Karamū High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 901
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Windsor Avenue, Parkvale-Napier/Hastings, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8787139
- admin@karamu.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.karamu.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Y9 - 12 Uniform Price List (as of January 2026) | Grey Shorts | $58 |
- Required
- How to enrol
- https://karamu.ibcdn.nz/media/2025_05_16_khsenrolment.pdf
Please click [here](https://karamu.ibcdn.nz/media/2025_05_16_khsenrolment.pdf) to download an application enrolment form.
- https://karamu.ibcdn.nz/media/2025_05_16_khsenrolment.pdf
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
- Athletics
- Badminton
- Badminton
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Canoe Polo
- Canoe Polo
- Chess
- Chess
- Cross Country
- Cross Country
- Cricket
- Cricket
- Cycling
- Cycling
- Equestrian
- Equestrian
- Football
- Football
- Futsal
- Futsal
- Golf
- Golf
- Gymnastics
- Gymnastics
- Hockey
- Hockey
- Ki O Rahi
- Ki O Rahi
- Netball
- Netball
- Orienteering
- Orienteering
- Rugby
- Rugby
- Softball
- Softball
- Swimming
- Swimming
- Squash
- Squash
- Tennis
- Tennis
- Touch
- Touch
- Triathlon
- Triathlon
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Water Polo
- Water Polo
- Weights
- Weights
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 566
- Māori
- 334
- Pacific
- 84
- Asian
- 124
- MELAA
- 27
- Other
- 3
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 91 | 22 | 28 | 1 | 1 | 161 | 0 | 236 |
| Year 10 | 86 | 14 | 21 | 1 | 0 | 150 | 0 | 207 |
| Year 11 | 66 | 14 | 23 | 4 | 1 | 140 | 0 | 206 |
| Year 12 | 59 | 13 | 23 | 0 | 0 | 97 | 0 | 145 |
| Year 13+ | 31 | 6 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 80 | 0 | 94 |
| Total | 333 | 69 | 103 | 8 | 3 | 628 | 0 | 888 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 63 | 16 | 16 | 1 | 1 | 116 | 0 | 164 |
| Age 14 | 94 | 15 | 27 | 1 | 0 | 164 | 0 | 232 |
| Age 15 | 78 | 16 | 19 | 3 | 1 | 137 | 0 | 203 |
| Age 16 | 51 | 13 | 26 | 1 | 0 | 105 | 0 | 158 |
| Age 17 | 41 | 8 | 11 | 2 | 1 | 94 | 0 | 113 |
| Age 18 | 6 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 17 |
| Total | 333 | 69 | 103 | 8 | 3 | 628 | 0 | 888 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
84.3%
| Karamū High School | 84.3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 85.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.8% |
| Māori | 76.6% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | 91.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.1% |
| Total | 84.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
71.2%
| Karamū High School | 71.2% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 73.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.2% |
| Māori | 56.3% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | 83.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 79% |
| Total | 71.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
43.8%
| Karamū High School | 43.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 52.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 29.3% |
| Māori | 28.1% |
| Pacific | 60% |
| Asian | 58.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 47.9% |
| Total | 43.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
27.5%
| Karamū High School | 27.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 32.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 19% |
| Māori | 21.9% |
| Pacific | 40% |
| Asian | 16.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 32.8% |
| Total | 27.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
71.9%
| Karamū High School | 71.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 65.5% |
| Māori | 64.1% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | 83.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 76.5% |
| Total | 71.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
55.9%
| Karamū High School | 55.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 49.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.5% |
| Māori | 88.7% |
| Pacific | 81.4% |
| Asian | 22.2% |
| Other | 170.6% |
| European/Pākehā | 47.4% |
| Total | 55.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
13.9%
| Karamū High School | 13.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 14.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 13.4% |
| Māori | 31.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 6.1% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.7% |
| Total | 13.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.8%
| Karamū High School | 6.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.5% |
| Māori | 15.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2% |
| Total | 6.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 484
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1962
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 30 January 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (30 January 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 30 January 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 901 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
April 2019
915
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 10 June 2019
October 2015
835
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 February 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 30 January 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 14 months of the Education Review Office and Karamu High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Karamu High school is located in Hastings and caters for learners in years 9 to 13. The school’s mission statement is to provide opportunities that inspire learners to grow as positive members of the community.
Karamu High School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
the well-being of everyone in the school community is important
learning and teaching programmes will build on our vision and values.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Karamu High School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent the school’s local curriculum is strengthening learners’ sense of belonging, culture, language and identity to improve equitable and excellent outcomes for priority learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
improving outcomes for Māori will improve outcomes for all
leadership identifies the need to continue to address equity and excellence for all learners
the need to further develop partnerships with whānau, hapū and iwi to promote improved attendance and engagement and progress in the curriculum.
The school expects to see:
improved engagement and attendance for Māori through a responsive curriculum
improved equity and excellence in learner outcomes for all.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal to evaluate the extent the local curriculum is strengthening learners’ sense of belonging, culture, language and identity to improve equitable and excellent outcomes for priority learners:
leadership collaboratively develops and pursues the school's vision, goals and targets for equity and excellence
leadership sets and pursues annual targets that relate to accelerating learning of students who are at risk of underachieving
alignment of strategic professional learning opportunities to further build the capacity and capability of teachers in developing a responsive local curriculum.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
continuing to strengthen connections with the community, whānau, hapū and iwi to build reciprocal relationships that support improved learner outcomes
progressing the development of the local curriculum to ensure it is responsive and inclusive.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Phil Cowie Director Review and Improvement Services (Central) Central Region | Te Tai Pūtahi Nui
30 January 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).