Kings High School (Dunedin)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 880
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 270 Bay View Road, Dunedin
- Territorial authority
- Dunedin City
- Phone
- 03-4557547
- rectors-ea@kingshigh.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Dunedin · schools in Otago
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Junior - Navy Shorts - Plain Black Belt - King's Socks - King's Polo Shirt
- Required
- Getting there
- HILL SUBURBS (Ritchies Bus) Cost $35/10 trips - Tickets purchased at the school office Pupils can purchase a pass from the school office to use our own bus service, which operates through Brockville, Halfway Bush, Wakari, Kaikorai Valley, Roslyn, Balmacewen, Kenmure and Mornington.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
My name is Paul Ritter, I’m from Bad Bramstedt, near Hamburg in Germany and an international student at King’s High School.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Basketball
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Cricket
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Football
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Hockey
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Rugby
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Touch
The six sports currently identified as performance sports at King’s are: Basketball, Cricket, Football, Hockey, Rugby, and Touch.
- Cross Country
Mr Jeremy White is the TIC for Cross Country.
- Basketball
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 638
- Māori
- 170
- Pacific
- 80
- Asian
- 110
- MELAA
- 38
- Other
- 6
- International
- 11
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 38 | 23 | 15 | 3 | 1 | 136 | 0 | 185 |
| Year 10 | 39 | 21 | 16 | 10 | 0 | 129 | 0 | 176 |
| Year 11 | 42 | 17 | 21 | 8 | 0 | 132 | 8 | 186 |
| Year 12 | 35 | 12 | 25 | 6 | 1 | 118 | 7 | 181 |
| Year 13+ | 25 | 17 | 10 | 6 | 0 | 89 | 3 | 131 |
| Total | 179 | 90 | 87 | 33 | 2 | 604 | 18 | 859 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 28 | 19 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 108 | 0 | 147 |
| Age 14 | 43 | 21 | 14 | 6 | 1 | 133 | 0 | 178 |
| Age 15 | 37 | 15 | 21 | 10 | 0 | 128 | 4 | 174 |
| Age 16 | 38 | 16 | 22 | 6 | 0 | 120 | 8 | 185 |
| Age 17 | 28 | 13 | 13 | 5 | 1 | 84 | 3 | 129 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 6 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 31 | 2 | 44 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Total | 179 | 90 | 87 | 33 | 2 | 604 | 18 | 859 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
88.9%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.9% |
| Māori | 85.3% |
| Pacific | 94.7% |
| Asian | 90.9% |
| MELAA | 60% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 91.5% |
| Total | 88.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
83.3%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | 82.4% |
| Pacific | 89.5% |
| Asian | 90.9% |
| MELAA | 50% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86% |
| Total | 83.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
58.9%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 58.9% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 58.9% |
| Māori | 55.9% |
| Pacific | 73.7% |
| Asian | 81.8% |
| MELAA | 20% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 58.9% |
| Total | 58.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
18.3%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 18.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 18.3% |
| Māori | 23.5% |
| Pacific | 15.8% |
| Asian | 9.1% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 18.6% |
| Total | 18.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
81.7%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 81.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.7% |
| Māori | 82.4% |
| Pacific | 89.5% |
| Asian | 90.9% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 80.6% |
| Total | 81.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
45.1%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 45.1% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 53.5% |
| Pacific | 43.3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 79.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 46.5% |
| Total | 45.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.6%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 0.6% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0.6% |
| Māori | 2.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.8% |
| Total | 0.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Kings High School (Dunedin) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 453
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 2 February 1936
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 11 August 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 August 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 11 August 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 880 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2018
1022
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 October 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 August 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Kings High School (Dunedin) working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Kings High School (Dunedin) is a state secondary school for boys in Years 9 to 13 located in Dunedin. The school’s vision is ‘Building Men for Life’ through the pursuit of personal excellence in academic, sporting and cultural endeavours and character development. The school’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to foster:
personal academic excellence
wellbeing | hauora
inclusivity and belonging
co-curricular (arts, culture and sport) opportunities.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Kings High School (Dunedin)’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well leadership and effective curriculum planning and implementation support the success of all students in national qualifications.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is the need to:
respond to changes to the New Zealand Curriculum and NCEA
continue to respond to the needs and aspirations of students.
The school expects to see:
senior students continue to achieve personal excellence in national qualifications (NCEA and NZQA Scholarship)
junior students achieve success in National Certificate in Educational Achievement corequisites in literacy and numeracy
all students develop the skills and attitudes to be successful lifelong learners of good character with a sense of pride in their individual identities.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to implement responsive curriculum that supports the success of all students:
a positive learning culture built on high expectations and respectful relationships which supports students’ active engagement in learning
effective structures and systems that support collaborative curriculum planning and consistent teaching practice
proactive and personalised academic and pastoral mentoring structures and practices that nurture students’ wellbeing and learning
a broad and balanced curriculum that enacts the vision of the school to build ‘good men’
established internal evaluation practices that inform and support school improvement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise ensuring that:
curriculum review and implementation is well-managed and successful
professional learning supports and builds teachers’ capability to enact the new curriculum – including further incorporation of mātauranga Māori and culturally responsive teaching practice
the school community is well informed and supported to understand curriculum changes and new expectations for assessment and learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
11 August 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).