Hato Paora College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 113
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 1314 Kimbolton Road, Feilding
- Territorial authority
- Manawatu District
- Phone
- 06-3289731
- jpaterson@hatopaora.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
tauira are to wear the uniform correctly because that is our expectation
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- Hato Pāora College is a Roman Catholic school in which the whole school community, through the general school programme and its religious instructions and observances, exercises the right to live and teach the values of Jesus Christ. Furthermore, our Māori culture, te reo Māori me ōna tikanga are central to our identity as a kura.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 11
- Māori
- 112
- Pacific
- 9
- Asian
- 2
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 31 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 31 |
| Year 10 | 30 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 30 |
| Year 11 | 19 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 12 | 19 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 13+ | 21 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 |
| Total | 120 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 120 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 30 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 30 |
| Age 14 | 30 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 30 |
| Age 15 | 19 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 16 | 19 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 17 | 20 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 120 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 120 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
95.7%
| Hato Paora College | 95.7% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.7% |
| Māori | 95.7% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 95.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
87%
| Hato Paora College | 87% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 87% |
| Māori | 87% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 87% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
78.3%
| Hato Paora College | 78.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.3% |
| Māori | 78.3% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 78.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
69.6%
| Hato Paora College | 69.6% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.6% |
| Māori | 69.6% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 69.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
87%
| Hato Paora College | 87% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 87% |
| Māori | 87% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 87% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hato Paora College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hato Paora College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hato Paora College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 516
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural other
- Date opened
- 30 September 1947
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 10 March 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (10 March 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 10 March 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
renew police vets for non-teaching staff every three years [ S4 Education and Training Act 2020]
risk identification and control process that identifies eliminates or minimises identified risks. [Health and Safety at work Act, 2015]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 113 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2019
122
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 17 June 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 March 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Hato Paora College is a boarding school for Māori students from Years 9 to 13. The school is located in the Manawatu region. The school’s special character is built around the Catholic faith and development of He Tapapa Rangatira , Leaders of Tomorrow .
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumak i/bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most students make good progress and experience academic success.
Almost all Year 11 students gained National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) in Level 1, and most gained Level 2, Level 3 and University Entrance; all senior students have attained NCEA literacy and numeracy requirements in the past two years.
Almost all Year 9 and 10 students are progressing in reading, writing and mathematics, with some making accelerated progress; most students are achieving at or above their expected curriculum levels.
The school has met the Ministry of Education target for regular attendance with the majority of students attending over 90% of the time.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic leadership, guided by the special character and kaupapa Māori , has embedded school conditions that support learner success.
A comprehensive consultation process, involving whānau , resulted in a strategic plan that outlines clear, future-focused priorities for learner outcomes and the school’s direction.
The Catholic faith and tikanga Māori are highly valued and evident throughout school life.
High standards, values and expectations built on a foundation of respect and responsibility, contribute to a positive school culture.
Teaching practice is responsive to learner needs.
Leaders and teachers are resourceful and adaptive; they have created a curriculum and timetable that responds well to what students need to engage, progress and achieve.
A schoolwide focus on literacy, across all learning areas, has resulted in improvements in reading and writing for Year 9 and 10 students.
Learning is purposeful and students are engaged; respectful relationships exist between teachers and students.
The school has well aligned systems, structures and processes that enhance learning outcomes.
Leaders and teachers use data well, to track and monitor student progress and achievement in Years 9 and 10; this well analysed data is used to inform decision-making and to support at risk-students in literacy and numeracy.
Links with outside agencies enhance and extend learning opportunities for senior students.
Engagement with whānau is positive; the school provides numerous opportunities that encourages the high participation of whānau in the life of the school.
Staff professional development decisions are clearly learner focused, based on school priorities and responsive to emerging student needs.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue with the schoolwide literacy programme, to sustain gains made in implementation of this and to further enhance junior student achievement in reading and writing
further develop the curriculum to better reflect local contexts to strengthen student engagement and understanding of the local area
evaluate the assessment programme, so that in the senior school, students have confidence in undertaking externally assessed NCEA standards for endorsements and to widen future pathways.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
continue to incorporate the literacy initiative across all curriculum areas and build staff capability as needed for consistency in teaching
teachers evaluate the extent to which the local curriculum is evident in their programmes of learning and respond accordingly
develop an action plan to review school assessment practices, including at junior levels, so that in the senior school higher levels of confidence to undertake external assessments in NCEA is apparent.
Every six months:
report analysed mid-year Year 9 and 10 literacy achievement data to the board, to gauge the consistency of implementation of the literacy initiative and the effectiveness on student outcomes
report on the extent to which programmes of learning reflect the local curriculum and plans to include further local contexts
report on attendance to the board to monitor that high levels are sustained and if not to respond accordingly.
Annually:
report to the board analysed student attendance, progress and achievement information to inform ongoing school improvement
evaluate and report on the effectiveness of the literacy initiative on student outcomes in reading and writing to inform teaching and learning planning
evaluate the extent to which localised curriculum contexts are evident in teacher planning and practices across the school and respond accordingly
review the impact of the evaluation of assessment practices, particularly in promoting external assessment opportunities.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
raised achievement in reading and writing; all teachers are consistently using identified literacy strategies
sustained and improved high levels of attendance
local curriculum contexts are evident in programmes of learning across the school and support the engagement of students in their learning
increased numbers of students are enrolled and achieving NCEA externally assessed standards.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
10 March 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).