Golden Bay, Marlborough and West Coast regions.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
The school’s vision is ‘ Our Waka , Your Journey’. This is enacted through the WAKA values of Waiora, Aroha, Kotahitanga, Ako and underpins all aspects of school culture and operation.
Maitai School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
raise the achievement of all students by providing robust and rich evidenced-based teaching and learning experiences
enact an engaging curriculum, develop collaborative and culturally inclusive pedagogies that meet the needs of all students at Maitai School
increase student participation and learning, by further developing positive reciprocal partnerships with staff, community, therapists, whānau, iwi and ākonga
continue to strengthen the strategic direction and grow leadership across all levels of the school.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Maitai School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of school leadership in developing consistent schoolwide localised curriculum and quality practices that support wellbeing, engagement and success for all students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is that leaders have identified through internal evaluation the need to:
extend and enhance consistent practice after a period of innovation
increase opportunities to gather and use student voice to inform teaching and learning
strengthen whānau engagement and partnerships for learning
grow collective distributed leadership and agency connected to school vision and values.
The school expects to see consistently high-quality practices to ensure smooth pathways of learning as students transition through their time at school.
Students will:
experience a culturally responsive curriculum
be competent communicators who have tailored communication systems.
Whānau will:
see their voice and contribution as an integral part of their child’s learning
inform school improvement priorities.
Leaders will:
review, support and implement systems to sustain the positive impact of this evaluation focus for students.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the impact of leaders developing consistent, high quality schoolwide practices to support wellbeing, success, and engagement.
Students are well supported to achieve their individual learning goals and experience a sense of belonging through warm, respectful and caring relationships.
Effective, collaborative and coordinated planning for learning and wellbeing which builds on transdisciplinary knowledge and whānau voice.
Quality systems and practices evident across many areas of the school effectively identify and respond to the holistic and complex needs of individual learners.
Responsive and reflective leadership provide well-established systems to support learning programmes and build teacher capabilities.
Distributed leadership with clearly defined roles and responsibilities for middle leaders.
Students and whānau actively involved in and influencing decision making for transitions in, across and out of school.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
investigating and reviewing the effectiveness and consistency of current leadership practices to inform strategic priorities and future decision making
leaders using evidence informed approaches to refine school plans, systems, and processes to support wellbeing, success, and engagement for all.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
27 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has satellite classes at Henley and Tahunanui schools and Nayland College.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).