Kelston Boys' High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 823
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Archibald Road, New Lynn, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Whau Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-8186185
- data.manager@kbhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.kbhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Standard Uniform: School shorts or school trousers - Permitted at all year levels Cultural attire - To be worn with regulation sandals – black sandals with a back strap Year 9 to 12 - Blue school shirt Year 13 - Plain long-sleeve white dress shirt
- Required
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 173
- Māori
- 205
- Pacific
- 595
- Asian
- 123
- MELAA
- 15
- Other
- 9
- International
- 5
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 63 | 147 | 19 | 6 | 2 | 44 | 0 | 199 |
| Year 10 | 43 | 133 | 27 | 4 | 2 | 29 | 0 | 173 |
| Year 11 | 49 | 129 | 18 | 4 | 1 | 34 | 1 | 176 |
| Year 12 | 28 | 96 | 29 | 2 | 1 | 40 | 2 | 143 |
| Year 13+ | 17 | 88 | 21 | 2 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 110 |
| Total | 200 | 593 | 114 | 18 | 7 | 161 | 3 | 801 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 52 | 114 | 16 | 4 | 2 | 38 | 0 | 162 |
| Age 14 | 48 | 142 | 22 | 6 | 2 | 30 | 0 | 175 |
| Age 15 | 45 | 129 | 18 | 3 | 1 | 32 | 0 | 170 |
| Age 16 | 31 | 99 | 21 | 2 | 1 | 43 | 1 | 141 |
| Age 17 | 21 | 85 | 22 | 3 | 1 | 16 | 2 | 117 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 22 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 33 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 200 | 593 | 114 | 18 | 7 | 161 | 3 | 801 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
79.6%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 79.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 79.6% |
| Māori | 64.7% |
| Pacific | 83.6% |
| Asian | 87.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 70.8% |
| Total | 79.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
73.2%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 73.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.2% |
| Māori | 52.9% |
| Pacific | 76.2% |
| Asian | 79.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 62.5% |
| Total | 73.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
57.3%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 57.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.3% |
| Māori | 35.3% |
| Pacific | 59.8% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 50% |
| Total | 57.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
6.4%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 6.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.4% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 5.7% |
| Asian | 8.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 12.5% |
| Total | 6.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
81.5%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 81.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.5% |
| Māori | 64.7% |
| Pacific | 83.6% |
| Asian | 95.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 66.7% |
| Total | 81.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Asian | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
81.1%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 81.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.3% |
| Māori | 105.8% |
| Pacific | 84.1% |
| Asian | 40.8% |
| Other | 54.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 103.1% |
| Total | 81.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
11.7%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 11.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.7% |
| Māori | 2.8% |
| Pacific | 14.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.1% |
| Total | 11.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.5%
| Kelston Boys' High School | 7.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 8.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.5% |
| Total | 7.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 505
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1954
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 8 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (8 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 8 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 823 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2015
756
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 9 October 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 8 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and Kelston Boys’ High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Kelston Boys' High School is a state school in West Auckland. It provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13. The school provides bilingual pathways in te reo Māori , Samoan and Tongan languages.
Kelston Boys’ High School (KBHS) offers pathways in Health Science, Police and Service Academies. The school is a member of the Te Whānau Mātauranga o Kerehana Community of Learning.
Kelston Boys’ High School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
TAHI : Growing successful young people.
RUA : Ensure quality teaching and leadership.
TORU : Have strong community relationships that grow learning opportunities.
WHA : Provide a safe and inclusive environment.
RIMA : Be in a strong financial position to support growth.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Kelston Boys’ High School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well the design and implementation of the KBHS framework for effective teaching and learning helps to raise student achievement.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
raise student achievement across the school
promote the consistent use of effective teaching practice and expectations
ensure the use and analysis of student achievement information to inform decision making
enable the school to strengthen planning and implementation to improve outcomes.
The school expects to see:
the consistent use of the KBHS teaching and learning framework, across all curriculum areas
teachers engaging with student achievement information and using data more effectively to make informed decisions to raise achievement and accelerate progress
teachers promote high expectations for achievement
learners are support to better understand and take ownership of their progress, learning steps and pathways
learner progress and achievement outcomes become increasingly equitable and excellent
strengthened planning and implementation of strategic priorities to improve outcomes.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to evaluate how well the design and implementation of the KBHS framework for effective teaching and learning helps to raise student achievement:
an inclusive school community that celebrates and values individual learners and their language, culture and identity
learners experience a strong sense of belonging, brotherhood and connection to the school
staff culture of collaboration sustains relational trust and an ongoing commitment to continuous improvement
ongoing professional development for staff in cultural relationships for responsive practice.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
professional learning to ensure a shared understanding and consistent implementation of the KBHS teaching and learning framework
use of data to identify, monitor and inform further actions
evaluation of planned priorities on outcomes for learners in relation to achievement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
8 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).