KuraHub

← Back to search

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents

Teen Parent Unit · State

Year levels
not reported
Total roll
not reported
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 155 schools in Northland Region with a published location. He Mataariki School for Teen Parents is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
13 Whaka Street, Raumanga, Whangarei
Territorial authority
Whangarei District
Phone
09-4382602
Email
not reported
Website
not reported
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Whangārei · schools in Northland

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
not reported
Māori
not reported
Pacific
not reported
Asian
not reported
MELAA
not reported
Other
not reported
International
not reported

Academic results

Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025

87.5%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents87.5%
Northland Region82.3%
Teen Parent Unit65.5%
State: Not integrated83.6%
New Zealand85.2%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female87.5%
MaleNot applicable
Māori83.3%
PacificToo few to report
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
Total87.5%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025

62.5%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents62.5%
Northland Region72.1%
Teen Parent Unit47.9%
State: Not integrated75.4%
New Zealand77.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female62.5%
MaleNot applicable
Māori50%
PacificToo few to report
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
Total62.5%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025

37.5%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents37.5%
Northland Region48.3%
Teen Parent Unit24.2%
State: Not integrated55.2%
New Zealand59%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female37.5%
MaleNot applicable
Māori33.3%
PacificToo few to report
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
Total37.5%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with VP Award — 2025

0%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents0%
Northland Region16.8%
Teen Parent Unit4.6%
State: Not integrated14.4%
New Zealand14.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
MaleNot applicable
Māori0%
PacificToo few to report
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)

Retention

Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025

100%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents100%
Northland Region72.9%
Teen Parent Unit89.7%
State: Not integrated81.4%
New Zealand83%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female100%
MaleNot applicable
Māori100%
PacificToo few to report
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāToo few to report
Total100%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)

Student engagement

Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024

0%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents0%
Northland Region52%
Teen Parent Unit0%
State40.2%
New Zealand37.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
MaleNot available (source marker: "nd")
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
OtherNot available (source marker: "nd")
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)

Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024

0%

He Mataariki School for Teen Parents0%
Northland Region6.5%
Teen Parent Unit0%
State4.5%
New Zealand4.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
MaleNot available (source marker: "nd")
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
OtherNot available (source marker: "nd")
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)

Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024

Not available (source marker: "nd")

He Mataariki School for Teen ParentsNot available (source marker: "nd")
Northland Region2.7%
Teen Parent Unit0%
State1.9%
New Zealand1.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot available (source marker: "nd")
MaleNot available (source marker: "nd")
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
OtherNot available (source marker: "nd")
European/Pākehā0%
TotalNot available (source marker: "nd")

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
569
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
not reported
Urban / rural
Large urban area
Date opened
27 April 2003

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
2
Last reviewed
2 June 2017
Latest report
He Mataariki School for Teen Parents - 02/06/2017
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 2 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: not reported (2026).