Havelock North High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,156
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 153 Te Mata Road, Havelock North
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8778129
- office@hnhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.hnhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Please refer to the booklet below for all your uniform requirements. NB: It is compulsory for all Year 13 students to have a formal uniform.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Havelock North High School has excellent host families who provide a New Zealand home for our international students.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 928
- Māori
- 215
- Pacific
- 38
- Asian
- 99
- MELAA
- 25
- Other
- 27
- International
- 16
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 45 | 10 | 22 | 4 | 8 | 193 | 2 | 249 |
| Year 10 | 49 | 6 | 14 | 8 | 8 | 207 | 5 | 252 |
| Year 11 | 56 | 11 | 15 | 6 | 1 | 215 | 3 | 259 |
| Year 12 | 31 | 5 | 10 | 5 | 1 | 154 | 5 | 184 |
| Year 13+ | 24 | 4 | 13 | 3 | 4 | 155 | 6 | 190 |
| Total | 205 | 36 | 74 | 26 | 22 | 924 | 21 | 1134 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 33 | 5 | 18 | 2 | 5 | 132 | 2 | 174 |
| Age 14 | 49 | 9 | 15 | 10 | 8 | 201 | 2 | 249 |
| Age 15 | 57 | 11 | 14 | 4 | 4 | 221 | 4 | 261 |
| Age 16 | 39 | 7 | 9 | 4 | 1 | 174 | 5 | 209 |
| Age 17 | 20 | 4 | 13 | 5 | 3 | 163 | 7 | 197 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 26 | 1 | 33 |
| Age 19+ | 4 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 10 |
| Total | 205 | 36 | 74 | 26 | 22 | 924 | 21 | 1134 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
91.3%
| Havelock North High School | 91.3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.5% |
| Māori | 76.9% |
| Pacific | 83.3% |
| Asian | 94.4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.5% |
| Total | 91.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
81.7%
| Havelock North High School | 81.7% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.8% |
| Māori | 64.1% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | 77.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 84.1% |
| Total | 81.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
62.9%
| Havelock North High School | 62.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69% |
|---|---|
| Male | 56.6% |
| Māori | 41% |
| Pacific | 50% |
| Asian | 50% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 66.7% |
| Total | 62.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
18.8%
| Havelock North High School | 18.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 15.9% |
| Māori | 17.9% |
| Pacific | 16.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 21.7% |
| Total | 18.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
87.8%
| Havelock North High School | 87.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 90.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 85% |
| Māori | 69.2% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | 94.4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.9% |
| Total | 87.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
16.7%
| Havelock North High School | 16.7% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 14.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 19.6% |
| Māori | 46.3% |
| Pacific | 18.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 13.7% |
| European/Pākehā | 13.6% |
| Total | 16.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Havelock North High School | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 14.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.6% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Havelock North High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 434
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1975
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 12 December 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (12 December 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 12 December 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1156 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
February 2017
982
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 10 April 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 12 December 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 28 months of the Education Review Office and Havelock North High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Havelock North High school is located in Havelock North and provides co-education for learners in Years 9 to 13. The school motto of ‘aim to excel, whāia te iti kahurangi’ , underpins the school’s vision to give each student every opportunity to be the best they can be. A new Principal was appointed in Term 4 2022.
Havelock North High School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
maximise the opportunities for students to function as positive and responsible citizens
provide high quality learning experiences which contribute to the growth and continuous improvement of students
the school will be highly valued by the community and make connections with local, national and global communities
through involvement in the widest possible range of school activities, establish a culture of pride and an attitude amongst students where success is valued and celebrated.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Havelock North High School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent to which progress and achievement information is used in the junior school to support and promote equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to ensure equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners in Years 9 and 10
to strengthen systems and processes to gather achievement information to track, monitor and report on progress and achievement in the junior school
to ensure achievement information is used effectively to inform teaching and learning strategies in Years 9 and 10
to further support access for all learners to broader curriculum and meaningful pathways for success.
The school expects to see:
robust systems and processes for tracking, monitoring and reporting on learner progress and achievement in the junior school
achievement data and assessment for learning used effectively across the junior school to promote and support improved equity and excellence in all learner outcomes
improved attendance, engagement and accelerated progress particularly for targeted students.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the extent to which progress and achievement information is used in the junior school:
leadership’s commitment to improving and strengthening teaching capability and capacity through a professional learning community
well established systems in the senior school for monitoring, tracking and supporting student achievement at National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) levels
supportive, respectful relationships with a focus on strengthening student agency.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
ensuring systems and processes are in place to track, monitor and report on learner progress and achievement in the junior school to identify acceleration and supports for targeted students
defining the key progress indicators for learning across all curriculum areas in the junior school
continuing to build capacity and capability for teachers in effective use of data and assessment practices to inform teaching and learning
developing a shared understanding of responsive teaching practice at Havelock North High School that sets high expectations for teaching and learning across the school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
12 December 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).