Kāpiti College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,389
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Margaret Road, Raumati Beach
- Territorial authority
- Kapiti Coast District
- Phone
- 04-9025121
- wendy.marsh@kc.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,152
- Māori
- 222
- Pacific
- 60
- Asian
- 131
- MELAA
- 49
- Other
- 9
- International
- 38
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 57 | 16 | 22 | 5 | 3 | 250 | 0 | 289 |
| Year 10 | 65 | 16 | 16 | 3 | 7 | 279 | 0 | 325 |
| Year 11 | 47 | 2 | 19 | 4 | 3 | 243 | 10 | 293 |
| Year 12 | 43 | 5 | 24 | 6 | 5 | 230 | 17 | 288 |
| Year 13+ | 46 | 6 | 13 | 8 | 7 | 214 | 13 | 266 |
| Total | 258 | 45 | 94 | 26 | 25 | 1216 | 40 | 1461 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 13 | 49 | 12 | 21 | 5 | 2 | 208 | 0 | 241 |
| Age 14 | 58 | 17 | 14 | 2 | 5 | 273 | 0 | 311 |
| Age 15 | 55 | 4 | 17 | 4 | 7 | 244 | 7 | 300 |
| Age 16 | 47 | 4 | 25 | 6 | 3 | 248 | 17 | 305 |
| Age 17 | 37 | 6 | 12 | 9 | 7 | 195 | 12 | 244 |
| Age 18 | 11 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 42 | 1 | 50 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 6 |
| Total | 258 | 45 | 94 | 26 | 25 | 1216 | 40 | 1461 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
95%
| Kāpiti College | 95% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 94.1% |
| Māori | 89.1% |
| Pacific | 75% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 88.9% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 95.9% |
| Total | 95% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
89.6%
| Kāpiti College | 89.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 90.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.8% |
| Māori | 84.4% |
| Pacific | 75% |
| Asian | 93.3% |
| MELAA | 88.9% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 90.3% |
| Total | 89.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
70.7%
| Kāpiti College | 70.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 65.1% |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | 62.5% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | 88.9% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 71.5% |
| Total | 70.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
31.9%
| Kāpiti College | 31.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 41.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 21.1% |
| Māori | 25% |
| Pacific | 12.5% |
| Asian | 20% |
| MELAA | 22.2% |
| Other | 42.9% |
| European/Pākehā | 32.6% |
| Total | 31.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
86.1%
| Kāpiti College | 86.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.2% |
| Māori | 78.1% |
| Pacific | 87.5% |
| Asian | 86.7% |
| MELAA | 88.9% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 86.9% |
| Total | 86.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Other | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Kāpiti College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.7%
| Kāpiti College | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.4% |
| Māori | 2% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.8% |
| Total | 0.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Kāpiti College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.7% |
| Māori | 2.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 430
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1954
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 6 June 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 June 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 6 June 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
the school needs to check a primary identity document and a secondary identity document, required for safety checking of workforce [Children’s Act 2014].
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1389 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2019
1458
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 2 May 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 June 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 13 months of the Education Review Office and Kāpiti College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Kāpiti College is a large, co-educational, state secondary school located in Paraparaumu. It provides education for learners from Years 9 to 13. The school’s vision is kia whakatōmuri te haere whakamua | fostering leadership and it has incorporated the ten Parihaka values into its culture.
Kāpiti College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
for all students to feel safe, secure and successful in their learning and environment
to sustain its levels of NCEA achievement for all ethnicities and genders
for all students to be working towards Te Āti Awa cultural competency goals as part of their programmes.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Kāpiti College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how its focus on literacy, numeracy and mātauranga Māori in learning programmes impact Year 9 and 10 students’ progress, achievement and equity.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
review Year 9 and 10 learning programmes to incorporate curriculum refresh, NCEA changes in literacy and numeracy, and mātauranga Māori
improve achievement for the target groups of Māori , Pacific and boys that the school has identified as needing acceleration to increase equity
ensure that the literacy and numeracy requirements are not a barrier to students achieving NCEA.
The school expects to see:
improved achievement in numeracy, literacy and mātauranga Māori for Year 9 and 10 students
accelerated progress and improved equity of achievement for Māori , Pacific and boys
Year 9 and 10 students demonstrating Te Āti Awa cultural competencies.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how its focus on literacy, numeracy and mātauranga Māori in learning programmes impact Year 9 and 10 students’ progress, achievement and equity.
The school has close links with local iwi and histories which support and inform its Parihaka values and the incorporation of mātauranga Māori in learning programmes.
A comprehensive and interactive system for recording students' progress and achievement is in place and used by teachers to plan and evaluate.
Student voice is gathered and utilised for decision-making and evaluation.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
integrating te reo and mātauranga Māori into all courses
all students working toward Te Āti Awa cultural competency goals as part of their programmes
continuing to evaluate the impact of the focus on Year 9 and 10 student achievement, progress and equity.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 June 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
The school has the Kāpiti Marae located on its grounds.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).