John Paul II High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 191
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 10 Alexander Street, Greymouth
- Territorial authority
- Grey District
- Phone
- 03-7684166
- principal@johnpaul.ac.nz
- Website
- http://www.johnpaul.ac.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in West Coast
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students must wear the uniform to reflect our community values. Variations are not permitted, and appropriate attire is required even on non-uniform days.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Voluntary donation
- $60.00 per year per student (Catholic Special Character Donation)
Catholic Special Character Donation is $60.00 per year per student.
- $60.00 per year per student (Catholic Special Character Donation)
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- athletics
Students can engage in athletics, basketball, rugby, cricket, netball, and more.
- basketball
Students can engage in athletics, basketball, rugby, cricket, netball, and more.
- rugby
Students can engage in athletics, basketball, rugby, cricket, netball, and more.
- cricket
Students can engage in athletics, basketball, rugby, cricket, netball, and more.
- netball
Students can engage in athletics, basketball, rugby, cricket, netball, and more.
- athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 143
- Māori
- 34
- Pacific
- 10
- Asian
- 29
- MELAA
- 6
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 5 | 2 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 41 |
| Year 10 | 8 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 43 |
| Year 11 | 13 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 34 | 0 | 40 |
| Year 12 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 26 | 0 | 34 |
| Year 13+ | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 35 | 8 | 21 | 3 | 2 | 136 | 0 | 173 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 4 | 2 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 34 |
| Age 14 | 9 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 39 |
| Age 15 | 10 | 1 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 16 | 7 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 28 | 0 | 36 |
| Age 17 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 35 | 8 | 21 | 3 | 2 | 136 | 0 | 173 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
87.5%
| John Paul II High School | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 84% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 87.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
84.4%
| John Paul II High School | 84.4% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 70.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 82.1% |
| Total | 84.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
43.8%
| John Paul II High School | 43.8% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 42.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 68.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 18.8% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 42.9% |
| Total | 43.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.6%
| John Paul II High School | 15.6% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 14% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 31.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 14.3% |
| Total | 15.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
65.6%
| John Paul II High School | 65.6% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 67.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 43.8% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 67.9% |
| Total | 65.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
17.6%
| John Paul II High School | 17.6% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 76.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 36% |
| Māori | 18% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 20.8% |
| Total | 17.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| John Paul II High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 4.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| John Paul II High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 452
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1979
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 22 January 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (22 January 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 22 January 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
the school needs to check a primary identity document and a secondary identity document, required for safety checking of workforce [Children’s Act 2014].
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 191 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2017
166
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 October 2017
March 2014
183
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 14 May 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 22 January 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 31 months of the Education Review Office and John Paul II High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
John Paul II High School is a Catholic, state-integrated, year 9 to 13, co-educational school serving the Westland area. The school’s refreshed ‘LIGHT’ values foster: learning, integrity, guardianship, hauora , and truth. The school appointed a first-time Principal in 2022.
John Paul II High School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
develop and implement activities and programmes that help students to encounter Jesus Christ
provide students with world class educational opportunities and support that enables them to achieve their full potential, build clear goals for their adult lives, and obtain the qualifications and skills they require for a successful transition from high school
develop a culture of equity, inclusion, and partnership with Ngāti Waewae that has student success and wellbeing at the heart.
A copy of the school’s strategic and annual plans can be requested from John Paul II High School.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of the wellbeing for learning programme, introduced in 2023, on student engagement, wellbeing, and learning outcomes.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
data showed that students were experiencing higher levels of anxiety and stress than most New Zealand students of similar age
a desire to improve career guidance and pathways education to prepare their students for life beyond high school
to introduce hauora activities, study skills, integrated ‘STEAMM’ education (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Maths and Mātauranga Māori ), and extension as part of a localised curriculum.
The school expects to see improved student attendance, engagement, wellbeing , learning progress and achievement through a holistic hauora programme.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the impact of the wellbeing for learning programme, introduced in 2023, on student engagement, wellbeing, and learning outcomes:
leaders have refreshed the school values and introduced systems which emphasise hauora
strategic recruitment of staff for positions of responsibility aligns with the wellbeing for learning programme
partnerships with local government and community organisations who are supporting and, in some cases leading aspects of, the wellbeing for learning programme
student voice is routinely gathered, analysed, and used to inform decision making and review.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
growing partnerships with Ngāti Waewae and whānau Māori to increase equity, inclusion, and cultural responsiveness
increasing opportunities for recognising and celebrating student successes aligned with the school’s new “LIGHT” values
targeting professional learning for teachers in differentiation strategies, pedagogy, and cultural responsiveness
gathering and analysing data to evaluate the impact of these programmes on engagement, wellbeing and learning outcomes for students.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
22 January 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).