Kerikeri High School
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 1,641
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 48 Hone Heke Road, Kerikeri
- Territorial authority
- Far North District
- Phone
- 09-4078916
- enquiries@kerikerihigh.ac.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Northland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Kerikeri High School is a school where school uniform is expected to be worn neatly and completely at school, travelling to and from school, and at school functions. New students must be in full school uniform before they can start at Kerikeri High school.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://theuniformshoppe.co.nz/location/kerikeri/kerikeri-high-school/
Online ordering is available at [www.theuniformshoppe.co.nz](https://theuniformshoppe.co.nz/location/kerikeri/kerikeri-high-school/)
- https://theuniformshoppe.co.nz/location/kerikeri/kerikeri-high-school/
- Getting there
- The main school bus service in the Kerikeri schools' area is provided by the Ministry of Education (MOE), to assist eligible students to travel from their home to school. For some years, funding provided has been managed by the Kerikeri Schools' Transport Network (KSTN), who contract Clarks Coachlines to provide the service.
- How to enrol
- https://kkhs.factsmgt.com.au/Pages/IntQuestResponse.aspx?arg=sqw1lC4MpB99XMqFNvKEX7xQRZEMKxe%2BUd3G5z8b6gEjdHrrnHxTBQ%3D%3D
Online Enrolment Form - [Enrol Now](https://kkhs.factsmgt.com.au/Pages/IntQuestResponse.aspx?arg=sqw1lC4MpB99XMqFNvKEX7xQRZEMKxe%2BUd3G5z8b6gEjdHrrnHxTBQ%3D%3D)
- https://kkhs.factsmgt.com.au/Pages/IntQuestResponse.aspx?arg=sqw1lC4MpB99XMqFNvKEX7xQRZEMKxe%2BUd3G5z8b6gEjdHrrnHxTBQ%3D%3D
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We currently have 86 International Students from over 15 different countries around the world.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Interact SAVE Club of Kerikeri High School
Many of the Kerikeri High School students who belong to the SAVE Groups attended the special ceremony marking the launch of the Interact SAVE Club of Kerikeri High School.
- Kerikeri High School League Team
Congratulations to the Kerikeri High School League Team that played in the Finals of the Midweek Schools' Adam Blair Rugby League competition in Whangārei.
- Senior Turbo Touch
Congratulations to the Kerikeri High School students who competed in the Senior Turbo Touch Championship event.
- Interact SAVE Club of Kerikeri High School
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,182
- Māori
- 516
- Pacific
- 74
- Asian
- 94
- MELAA
- 29
- Other
- 13
- International
- 86
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 62 | 7 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 143 | 0 | 205 |
| Year 08 | 89 | 7 | 8 | 3 | 2 | 145 | 0 | 224 |
| Year 09 | 89 | 16 | 15 | 1 | 2 | 155 | 0 | 251 |
| Year 10 | 101 | 8 | 17 | 2 | 2 | 184 | 1 | 279 |
| Year 11 | 93 | 9 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 161 | 19 | 257 |
| Year 12 | 74 | 10 | 8 | 1 | 4 | 173 | 20 | 241 |
| Year 13+ | 40 | 8 | 11 | 2 | 1 | 119 | 31 | 185 |
| Total | 548 | 65 | 71 | 12 | 16 | 1080 | 71 | 1642 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 56 | 5 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 118 | 0 | 173 |
| Age 12 | 76 | 11 | 7 | 2 | 2 | 143 | 0 | 216 |
| Age 13 | 94 | 11 | 16 | 2 | 2 | 156 | 0 | 252 |
| Age 14 | 100 | 10 | 14 | 2 | 2 | 174 | 0 | 268 |
| Age 15 | 95 | 10 | 7 | 2 | 4 | 183 | 10 | 270 |
| Age 16 | 79 | 8 | 9 | 1 | 3 | 165 | 28 | 247 |
| Age 17 | 44 | 7 | 8 | 1 | 2 | 119 | 25 | 179 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 21 | 7 | 33 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Total | 548 | 65 | 71 | 12 | 16 | 1080 | 71 | 1642 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
83.7%
| Kerikeri High School | 83.7% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 82.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.2% |
| Māori | 70.9% |
| Pacific | 50% |
| Asian | 90% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.3% |
| Total | 83.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
76.5%
| Kerikeri High School | 76.5% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.9% |
| Māori | 62% |
| Pacific | 50% |
| Asian | 70% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 82.8% |
| Total | 76.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
56.1%
| Kerikeri High School | 56.1% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 48.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 64% |
|---|---|
| Male | 48.2% |
| Māori | 41.8% |
| Pacific | 50% |
| Asian | 40% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 62.6% |
| Total | 56.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
26.7%
| Kerikeri High School | 26.7% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 16.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 34.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 19.1% |
| Māori | 27.8% |
| Pacific | 25% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 27.6% |
| Total | 26.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
75.6%
| Kerikeri High School | 75.6% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.9% |
| Māori | 63.3% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | 70% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 79.8% |
| Total | 75.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
25.2%
| Kerikeri High School | 25.2% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 52% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 33.4% |
| Māori | 50.6% |
| Pacific | 41% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 22.7% |
| European/Pākehā | 13.7% |
| Total | 25.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
8.5%
| Kerikeri High School | 8.5% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 6.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.8% |
| Māori | 17.4% |
| Pacific | 9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 5% |
| Total | 8.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.3%
| Kerikeri High School | 3.3% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 2.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 4.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.4% |
| Māori | 7.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.8% |
| Total | 3.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 463
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1974
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 14 February 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (14 February 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 14 February 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1641 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
1569
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 11 December 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 14 February 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 9 months of the Education Review Office and Kerikeri High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Kerikeri High School is in Kerikeri , Northland and caters for students from Years 7 to 13. The school’s vision is to empower students to achieve success across the four cornerstones of a balanced education – academic, sporting, cultural and leadership with service. This is underpinned by the school values, expressed as WAKA : We are learners, Act with respect, Keep ourselves safe and Always proud.
Kerikeri High School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
promote wellbeing and success for every student as lifelong learners in a rapidly changing world
knowing what success looks like for every single student
Māori experiencing and enjoying success as Māori
digital citizenship
future focused and optimistic about where to from here in an uncertain world.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Kerikeri High School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively data is used to inform curriculum planning and design to create equitable and excellent outcomes for all.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
track achievement information and embed the use of data in an informed, coherent way to accelerate learning outcomes for students
support teachers and departments of learning as they develop their understanding and effective use of the achievement data.
The school expects to see improved awareness and use of data leading to improved student learning outcomes for all.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to evaluate how effectively data is used to inform curriculum planning and design to create equitable and excellent outcomes for all:
effective use of academic tracking data in the senior school
a strong and willing collaborative approach to professional learning
ongoing work of Te Kotahitanga facilitators in the school, working closely with leaders of learning and departments to reflect on professional practice
a focus on developing positive student-centred learning relationships with ākonga , whānau and the community
a strong track record of sustained professional learning to focus improving outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
professional learning for teachers and departments to be able to successfully access, understand and use data to inform their practice
implementing evidence-based strategies from students’ identified learning needs to inform the planning and design of teaching and learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
14 February 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).