KuraHub

← Back to search

Hōhepa School

Composite · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
not reported
Total roll
28
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 129 schools in Hawke's Bay Region with a published location. Hōhepa School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
21 Fryer Road, Poraiti, Napier
Territorial authority
Napier City
Phone
06-8442740
Email
penny.hallgarth@hohepa.com
Website
http://www.hohepahawkesbay.com/services-and-programmes/school
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Napier · schools in Hawke’s Bay

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
    • Everything we do at Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay is underpinned by our vision, our mission and our values.
    • Our Vision: Every Life Fully Lived
    • Our Mission: Supportive communities inspired by anthroposophy which celebrate the diverse ways of being human.
    • Our Values are: Whakamana, Community, Sustainability and Subsidiarity

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
21
Māori
9
Pacific
1
Asian
2
MELAA
0
Other
0
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 0300100001
Year 0710000202
Year 0820000102
Year 0910000101
Year 1010000203
Year 1110100304
Year 1220000304
Year 13+2200010013
Total10220022030
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 0700100001
Age 1110000202
Age 1210000001
Age 1320000102
Age 1410000202
Age 1500000202
Age 1620100304
Age 1710000405
Age 1811000304
Age 19+11000507
Total10220022030

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Academic results

Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025

Too few to report

Hōhepa SchoolToo few to report
Hawke's Bay Region86%
Composite (Year 1-15)91.4%
Private: Fully Reg.96.8%
New Zealand85.2%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
MāoriNot applicable
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
TotalToo few to report

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025

Too few to report

Hōhepa SchoolToo few to report
Hawke's Bay Region77.5%
Composite (Year 1-15)86%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand77.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
MāoriNot applicable
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
TotalToo few to report

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025

Too few to report

Hōhepa SchoolToo few to report
Hawke's Bay Region57.7%
Composite (Year 1-15)71.7%
Private: Fully Reg.88.7%
New Zealand59%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
MāoriNot applicable
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
TotalToo few to report

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with VP Award — 2025

Too few to report

Hōhepa SchoolToo few to report
Hawke's Bay Region16.6%
Composite (Year 1-15)16%
Private: Fully Reg.12.1%
New Zealand14.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
MāoriNot applicable
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
TotalToo few to report

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)

Retention

Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025

Too few to report

Hōhepa SchoolToo few to report
Hawke's Bay Region78.8%
Composite (Year 1-15)86.6%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand83%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
MāoriNot applicable
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
TotalToo few to report

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
Yes
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Large urban area
Date opened
30 April 1957

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
3
Last reviewed
13 September 2023
Latest report
Hōhepa School September 2023
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 28 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. April 2016

    44

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 13 June 2016

  2. April 2012

    32

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 14 June 2012

We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 3 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).