Hukarere Girls' College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 53
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 31 Napier Road, Havelock North
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8358511
- info@hukarere.school.nz
- Website
- https://www.hukarere.ac.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Wearing the uniform with care and dignity is more than just school attire – it is a symbol of belonging, self-respect, and honour for the generations of Hukarere kōhine who have come before.
- Required
- How to enrol
- https://hukarere.school.kiwi/
Please complete the [Hukarere Enrolment Criteria](https://www.hukarere.ac.nz/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Hukarere-Enrolment-Criteria.pdf) form and the online [Hukarere Pre-Enrolment Form](https://hukarere.school.kiwi/) along with all of the supporting documents required.
- https://hukarere.school.kiwi/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- Our school exists within the life of Te Hāhi Mihinare, the Māori Anglican Church, and within the authority and mission of Te Pīhopatanga o Aotearoa. Our College operates as a state-integrated school, with its Special Character protected through an Integration Agreement between the Crown and the Proprietor.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 3
- Māori
- 53
- Pacific
- 4
- Asian
- 0
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 10 | 14 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 11 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 12 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 13+ | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 57 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 57 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 14 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 15 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 16 | 16 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 17 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 57 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 57 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
87.5%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 87.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
75%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 75% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 75% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
62.5%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
62.5%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 62.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 62.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
87.5%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 87.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Māori | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
40.2%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 40.2% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 40.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 40.2% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 40.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
13.2%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 13.2% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 13.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 13.2% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 13.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.1%
| Hukarere Girls' College | 7.1% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 7.1% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 7.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 542
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1993
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 4 December 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (4 December 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 4 December 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 53 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2019
85
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 17 October 2019
June 2016
92
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 September 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 4 December 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Hukarere Girls’ College is located in Havelock North and provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13. Through the special character, Anglican faith and Māori , the school seeks to provide kōhine with learning experiences to develop the independence, life-long skills, and confidence needed to thrive in an ever-changing world. A new tumuak i and leadership team were appointed at the start of 2023. The school has relocated post Cyclone Gabrielle.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most students achieve well in the senior school; student achievement in foundational curriculum areas in the junior school is not yet at expected curriculum levels.
National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) data shows that the school has sustained high levels of achievement over time and across Levels 1 to 3; sufficient, external moderation is a next step.
The school is beginning to gather reliable Year 9 and 10 literacy and mathematics progress and achievement data; current data shows that most learners are not achieving at expected curriculum levels.
Schoolwide attendance levels do not yet meet the Ministry targets for regular attendance; school leaders are strengthening systems and processes for the tracking and monitoring of student attendance, and analysis of attendance data.
Students express a positive sense of wellbeing and are increasingly feeling settled in their new learning environment.
Conditions to support learner success
Leaders are taking steps to foster a professional culture focused on improving teaching practices and student engagement with learning, progress and achievement.
School Leaders are beginning to set and actively pursue key improvement goals that are focused on accelerating the progress of those learners most at risk of underachievement, particularly in Years 9 and 10.
Leadership is taking steps to plan and coordinate the school’s curriculum and set expectations for high quality teaching across the school.
Leaders are beginning to establish educationally focused relationships with other education providers and community groups, to provide students with a greater range of learning opportunities that align with the special character of the school.
School staff are beginning to provide a curriculum and teaching and learning programmes that are responsive to the needs of students.
Appropriate assessment information is beginning to be collected and used to inform teaching and learning, focused on improved outcomes for all learners.
Learning support programmes are in place to support those students that need to make accelerated progress in literacy and mathematics.
Local contexts are beginning to be reflected across curriculum areas so that learners can see themselves and their identity and culture in their learning programmes.
Organisational conditions are being established to drive schoolwide and strategic improvement.
Leaders and teachers are beginning to establish professional networks to support capability and capacity building, and improvement in their leadership and teaching practice.
Leadership is building evaluative systems and processes to support improved schoolwide practices and learner outcomes.
Communication with whānau regarding schoolwide events and learner progress is being strengthened, supporting increased whānau engagement and participation in school life.
The school board is meeting its legislative and regulatory requirements.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
embed assessment for learning practices across the school and grow staff capability in data analysis and evidence-informed practice, to be responsive to the needs of all learners
continue to strengthen practices for improving attendance
establish and strengthen systems that support capability and capacity building across the school, including a shared understanding of evaluation for improvement
develop a localised curriculum that ensures learners have access to learning that spans the breadth and depth of The New Zealand Curriculum and is aligned to the special character of the school.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
school leaders to establish clear expectations for consistent schoolwide planning, assessment and moderation practices; this includes the regular tracking and monitoring of learner attendance and progress
leadership to observe classroom practice and provide feedback through teacher professional growth cycle conversations, focused on improved practices and outcomes for all students
school leaders and teachers to engage in professional learning about assessment for learning practices, making and moderating assessment judgments to inform planning and learner next steps
progress a coherent schoolwide localised curriculum and teaching approaches that span the breadth of and depth of The New Zealand Curriculum
Within a year:
leaders and teachers regularly engage in critical discussion about the impact of their teaching on learner outcomes through the school professional growth cycle, and consequently adapt practice and programmes
a schoolwide localised curriculum is in place and monitored for consistency of implementation
whānau and learner feedback and ideas are regularly collected to inform schoolwide programmes, teaching and learning
the school board has a process of self-evaluation to ensure the effectiveness of its performance and to adjust practice and actions accordingly
Every six months:
staff to collect and rigorously analyse and scrutinise schoolwide attendance, achievement and wellbeing data, to understand the impact of teaching practice and schoolwide programmes on learner outcomes and inform ongoing planning
analysed learner progress, achievement, wellbeing and attendance data is reported to the board and scrutinised to inform decisions about programmes, and teaching and learning
whānau voice collected as part of schoolwide evaluation to inform improvement actions
Annually:
board and staff rigorously analyse and scrutinise schoolwide attendance, achievement and wellbeing data to understand the impact of teaching practice and programmes on learner outcomes, and to inform decision making for the next school year
implement a robust professional growth cycle focused on continuous improvement of practice, leading to improved outcomes for all learners, especially for those most at risk of underachievement
review assessment tools and assessment practice to ensure effectiveness
review and evaluate the effectiveness of the school curriculum and teaching practices to engage learners and support improved outcomes.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved attendance at all year levels, and progress and achievement of Years 9 and 10 learners
individual learner needs met as the result of regular assessment and evaluation cycles that guide effective planning
a school curriculum and teaching practices that sustain high levels of student engagement, and improved and excellent outcomes across the school
strengthened systems and processes of internal evaluation that result in improved schoolwide practices, and outcomes for all learners
students and whānau are valued partners in the development of learning pathways and programmes, supporting high levels of engagement in learning and in the life of the school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
4 December 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).