Hurunui College
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 190
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Tenterden Street, Hawarden
- Territorial authority
- Hurunui District
- Phone
- 03-3144430
- office@hurunuicollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
The uniform is to be worn correctly to and from school as well as at school and other occasions.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://hurunuicollege.nzuniforms.com/
Uniform Supplies NZ Uniforms online store supplies our uniforms with delivery to your home address Click [here](https://hurunuicollege.nzuniforms.com/) for their webstore.
- https://hurunuicollege.nzuniforms.com/
- How to enrol
- https://ole.edgelearning.co.nz/Default?schoolId=aa388ffd-3272-47a7-80cd-e83314e16d7c
To enrol at Hurunui College please complete the [online enrolment form](https://ole.edgelearning.co.nz/Default?schoolId=aa388ffd-3272-47a7-80cd-e83314e16d7c)
- https://ole.edgelearning.co.nz/Default?schoolId=aa388ffd-3272-47a7-80cd-e83314e16d7c
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 157
- Māori
- 38
- Pacific
- 5
- Asian
- 11
- MELAA
- 2
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 06 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 07 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 09 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 10 | 6 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 19 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 13+ | 3 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Total | 41 | 0 | 16 | 3 | 2 | 158 | 0 | 184 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 08 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 09 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 10 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 11 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 13 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 14 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 15 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 15 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 24 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 17 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 13 |
| Total | 41 | 0 | 16 | 3 | 2 | 158 | 0 | 184 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
84.2%
| Hurunui College | 84.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.5% |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.7% |
| Total | 84.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
78.9%
| Hurunui College | 78.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.7% |
| Total | 78.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
52.6%
| Hurunui College | 52.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 63.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 37.5% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 53.3% |
| Total | 52.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
10.5%
| Hurunui College | 10.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 25% |
| Māori | 16.7% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 13.3% |
| Total | 10.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
63.2%
| Hurunui College | 63.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 72.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 50% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 66.7% |
| Total | 63.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
49.4%
| Hurunui College | 49.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 59.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 40.1% |
| Māori | 38.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 299.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 42.5% |
| Total | 49.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.7%
| Hurunui College | 7.7% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.4% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.8% |
| Total | 7.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hurunui College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 465
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 25 January 1927
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 25 February 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (25 February 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 25 February 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 190 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
June 2016
241
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 August 2016
September 2012
227
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 8 November 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 25 February 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Hurunui College is a rural area school for Years 1 to 13 learners located in Hawarden, North Canterbury. The school’s values are RISE: Respect, Integrity, Service, Excellence - the learners standing tall for what is right as they progress through and graduate from the school.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Achievement across the school varies considerably with higher rates of progress in the first years of the junior school.
A large majority of learners in Years 1 to 8 are achieving at or above curriculum levels in mathematics and reading and a small majority in writing; the school is yet to have Māori learners achieving as well as their peers.
A large majority of learners in Years 9 to 10 are achieving at or above curriculum levels in mathematics and less than half in reading and writing; the school is yet to have Māori learners achieving as well as their peers.
A majority of learners in Years 11 and 12 achieve in Levels 1 and 2 in the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) and less than half of Year 13 learners in NCEA Level 3 and University Entrance; school leadership has prioritised improvement in NCEA achievement.
A small majority of learners are attending school regularly and the school is yet to meet the Government target; improving regular attendance is a school priority .
Conditions to support learner success
School leaders work strategically and collaboratively, improving outcomes for learners.
Leaders across the school work collaboratively to implement and review the annual goals to improve learning outcomes.
Leaders and teachers are taking steps to align the curriculum from Years 1 to 8 into Years 9 to 10, then through the senior qualification years.
Leaders are developing a framework of appropriate teaching strategies for teachers to use consistently when planning how best to meet the specific needs of learners.
Teachers increasingly use a range of evidence-based strategies and a breadth of curriculum to engage the diversity of learners across the school.
Learners in Years 1 to 10 experience an engaging and responsive curriculum; the senior curriculum for the NCEA years is also broad and varied.
Teachers know their students very well and increasingly target learning strategies for each individual.
Teachers of Years 9 to 13 are beginning to understand and implement appropriate teaching practices that meet the differing needs of learners.
Key conditions to support school improvement and success are becoming increasingly embedded.
The board and leaders work together to develop and implement the school’s strategic direction to improve outcomes for learners.
The school is taking steps to develop a bicultural framework across the school, growing capability and understanding of Te Tiriti o Waitangi.
There is a positive and supportive culture across the school; learners state they have positive relationships with their teachers and value their learning.
Teachers have a focus on ensuring literacy strategies are used across the school in all curriculum areas and have identified cross-school numeracy as the next step.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
in consultation with the community, implement a revised assessment and reporting system for increased learner and whānau engagement, and understanding of the present levels of achievement and next learning steps
continue the aligning of the school curriculum to the revised New Zealand Curriculum changes
teachers use attendance, wellbeing, and achievement data to inform their practice, particularly in the use of inclusive teaching strategies to meet the diverse needs of learners across the school, including NCEA achievement
build teachers’ cultural capability, responsiveness and confidence in mātauranga and te āo Māori for culturally responsive teaching.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
consult with the community on the revised reporting to whānau and develop a consistent framework for annual reporting to the Board
in consultation with learners, create a schoolwide framework for collecting and responding to learner feedback
review teachers’ present capabilities in mātauranga Māori and te ao Māori and create an appropriate action plan to meet the identified needs
support teachers in their initial understanding and implementation of the revised curriculum and respond to any emerging findings
Every six months:
in response to learner feedback and progress data, review the implementation of inclusive teaching strategies schoolwide and respond to any emerging findings
review and evaluate progress in the implementation of culturally responsive teaching
review and evaluate implementation of literacy strategies and the development of the numeracy focus, and respond to any emerging findings
Annually:
use whānau , learner and teacher feedback to inform annual planning
use attendance, engagement and achievement data to evaluate the effectiveness of teaching practice on learner outcomes to inform annual planning
use the evaluation of the implementation of culturally responsive teaching to inform annual planning.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
increased learner regular attendance
improved progress and achievement for all learners
increased teacher capabilities in culturally responsive practices for improved learner engagement and achievement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
25 February 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).