John Paul College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 1,098
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Whitworth Road, Utuhina, Rotorua
- Territorial authority
- Rotorua District
- Phone
- 07-3478795
- info@jpc.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.jpc.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Rotorua · schools in Bay of Plenty
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Even though most internationals are from other faiths and backgrounds they are welcomed as fully fledged students of the school.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Swimming
Annual sports days are held for Swimming, Cross Country, Athletics and ‘tabloid games.’
- Cross Country
Annual sports days are held for Swimming, Cross Country, Athletics and ‘tabloid games.’
- Athletics
Annual sports days are held for Swimming, Cross Country, Athletics and ‘tabloid games.’
- tabloid games
Annual sports days are held for Swimming, Cross Country, Athletics and ‘tabloid games.’
- Swimming
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 699
- Māori
- 191
- Pacific
- 43
- Asian
- 342
- MELAA
- 39
- Other
- 22
- International
- 28
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 29 | 7 | 35 | 9 | 6 | 115 | 0 | 156 |
| Year 08 | 32 | 9 | 55 | 3 | 6 | 103 | 0 | 161 |
| Year 09 | 31 | 10 | 46 | 7 | 5 | 119 | 0 | 174 |
| Year 10 | 34 | 7 | 56 | 2 | 0 | 102 | 0 | 165 |
| Year 11 | 28 | 4 | 39 | 6 | 4 | 110 | 11 | 167 |
| Year 12 | 20 | 4 | 44 | 2 | 1 | 96 | 12 | 162 |
| Year 13+ | 30 | 8 | 23 | 2 | 1 | 78 | 4 | 132 |
| Total | 204 | 49 | 298 | 31 | 23 | 723 | 27 | 1117 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 27 | 6 | 25 | 7 | 5 | 90 | 0 | 120 |
| Age 12 | 23 | 5 | 51 | 4 | 6 | 101 | 0 | 156 |
| Age 13 | 37 | 13 | 51 | 7 | 6 | 112 | 0 | 170 |
| Age 14 | 31 | 7 | 50 | 3 | 0 | 111 | 0 | 167 |
| Age 15 | 32 | 4 | 41 | 6 | 3 | 112 | 1 | 162 |
| Age 16 | 16 | 6 | 42 | 2 | 1 | 90 | 12 | 152 |
| Age 17 | 31 | 6 | 30 | 2 | 2 | 87 | 11 | 150 |
| Age 18 | 7 | 2 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 2 | 39 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Total | 204 | 49 | 298 | 31 | 23 | 723 | 27 | 1117 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
96.8%
| John Paul College | 96.8% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 87.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 94.8% |
| Māori | 92.3% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.2% |
| Total | 96.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
92.4%
| John Paul College | 92.4% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 78.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 92.2% |
| Māori | 82.1% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.3% |
| Total | 92.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
81.6%
| John Paul College | 81.6% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 56.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75.3% |
| Māori | 76.9% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 76.9% |
| Total | 81.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
13.9%
| John Paul College | 13.9% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 18.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 18.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.1% |
| Māori | 20.5% |
| Pacific | 12.5% |
| Asian | 4.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 13.5% |
| Total | 13.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
89.9%
| John Paul College | 89.9% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 77.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.3% |
| Māori | 84.6% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 87.5% |
| Total | 89.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7%
| John Paul College | 7% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 37.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.7% |
| Māori | 12% |
| Pacific | 13.3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.8% |
| Total | 7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.6%
| John Paul College | 2.6% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 3.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.2% |
| Māori | 13.6% |
| Pacific | 12.1% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.8% |
| Total | 2.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| John Paul College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 415
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 30 April 1987
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 6 September 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 September 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 6 September 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 September 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility, and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
John Paul College is a state-integrated Catholic school located in Rotorua. It provides education for students from Year 7 to 13. Since the 2022 ERO report, a new principal has started and there have been new appointments to the senior leadership team. The board has also restructured to enable permanent tangata whenua representation.
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the previous report in June 2022, ERO and the school have worked together to evaluate how effectively the school is supporting equitable and excellent outcomes for Māori students through culturally inclusive conditions for learning.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
Māori students achieving at comparable levels to their non- Māori peers in the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) endorsement and University Entrance (UE).
Two thirds of Year 13 Māori students gained UE in 2023; UE outcomes for Māori have become more equitable over time.
At least one third of Māori students at all levels of NCEA gained certificate endorsements in 2023. This remains a lower proportion of excellent outcomes than their peers.
Increased Māori participation in STEM subjects.
Most Māori students in the senior school study at least one STEM subject.
The greatest shift that occurred in response to the school’s action has been an increased strategic commitment to improving Māori students’ pathways and opportunities at John Paul College.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Outcomes for learners continue to be mostly excellent and equitable.
Almost all students achieve in NCEA Levels 1 to 3, including a high proportion of Merit and Excellence endorsements.
NCEA outcomes are equitable for all students, including Māori .
The large majority of students achieve University Entrance; disparity for Māori is decreasing.
The school is not yet meeting the Ministry of Education attendance targets; just over half of students attend school regularly.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is increasingly effective in strengthening school conditions to improve outcomes for all learners.
Leadership articulates a vision for increasing Māori students’ sense of belonging and develops and implements action plans to strengthen bicultural practices in the school.
Leaders regularly review aspects of the school’s curriculum and teaching practices to identify improvement areas in relation to enhancing student wellbeing and learning outcomes.
Leaders have clearly defined roles and responsibilities; a next step is to increase the ways all levels of leadership collaborate and work collectively across the school to progress the college’s strategic improvement goals.
The school’s curriculum and teaching and learning practices effectively support student learning.
Students experience learning opportunities that increasingly acknowledge and reflect the local area and bicultural contexts; this remains an area for further development.
Clearly established routines and respectful relationships among teachers and students contribute to settled, learning-focused classrooms.
Students benefit from well-resourced learning environments and a broad curriculum that provide a rich variety of academic and co-curricular pathways.
Internal review is increasingly contributing to improvements in aspects of the school’s organisational structures, processes and practices.
School governance and senior leadership structures have been reviewed and strengthened to provide increased representation of tangata whenua and leadership in te ao Māori.
Leaders are identifying and responding to the professional development needs of staff, aligned to the school’s strategic improvement goals.
Leaders and teachers regularly engage with NCEA achievement data; however, there is a need to develop a consistent approach to junior assessment practices, along with improving the use of schoolwide progress and achievement data to inform teaching and learning and to evaluate the impact of improvement actions.
The school is increasingly engaging with students, whānau , parents and the wider community to identify improvement priorities, particularly in relation to student wellbeing and belonging.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
increase the rates of regular attendance for all learners
continue to increase teachers’ confidence and capability to integrate te ao and mātauranga Māori into the curriculum and classroom teaching practices
strengthen the consistency of assessment data collection and use in Years 7 to 10
build schoolwide leadership capability and capacity to support coherent and sustainable processes and practices, particularly in relation to continuing to strengthen consistent and effective teaching practices and building a bicultural learning environment.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
develop a schoolwide process to track and monitor junior student achievement (Years 7 to 10), using agreed language and methods to assess and record students’ progress
provide a clear articulation of what effective teaching and learning looks like at John Paul College, including expectations for culturally responsive practice and deliberate acts of teaching.
Every six months:
monitor attendance data for all students and adjust improvement interventions as required
at faculty level, review and report on the extent to which te ao and mātauranga Māori is integrated in the curriculum and teaching practice, and provide targeted professional learning to strengthen teachers’ confidence and capability in this area
collect and analyse feedback from students in relation to their learning experiences, and use the information to inform further improvements to the school’s curriculum and teaching practices.
Annually:
report on the annual and over time outcomes for Māori students, including a focus on their sense of belonging at John Paul College
use internal evaluation findings to identify areas for further improvement in the school’s curriculum and in teaching practices.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved rates of regular student attendance
increased consistency of teaching practices to further support and extend students’ progress and achievement
further strengthening Māori students’ sense of belonging through a school curriculum that increasingly reflects New Zealand’s bicultural heritage
increased schoolwide leadership capacity to monitor and evaluate the impact of improvement initiatives, and to sustain positive outcomes for all learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 September 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).