Longburn Adventist College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 220
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 100 Walkers Road, Longburn, Palmerston North
- Territorial authority
- Palmerston North City
- Phone
- 06-3541059
- reception@lac.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.lac.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Palmerston North · schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- School day ends
- 15:15
15:15 | - | End of School
- 15:15
- Uniform
- Required
Uniform Requirements Boys’ Uniform - White short or long sleeve shirt with the college emblem
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://lac.nzuniforms.com
All uniform items, except the school tie are available to purchase from NZ Uniforms: - Address: 589B Tremain Avenue, Palmerston North, Palmerston North 4410 - Phone: 06 241 8017 - Email: palmerstonnorth@nzuniforms.com - Shop: [lac.nzuniforms](https://lac.nzuniforms.com)
- https://lac.nzuniforms.com
- Getting there
- Five local buses service the college — two within the Palmerston North area and three country routes covering Ashhurst, Shannon and the Bainesse area; LAC Bus K picks students up at the 166 Milson Line stop at 8:14am and drops them off at 3:42pm
Longburn Adventist College is serviced by five local buses, with two operating within the Palmerston North area and three covering country routes, including Ashhurst, Shannon and Bainesse area.
- Five local buses service the college — two within the Palmerston North area and three country routes covering Ashhurst, Shannon and the Bainesse area; LAC Bus K picks students up at the 166 Milson Line stop at 8:14am and drops them off at 3:42pm
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students are fully integrated into our vibrant school community, participating alongside New Zealand peers in a wide range of sports, cultural events, and creative arts.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- LAC Choir
- After School Sports Programme
- Pasifika fusion
- Praise team
- Service trip
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 114
- Māori
- 40
- Pacific
- 56
- Asian
- 43
- MELAA
- 9
- Other
- 0
- International
- 16
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 23 |
| Year 09 | 5 | 5 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 21 | 1 | 34 |
| Year 10 | 10 | 9 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 2 | 32 |
| Year 11 | 6 | 12 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 27 | 1 | 41 |
| Year 12 | 7 | 8 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 25 | 3 | 43 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 8 | 9 | 1 | 1 | 10 | 6 | 31 |
| Total | 38 | 52 | 34 | 10 | 1 | 123 | 14 | 222 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 1 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 12 | 8 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 5 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 1 | 28 |
| Age 14 | 10 | 9 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 14 | 2 | 34 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 12 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 28 | 1 | 45 |
| Age 16 | 7 | 7 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 26 | 1 | 39 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 9 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 13 | 3 | 29 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 10 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Total | 38 | 52 | 34 | 10 | 1 | 123 | 14 | 222 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
88.2%
| Longburn Adventist College | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.8% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 81.3% |
| Total | 88.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
79.4%
| Longburn Adventist College | 79.4% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 88.9% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 68.8% |
| Total | 79.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
47.1%
| Longburn Adventist College | 47.1% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 61.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 31.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 44.4% |
| Asian | 55.6% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 43.8% |
| Total | 47.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
2.9%
| Longburn Adventist College | 2.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 6.3% |
| Total | 2.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
85.3%
| Longburn Adventist College | 85.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.8% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 75% |
| Total | 85.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| MELAA | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
87.5%
| Longburn Adventist College | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 51.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 126.2% |
| Māori | 137.8% |
| Pacific | 154.4% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 146.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 106.7% |
| Total | 87.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.9%
| Longburn Adventist College | 6.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 14.2% |
| Māori | 26.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 11% |
| Total | 6.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.2%
| Longburn Adventist College | 5.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 10.9% |
| Māori | 14.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.1% |
| Total | 5.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 474
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural other
- Date opened
- 25 January 1908
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 7 May 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (7 May 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 7 May 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that all teachers and authorised staff members have completed the online module on the content of the physical restraint guidelines [s 101 Education and Training Act 2020] .
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 220 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
195
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 October 2019
July 2016
272
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 5 October 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 7 May 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within seven months of the Education Review Office and Longburn Adventist College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Longburn Adventist College is a state integrated year 7 to 13 school of Adventist special character. The school is located in the mana whenua of Rangitane , in rural Palmerston North. The school is coeducational and has a seven-day boarding facility. The acting principal was appointed permanently to the role in Term 2, 2023.
Longburn Adventist College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
Curriculum: ākonga are provided with a local, engaging curriculum that is responsive to the school’s culture, is continually improved and enhances learning.
Engaging our ākonga: ākonga experience a positive, quality, inclusive education that meets their individual needs and provides support and challenge for all so that all ākonga have a strong sense of belonging and connection to the school.
Te Tiriti o Waitangi : ensure that Te Reo Māori and te ao Māori is meaningfully embedded in the culture and tikanga of the school.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Longburn Adventist College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent to which ākonga experience a n engaging localised curriculum that is responsive to the school’s culture , is inclusive to learner’s strengths and needs and meaningfully embeds te ao Māori .
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to further develop and refine the school’s localised curriculum to better engage all ākonga whilst celebrating the special character and cultures of the school. This goal is reflected in the school’s new strategic plan.
The school expects to see:
a localised curriculum that engages all ākonga by drawing on the special character of the school, the rich history of the local community and meaningfully embeds the school’s goals related to Te Tiriti o Waitangi
all ākonga engaged in learning, by making progress in a range of valued outcomes and who can express a deeper sense of belonging and connection to the school
kaiako who have built a collective capacity to identify and respond to a wide range of ākonga strengths and needs
strengthened partnerships for learning between ākonga, whānau, the kura and the community.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support them to evaluate the extent to which ākonga experience a n engaging localised curriculum that is responsive to the school’s culture , is inclusive to learner’s strengths and needs and meaningfully embeds te ao Māori :
a values-based and relational learning environment that is enriched by its Adventist special character
ākonga who are well known by kaiako and kaiako who are well known in their community
kaiako and leaders who are committed to the school’s vision and willing to further build their collective capacity to respond to ākonga strengths and needs
a diverse range of languages and cultures that are recognised and celebrated to support belonging and connection.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
further developing and refining the school’s localised curriculum
refining systems and processes to track, monitor and respond to ākonga strengths and needs
further building kaiako capacity to identify and respond to ākonga strengths and needs in a consistent way
further exploring and embedding the school’s Te Tiriti o Waitangi goals
strengthening partnerships for learning between ākonga, whānau , the kura and community.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
S helley Booysen Director of Schools
7 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).