Lake Taupo Christian School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 138
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 42 Kiddle Drive, Taupo
- Territorial authority
- Taupo District
- Phone
- 07-3782383
- office@ltcs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.ltcs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Uniforms should be clean and in good repair, and students are expected to be in uniform while on school property unless specified otherwise.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Voluntary donation
- Special Character Donation: $100 per student for the year, 2026
we are introducing a Special Character Donation from February 2026. Please note that income from attendance dues or funding from the Ministry of Education cannot be used for special character. - Amount: $100 per student for the year
- Special Character Donation: $100 per student for the year, 2026
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 71
- Māori
- 18
- Pacific
- 14
- Asian
- 23
- MELAA
- 32
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 1 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 06 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 07 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 08 | 2 | 2 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 13 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 21 | 11 | 22 | 25 | 1 | 68 | 0 | 129 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 06 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 07 | 4 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 08 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 10 | 2 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 15 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 21 | 11 | 22 | 25 | 1 | 68 | 0 | 129 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Lake Taupo Christian School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Lake Taupo Christian School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
Too few to report
| Lake Taupo Christian School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
Too few to report
| Lake Taupo Christian School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
Too few to report
| Lake Taupo Christian School | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | Too few to report |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.3%
| Lake Taupo Christian School | 9.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 18.4% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 15.6% |
| Total | 9.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Lake Taupo Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Lake Taupo Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 464
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 23 May 1993
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 15 July 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (15 July 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 15 July 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
reporting based on good quality assessment information to the school community on the progress and achievement of students as a whole and on the progress of students who are not achieving or are at risk of not achieving, including the progress of Māori students against plans and targets. [Regulation 21 of the Education Amendment Regulations 2022: Duty to report on progress and achievement of students].
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 15 July 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 17 months of the Education Review Office and Lake Taupo Christian School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Lake Taupo Christian School is a state integrated; inter-denominational school located in Taupō . It provides education for learners from Years 1 to 13. An acting principal was appointed in Term 1 2024.
In 2023 the Ministry of Education appointed a Limited Statutory Manager (LSM) to support the School Board and leaders.
Lake Taupo Christian School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
barrier free access to education and learners at the centre
to develop effective teaching and learning to meet the needs of all learners
to embed the graduate profile for a shared understanding of competencies and values to fully prepare learners for success beyond school.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Lake Taupo Christian School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the learning progress, achievement and wellbeing of all students as the school transitions to the New Zealand Curriculum .
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to ensure curriculum design creates a cohesive learning journey which is responsive to the needs of all
to ensure equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners
to ensure the wellbeing of learners continues to be a priority.
The school expects to see:
collaborative curriculum design and planning to support a comprehensive progression through the New Zealand Curriculum
culturally responsive practices which are recognised and deliberately incorporated
evidence based teaching, learning and assessment practices to meet the needs of each learner
pastoral care practices that support learner wellbeing and enhance school culture.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the goal to evaluate the learning progress, achievement and wellbeing of all students as the school transitions to the New Zealand Curriculum .
a strong and supportive school team, underpinned by shared core values and faith, who bring a wide range of strengths and experiences
a willingness to engage and learn from the wider educational community, including the Kāhui Ako
leadership that has developed a positive culture where effective collaboration between teachers and whānau is guiding the improvement journey.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
completing the curriculum change process and embedding this across the school
implementing the planned assessment and reporting processes
ensuring wellbeing is reviewed in an ongoing way and pastoral care practices are enhanced where needed.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
15 July 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).