Hobsonville Point Secondary School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,056
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Hobsonville Point Road, Hobsonville Point, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Upper Harbour Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-9757400
- not reported
- Website
- http://www.hpss.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our vision for each Hobsonville Point Learner is one of personal academic excellence; that they will develop as confident, connected, actively involved and life-long learners. This will empower them to live successfully and contribute responsibly to their communities.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students play an important role in the culture and diversity of our school and help our students deepen their understanding of the world.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Archery
- Football
- Orienteering
- Badminton
- Ultimate
- Volleyball
- Athletics
- Golf
- Rugby
- Basketball
- Hockey
- Swimming
- Table Tennis
- Climbing
- Lawn Bowls
- Tennis
- Crossfit
- Netball
- Touch
- school production
extra curricular opportunities including the school production, the drama club, and the singing group
- drama club
extra curricular opportunities including the school production, the drama club, and the singing group
- singing group
extra curricular opportunities including the school production, the drama club, and the singing group
- kapa haka
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- tabletop group
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- coding club
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- music jams
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- rainbow group
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- Maths club
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- model UN group
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
- student volunteer army
These include kapa haka, the tabletop group, the coding club, the singing group, music jams, the rainbow group, the drama club, the Maths club, the model UN group, and the student volunteer army.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 565
- Māori
- 143
- Pacific
- 89
- Asian
- 433
- MELAA
- 76
- Other
- 39
- International
- 25
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 32 | 23 | 78 | 12 | 1 | 136 | 3 | 224 |
| Year 10 | 26 | 14 | 78 | 16 | 1 | 101 | 2 | 186 |
| Year 11 | 32 | 16 | 79 | 18 | 2 | 107 | 10 | 204 |
| Year 12 | 22 | 13 | 67 | 12 | 3 | 104 | 14 | 196 |
| Year 13+ | 12 | 11 | 43 | 11 | 2 | 86 | 3 | 140 |
| Total | 124 | 77 | 345 | 69 | 9 | 534 | 32 | 950 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 13 | 27 | 17 | 68 | 12 | 1 | 108 | 2 | 187 |
| Age 14 | 28 | 17 | 71 | 12 | 1 | 106 | 2 | 182 |
| Age 15 | 30 | 19 | 87 | 18 | 2 | 110 | 5 | 210 |
| Age 16 | 24 | 13 | 50 | 14 | 3 | 109 | 14 | 184 |
| Age 17 | 14 | 11 | 55 | 9 | 2 | 90 | 5 | 155 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 7 | 4 | 0 | 10 | 4 | 25 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 124 | 77 | 345 | 69 | 9 | 534 | 32 | 950 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.6%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 90.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85.7% |
| Māori | 68% |
| Pacific | 84.2% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.9% |
| Total | 90.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
86.2%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 86.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77.9% |
| Māori | 52% |
| Pacific | 73.7% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 83.8% |
| Total | 86.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
69.8%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 69.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 78% |
|---|---|
| Male | 61% |
| Māori | 40% |
| Pacific | 63.2% |
| Asian | 83% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 63.6% |
| Total | 69.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
8.2%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 8.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.5% |
| Māori | 4% |
| Pacific | 15.8% |
| Asian | 4.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 11.1% |
| Total | 8.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
90.6%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 90.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.1% |
| Māori | 72% |
| Pacific | 84.2% |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.9% |
| Total | 90.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
55.5%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 55.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.1% |
| Māori | 168.5% |
| Pacific | 105.7% |
| Asian | 18.2% |
| Other | 30.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 70.5% |
| Total | 55.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.5%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 5.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 2.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8.2% |
| Māori | 31% |
| Pacific | 15.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.4% |
| Total | 5.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.3%
| Hobsonville Point Secondary School | 2.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.9% |
| Māori | 10.5% |
| Pacific | 19.1% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 2.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 430
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 2013
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 2 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (2 October 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 2 October 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 2 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 13
provides education for students from Year 9 to 13
- Years 9 to 13
- Also provides
- Arohanui Special School
The school hosts Arohanui Special School
- Arohanui Special School
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1056 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
628
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 1 November 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 2 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the School
Hobsonville Point Secondary School is located in West Auckland and provides education for students from Year 9 to 13. The school roll has steadily increased since the previous ERO review.
The school vision ‘ to create a stimulating, inclusive learning environment that empowers learners to contribute confidently, knowledgeably, and responsibly in our changing world’, is linked to the school values of excellence, connectedness, collaboration and resilience.
Since the previous ERO review in 2019, the principal and five school leaders have been appointed to the senior leadership team.
The school hosts Arohanui Special School that provides education for students with high needs.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 65% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
A large majority of students are engaged in their learning, make good progress and achieve well.
A large majority of students achieve a National Certificate of Educational Achievement ( NCEA) at Levels 2 and 3 and a small majority achieve University Entrance (UE).
A large majority of Year 9 and 10 students achieve at the expected curriculum level in reading; almost all Year 10 students achieve at curriculum expectations in mathematics.
Māori students' achievement is equitable with overall student achievement levels. There is some disparity in Pacific student achievement in NCEA Level 3 and UE.
A small majority of students attend school regularly; the school is behind the Government’s 80% target for regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership is lifting schoolwide expectations and further strengthening teaching and learning.
Leaders and teachers effectively track and monitor learner progress and achievement.
Leadership use data to pursue targeted improvement goals and foster a culture of quality teaching to increase equity and excellence in learner outcomes.
School leaders build and sustain educationally focused relationships with other education providers and community groups to support seamless learner transitions to academic and vocational pathways.
Leaders use feedback from teachers and students to strengthen curriculum planning and delivery.
Teaching and the curriculum are increasingly responsive to students’ learning needs.
Well targeted evidence-based interventions are provided for students who require additional support to achieve well.
Teachers use responsive teaching strategies, including flexible learning and mixed grouping, to provide challenging, purposeful and well-paced learning programmes and opportunities
Teachers regularly provide relevant and useful support and resources to parents and whānau so they can work in partnership in their child’s learning, progress and pathways.
Organisational conditions, systems, processes, and practices are strengthening and driving strategic improvements.
High levels of relational trust and communication enable students and staff to work in partnership to achieve successful learner outcomes.
Professional learning opportunities for staff are strategically aligned with the school’s improvement goals and identified learner needs.
The school board provides effective stewardship focused on strategic improvement priorities related to learner achievement, progress and wellbeing.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school.
Key priorities
Raise student achievement, including an increased number of students achieving merit and excellence in NCEA.
Refine and embed effective teaching practices that promote student engagement in learning.
Integrate curriculum and assessment changes in ways that are deliberate, responsive and contextually relevant.
Strengthen the partnership with Te Kawerau ā Maki to help build student and staff capability in te reo Māori me ona tikanga Māori, te ao Māori and mātauranga Māori .
Increase levels of regular student attendance through data informed strategies.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within six months:
leaders and teachers implement and respond to the school’s attendance plan to improve students’ regular attendance
Every six months:
leaders and teachers respond to analysed achievement data and provide interventions that improve students’ learning outcomes
leaders and teachers evaluate the implementation of effective teaching and learning and its impact on students’ learning outcomes
the school Board receive regular evidence-based reporting on the progress of the strategic plan to track and inform school improvement
Annually:
leaders and the Board evaluate the impact of teaching, learning and assessment practices on learners’ progress and achievement; identify successful initiatives to inform strategic planning and resourcing
leaders monitor the integration of new curriculum and assessment requirements, and identify priorities for professional learning
the Board and leaders evaluate the impact of strategies on raising regular student attendance, identify areas for improvement and plan next steps.
Expected outcomes
Improved students’ achievement.
Enhanced teaching practices.
Inclusive learning environments where Māori students experience responsive teaching that reflects and affirms their identity and promotes their success.
Improved students’ regular attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
2 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).