Lincoln High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,430
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 25 Boundary Road, Lincoln
- Territorial authority
- Selwyn District
- Phone
- 03-3252121
- office@lincoln.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.lincoln.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
We have one uniform to cover the changing seasons during the year. Various options are available to create layers during the colder months. Blazers and ties are expected to be worn during formal occasions such as assemblies.
- Required
- Getting there
- Metro Bus Ltd runs a user-pays public school service to and from Lincoln High School each day: Riccarton 691, Hornby 692, Springs Road 693
Metro Bus Services Metro Bus Ltd run a public school service (user pays) to and from Lincoln High School each day. These buses are for Lincoln High School students only. These services are: - Riccarton 691 - Hornby 692 - Springs Road 693
- Metro Bus Ltd runs a user-pays public school service to and from Lincoln High School each day: Riccarton 691, Hornby 692, Springs Road 693
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- At Lincoln High School, we are committed to honouring the partnership of Te Tiriti o Waitangi and to embedding kaupapa Māori within the life of our kura. We value te reo Māori, tikanga Māori, and mātauranga Māori as important parts of our school culture and learning programmes.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International Student Fee Schedule - 2026 Tuition Options - NZ $16,995 per year
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,189
- Māori
- 167
- Pacific
- 29
- Asian
- 214
- MELAA
- 41
- Other
- 34
- International
- 38
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 36 | 3 | 46 | 8 | 4 | 250 | 3 | 300 |
| Year 10 | 40 | 7 | 36 | 4 | 9 | 285 | 2 | 321 |
| Year 11 | 31 | 8 | 22 | 6 | 4 | 248 | 9 | 284 |
| Year 12 | 31 | 5 | 31 | 5 | 10 | 233 | 8 | 278 |
| Year 13+ | 25 | 10 | 16 | 2 | 3 | 221 | 6 | 244 |
| Total | 163 | 33 | 151 | 25 | 30 | 1237 | 28 | 1427 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 26 | 2 | 38 | 6 | 4 | 186 | 1 | 224 |
| Age 14 | 43 | 7 | 41 | 4 | 8 | 299 | 1 | 341 |
| Age 15 | 31 | 6 | 20 | 6 | 2 | 242 | 6 | 271 |
| Age 16 | 34 | 8 | 33 | 5 | 13 | 252 | 9 | 299 |
| Age 17 | 21 | 7 | 18 | 3 | 1 | 208 | 4 | 232 |
| Age 18 | 8 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 50 | 7 | 60 |
| Total | 163 | 33 | 151 | 25 | 30 | 1237 | 28 | 1427 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
92.6%
| Lincoln High School | 92.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 91.6% |
| Māori | 91.7% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 88.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.1% |
| Total | 92.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
90.9%
| Lincoln High School | 90.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 90.1% |
| Māori | 88.9% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 88.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 90.4% |
| Total | 90.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
69.5%
| Lincoln High School | 69.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 61.8% |
| Māori | 61.1% |
| Pacific | 57.1% |
| Asian | 64.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 70.7% |
| Total | 69.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.1%
| Lincoln High School | 15.1% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.9% |
| Māori | 22.2% |
| Pacific | 14.3% |
| Asian | 35.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 14.3% |
| Total | 15.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
85.6%
| Lincoln High School | 85.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 80.9% |
| Māori | 83.3% |
| Pacific | 78.6% |
| Asian | 88.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 85.4% |
| Total | 85.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Asian | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
35.1%
| Lincoln High School | 35.1% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 18.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 51.4% |
| Māori | 56.9% |
| Pacific | 36.8% |
| Asian | 24.4% |
| Other | 66.9% |
| European/Pākehā | 36.6% |
| Total | 35.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.4%
| Lincoln High School | 3.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.9% |
| Māori | 12.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 9.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.9% |
| Total | 3.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.4%
| Lincoln High School | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.7% |
| Māori | 3.8% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 10.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 1% |
| Total | 1.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 423
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 22 November 1903
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 7
- Last reviewed
- 17 February 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (17 February 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 17 February 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1430 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2017
1609
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 June 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 17 February 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Lincoln High School is a co-educational high school for learners in Years 9 to 13, located in Lincoln, a semi-rural environment near Christchurch. The school’s values are: Whakamana | Respectful; Whakapono | Reliable; Manaaki | Supportive; Manawaroa | Resilient.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B : The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most learners are engaged, make good progress and achieve very well.
Most learners in Years 9 to 11 achieve at or above the expected curriculum level.
Almost all learners achieve the National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) in Levels 2, with most learners achieving NCEA Level 3 and a large majority achieving University Entrance; Year 11 learners are not assessed for NCEA Level 1.
Learners state that they feel safe at school and that the positive school culture and processes assist them to have high levels of wellbeing.
A small majority of learners attends school regularly so the school is not yet meeting the Government target for regular attendance; improving regular attendance is a priority for the school.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic leadership sustains a culture committed to high quality teaching and learning.
Leaders model strong relational practice and regularly refine systems and processes to best meet the needs of learners and staff and to inform strategic priorities.
Leaders at all levels are continually engaged in professional knowledge building with teachers to enhance teaching effectiveness and learning outcomes.
Leaders at all levels ensure the focus remains on the design and delivery of a well-coordinated curriculum and consistent teaching in all classes to support success for all learners.
Teaching and learning opportunities are well-considered and intentionally relevant, challenging and meaningful for learners.
The classroom learning culture is well-established and consistently characterised by respect, inclusion and collaboration between teachers and learners.
Learners benefit from a curriculum that provides a wide range of learning opportunities and caters for diverse learner needs, interests, and pathways in and beyond school.
Teachers have consistently strong relationships with their learners and are continuing to develop strategies to promote engagement and success in learning for the diversity of learners.
Conditions that underpin effective schooling are well-embedded and contribute positively to school improvement.
The board actively represents and serves the school in its stewardship role with sustainability of learner and staff wellbeing, and learner progress and achievement being key priorities.
Systematic, collaborative inquiry, and internal monitoring and evaluation practices are used to drive improvement strategies.
Leaders and teachers prioritise targeted and sustained professional development to ensure the focus remains on successful strategies for learner progress and achievement.
Learning and wellbeing support processes are strongly embedded in the school; regular self-review determines the effect of the strategies in these areas.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue to build a positive and aspirational culture through the ongoing implementation of planned strategies, including a learner graduate profile, that promote engagement, progress and achievement for the diversity of learners
review and refine the school’s teaching and learning framework to further support effective teaching across the diversity of the school and identify areas for further development
further develop the school’s processes for tracking and monitoring progress and achievement for all learners in Years 9 to 11.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
develop the learner graduate profile
continue to review and adapt the school’s teaching and learning framework, including culturally inclusive practices, to further support consistent teaching practices
further develop the school’s processes for tracking and monitoring progress for learners in Years 9 to 11
Every six months:
monitor Year 9 to 11 learning progress and responding to the data
respond to the trends and patterns of regular attendance for all learners and develop strategies and approaches to improve and sustain regular attendance
Annually:
evaluate the impact of the school’s actions towards its strategic priorities in learner wellbeing and engagement, attendance, progress and achievement to inform future planning
report to the board, community and iwi on the progress of the school’s implementation of its strategic priorities.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
effective, inclusive teaching practices that are consistently experienced by learners across the school
continuing high levels of wellbeing, engagement and achievement for all learners
improved levels of regular attendance.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
17 February 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 7 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).