Horizon School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 206
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 410 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach
- Territorial authority
- Rodney Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-4256878
- admin@horizon.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Year 0-6 Students (Primary) Girls: Horizon School Junior Skort, Horizon School Junior Polo Shirt, and Horizon School V Neck Jumper.
- Required
- Getting there
- Warkworth students leave from Baxter Street. Students using this service must complete a transport conveyancing allowance form, available from the office. Morning Leave Baxter St. Bus Stop - 8:25-8:35am Arrive at Horizon School - 8:55am Afternoon Leave Horizon School - 2:50pm Arrive at Baxter St. Bus Stop 3:10pm
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
At Horizon we offer a values-based curriculum that supports international students to thrive academically, socially, and personally while preparing for New Zealand qualifications and life in our school community.
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- $300.00 per child per year
School Donations $300.00 per child per year
- $300.00 per child per year
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 171
- Māori
- 19
- Pacific
- 11
- Asian
- 22
- MELAA
- 10
- Other
- 4
- International
- 2
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 11 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 21 | 0 | 22 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 25 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 09 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 10 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Total | 21 | 15 | 13 | 6 | 6 | 173 | 0 | 195 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 09 | 4 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 23 | 0 | 27 |
| Age 12 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 16 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 21 | 15 | 13 | 6 | 6 | 173 | 0 | 195 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Horizon School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Horizon School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
57.1%
| Horizon School | 57.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 57.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
14.3%
| Horizon School | 14.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 14.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
85.7%
| Horizon School | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 85.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Male | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Male | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
57%
| Horizon School | 57% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 24.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 89.3% |
| Māori | 142% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 46.6% |
| Total | 57% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Horizon School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Horizon School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 435
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 4 June 1992
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 10 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (5 June 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 5 June 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure all staff employed have a current police vet [Children’s Act 2014, s104 Education and Training Act 2020].
The board has since addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 10 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 1 to 13
provides education for students in Years 1 to 13
- Years 1 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the School
Horizon School is a state-integrated school located in Snells Beach north of Auckland. The school provides education for students in Years 1 to 13 and has a role of 235 students. 89% students identify as Pākehā | New Zealand European. A new principal was appointed in November 2024. New senior leaders started at the beginning of 2025. The school values of faith| whakapono , hope| tumanako and love| aroha underpin school life.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since December 2022 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
ERO and the school have worked together to evaluate the impact that improved teaching and learning had on student outcomes, particularly for Māori students, and student achievement in writing.
Expected Improvements
The school expected to see a consistent approach to teaching writing across the school through the extension of staff content knowledge, the implementation of evaluative processes and the development of a greater understanding of practices that support Māori student achievement.
Findings
Ongoing professional learning focused on evidence-based literacy practices for teachers has contributed to increased student achievement, including a chievement in writing for Māori students. Students in Years 1 to 8 are benefitting from a consistent approach to the teaching of foundational skills, particularly writing.
All staff engaged in professional learning in bicultural practices. Student engagement has improved, and Māori students have an increasing sense of belonging. In the primary school, tikanga Māori and school kawa are becoming embedded in the school curriculum.
Other Findings
Teachers’ confidence and capability to better respond to the needs of all students improved. Student achievement improved for most learners, including Māori learners, as well as the embedding consistent literacy practices in classrooms.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Outcomes for learners are becoming more equitable and excellent.
Most Year 1 to 8 students, including Māori and Pacific learners, achieve at or above the expected curriculum levels in literacy and mathematics, however, less than half of Year 8 students achieve at the expected levels in writing.
A large majority of students in Year 9 achieve at or above the expected curriculum level in reading and mathematics with less than half achieving at expected levels in writing.
A large majority of Year 10 students are at the expected curriculum level in mathematics with a small majority at the expected level in reading and writing.
The school does not offer the National Certificate of Achievement (NCEA) Level 1 qualification for Year 11 student. A large majority of students in Year 12 achieve Level 2 and a small majority of students in Year 13 achieve Level 3 in NCEA.
The school is not yet meeting the Ministry of Education target of 80% for regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
School leadership is establishing collaborative and distributed leadership opportunities to support ongoing improvement.
Leaders are consulting with the wider school community to review and update strategic goals and priorities to improve outcomes for learners.
Leaders are strengthening relational trust; collaboration and communication focused on achieving the school’s strategic vision.
Leaders are further embedding the school’s special character through the curriculum.
School leaders and staff deliver a curriculum focused on meeting the needs and strengths of all learners.
Teaching practice is relational and affirming between students and teachers. Classrooms have clearly established routines and expectations for learning.
Students with additional learning needs are well supported to make progress with their learning against their individual goals.
Teachers increasingly use assessment information to plan for, evaluate and report the progress of students and to inform responsive teaching practice.
Organisational conditions are being strengthened and underpin school improvement.
Students experience positive relationships and a culture of care that supports their wellbeing and sense of belonging.
Leaders and teachers promote an ongoing focus on equity and learner wellbeing through integrating the school’s special character within the curriculum.
The School Board and leaders are actively engaging with parents, whānau and the wider community to strengthen learning focused partnerships.
Leaders and staff continue to review, develop and establish school systems and processes that support sustainability.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It outlines what the school is doing well and identifies actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Sustain high levels of learner progress and achievement.
Continue to improve regular attendance.
Consolidate consistent teaching practices that meet curriculum requirements.
Increase student understanding about their individual learning goals and what they need to do to make progress.
Review and adjust student assessment processes to enable better use of this information.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders review and report on the school's provisions for international students
leaders and teachers review assessment processes and adjust as needed
leaders and teachers develop a school-community strategy to increase regular student attendance
Within six months:
leaders work with teachers to embed the consistent use of effective teaching practice schoolwide
leaders work with teachers to better use assessment information to improve their practice and next steps for learners
Every six months:
leaders monitor and report rates of progress and attendance to the School Board and adjust plans as necessary
leaders monitor teachers’ consistent use of effective teaching practice and assessment schoolwide
leaders and teachers work with students, teachers and parents to set and review goals to support ongoing learning pathways
Annually:
leaders and teachers review the curriculum to ensure that current requirements are met
the School Board and leaders evaluate student progress and achievement outcomes in literacy and mathematics and report to the and school community
leaders review and evaluate the impact of professional development on the effectiveness of teacher practice
the School Board and leaders analyse schoolwide attendance information to plan actions to improve student engagement and learning outcomes.
Expected outcomes
Leaders and teachers use school data more effectively inform teaching and learning.
Teaching practices improve and are consistent across the school.
Attendance and achievement improve for all learners.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
10 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).