James Hargest College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 1,897
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 282 Layard Street, Invercargill
- Territorial authority
- Invercargill City
- Phone
- 03-2176129
- office@jameshargest.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Invercargill · schools in Southland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
If, for any reason, a student has to wear an item of non-regulation clothing to school, they must bring a note from parent/caregiver explaining the reason and bring this to the Associate Principal or a Deputy Principal.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/category/james-hargest-college/221.aspx
[To vist The U Shop, click here](https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/category/james-hargest-college/221.aspx)
- https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/category/james-hargest-college/221.aspx
- Getting there
- Go Bus is contracted to ICC for city runs and transports students to rural areas around the Invercargill district; school pick up points are the city bus stop signs on Racecourse Road (senior Campus) and Layard Street (Junior Campus)
Go Bus is contracted to ICC for the city runs (inside the city boundaries) and also transport students to rural areas all around the Invercargill district (not inside the city) City Services Within the City students use Go Bus and their bus routes are on the Invercargill City council website which you can locate [here.](https://icc.govt.nz/buses/) (go to the bottom of the page you arrive at) School pick up points are at the city bus stop signs on Racecourse Road, senior Campus and Layard Street at the Junior Campus.
- Go Bus is contracted to ICC for city runs and transports students to rural areas around the Invercargill district; school pick up points are the city bus stop signs on Racecourse Road (senior Campus) and Layard Street (Junior Campus)
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Mission Statement: Our Mission is to equip all our students to create the best possible future for themselves and their world.
- Our vision is to foster healthy all-round development and personal success in an environment informed by the principles of manaakitanga.
- Voluntary donation
- $55.00 per annum per student
School Fees: $55.00 per annum per student
- $55.00 per annum per student
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- School Production
His passion for music extends to his involvement in the School Production, not only in the orchestra but also on stage.
- Ancora
She is the choir captain of Ancora, section leader of Cantabella
- Cantabella
She is the choir captain of Ancora, section leader of Cantabella
- Junior Campus Football
- Summer football
We only offer Summer football in Term 1 (term 4 – we struggle for players
- Junior Campus Basketball
- School Production
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,497
- Māori
- 372
- Pacific
- 68
- Asian
- 280
- MELAA
- 58
- Other
- 27
- International
- 18
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 56 | 9 | 53 | 6 | 4 | 194 | 0 | 253 |
| Year 08 | 56 | 10 | 36 | 10 | 4 | 225 | 3 | 279 |
| Year 09 | 65 | 8 | 36 | 6 | 3 | 267 | 2 | 318 |
| Year 10 | 64 | 7 | 37 | 7 | 1 | 239 | 2 | 292 |
| Year 11 | 50 | 7 | 22 | 7 | 1 | 247 | 4 | 284 |
| Year 12 | 39 | 15 | 35 | 3 | 2 | 187 | 6 | 244 |
| Year 13+ | 46 | 12 | 31 | 4 | 1 | 171 | 7 | 230 |
| Total | 376 | 68 | 250 | 43 | 16 | 1530 | 24 | 1900 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 43 | 7 | 33 | 4 | 3 | 145 | 0 | 183 |
| Age 12 | 54 | 8 | 45 | 8 | 4 | 209 | 2 | 267 |
| Age 13 | 65 | 11 | 34 | 8 | 3 | 254 | 1 | 305 |
| Age 14 | 63 | 2 | 37 | 5 | 2 | 240 | 4 | 288 |
| Age 15 | 48 | 9 | 23 | 8 | 0 | 255 | 1 | 293 |
| Age 16 | 44 | 9 | 33 | 3 | 2 | 192 | 7 | 244 |
| Age 17 | 41 | 17 | 32 | 5 | 2 | 177 | 8 | 236 |
| Age 18 | 12 | 3 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 49 | 0 | 63 |
| Age 19+ | 6 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 1 | 20 |
| Total | 376 | 68 | 250 | 43 | 16 | 1530 | 24 | 1900 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2024
86.8%
| James Hargest College | 86.8% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 82.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 88.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 82.6% |
| New Zealand | 84.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.6% |
| Māori | 78.9% |
| Pacific | 63.6% |
| Asian | 88.5% |
| MELAA | 83.3% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.8% |
| Total | 86.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2024
77.9%
| James Hargest College | 77.9% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 74.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 81.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 73.6% |
| New Zealand | 76.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.6% |
| Māori | 64.9% |
| Pacific | 63.6% |
| Asian | 80.8% |
| MELAA | 66.7% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 77.7% |
| Total | 77.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2024
53%
| James Hargest College | 53% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 44.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 61.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 51.4% |
| New Zealand | 55.5% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 66.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 43.2% |
| Māori | 36.8% |
| Pacific | 45.5% |
| Asian | 73.1% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 52.1% |
| Total | 53% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with VP Award — 2024
21.4%
| James Hargest College | 21.4% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 13.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 12.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 11.8% |
| New Zealand | 11.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 26.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 17.3% |
| Māori | 10.5% |
| Pacific | 27.3% |
| Asian | 19.2% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 22.7% |
| Total | 21.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2022-2024)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2024
80.1%
| James Hargest College | 80.1% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 75.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 82% |
| State: Not integrated | 79% |
| New Zealand | 81% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77.2% |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | 63.6% |
| Asian | 88.5% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 79.3% |
| Total | 80.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2022-2024)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
44.9%
| James Hargest College | 44.9% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 61.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 20.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 68.3% |
| Māori | 59.4% |
| Pacific | 68.8% |
| Asian | 12.5% |
| Other | 71.4% |
| European/Pākehā | 46.6% |
| Total | 44.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.8%
| James Hargest College | 4.8% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 6.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.7% |
| Māori | 7.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.6% |
| Total | 4.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.9%
| James Hargest College | 2.9% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5% |
| Māori | 3.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3% |
| Total | 2.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 445
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 27 January 2005
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).