Lawrence Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 127
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 18 Harrington Street, Lawrence
- Territorial authority
- Clutha District
- Phone
- 03-4859906
- office@las.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.las.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Otago
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- Bus runs and drivers: Clarks Flat/Waitahuna West – Bridget; Beaumont – Diane Robinson; Tuapeka West – Sally Brydie; Waitahuna – Ally Benington; School Bus Controller – Pauline Taylor
Bus Drivers and their Routes - Clarks Flat/Waitahuna West – Bridget [0273019817](tel:0273019817) - Beaumont – Diane Robinson [0274041166](tel:0274041166) - Tuapeka West – Sally Brydie [0278405413](tel:0278405413) - Waitahuna – Ally Benington [4859 622](tel:4859622) - School Bus Controller
- Bus runs and drivers: Clarks Flat/Waitahuna West – Bridget; Beaumont – Diane Robinson; Tuapeka West – Sally Brydie; Waitahuna – Ally Benington; School Bus Controller – Pauline Taylor
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 101
- Māori
- 38
- Pacific
- 1
- Asian
- 6
- MELAA
- 4
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 02 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 03 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 04 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 05 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 06 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 08 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 09 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 42 | 2 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 108 | 0 | 135 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 06 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 07 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 09 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 10 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 12 | 8 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 13 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 42 | 2 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 108 | 0 | 135 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
91.7%
| Lawrence Area School | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 91.7% |
| Total | 91.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
91.7%
| Lawrence Area School | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 91.7% |
| Total | 91.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
58.3%
| Lawrence Area School | 58.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 16.7% |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 58.3% |
| Total | 58.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.7%
| Lawrence Area School | 16.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 33.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 16.7% |
| Total | 16.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
75%
| Lawrence Area School | 75% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 50% |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 75% |
| Total | 75% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Lawrence Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Lawrence Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Lawrence Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 460
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 25 January 1861
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 11 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 11 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 127 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2019
142
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 3 December 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and Lawrence Area School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Lawrence Area School is situated in the town of Lawrence in South Otago. It provides education for students in Years 0 – 13. Its mission is to develop lifelong learners, who are motivated, confident and willing to contribute. At the time of this report the school had a limited statutory manager in place working with the school board and leadership in the areas of communications, employment, systems and processes.
Lawrence Area School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
to meet the academic, sporting, cultural and social needs of all learners by providing a wide variety of subjects and learning opportunities (both in and outside of the classroom) to encourage personal success
to provide a safe, respectful environment, where all learners feel valued, communication is effective and positive, and successes are celebrated
to promote diversity as a source of strength and a catalyst for innovation.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Lawrence Area School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively literacy programmes across the school support learners to achieve at expected levels in literacy with a particular focus on the achievement and progress of boys.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the school is working through the implications of changes to the National Certificate of Educational Achievement, including new requirements for literacy and numeracy
boys continue to achieve less well than girls in reading and writing assessments
the school has recently implemented new approaches to teaching literacy and wishes to know the impact on learning outcomes
school leaders are looking for ways to strengthen literacy teaching across all learning areas of the curriculum.
The school expects to see:
a coherent and highly effective literacy curriculum, that supports excellent and equitable reading and writing outcomes for students
subject specific teachers across all learning areas sharing joint responsibility for the reading and writing outcomes of students
boys achieving equitably with girls in literacy
secondary students having success with the literacy requirements for national qualifications.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal to enable all learners to achieve at expected levels in literacy:
students are well known to teachers, who collaborate effectively to share information and plan to meet student needs
a positive and supportive school culture that fosters a sense of belonging and community for students and their families
a flexible, localised curriculum that reflects and responds well to students’ interests, lives beyond school and aspirations
staff are engaged in targeted professional learning on teaching and assessing to enhance learning and achievement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
professional learning for all staff to continue to build confidence and collective capability for the effective teaching of literacy
developing new systems and guidelines to support and sustain consistent teaching practices that have been shown to make a positive difference for learners
well-planned implementation of changes to NCEA that supports student success in literacy and numeracy requirements.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
11 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).