Hastings Christian School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 328
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 1009 Copeland Road, Akina, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8786696
- office@hcs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.hcs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- School day starts
- 8:40am
We expect all children to be ready to start the school day at 8:40am.
- 8:40am
- School day ends
- 3:00pm Primary, 3:10pm Secondary
Finishing Time: - Primary: 3:00pm - Secondary: 3:10pm
- 3:00pm Primary, 3:10pm Secondary
- Uniform
- Required
Students are required to wear full regulation uniform.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- We are dedicated to serving families who are committed to Christ, their church and to the godly upbringing of their children.
- Voluntary donation
- $300 per year for 1 child, $500 per year for 2 children, $650 per year for 3 children, $750 per year for 4 or more children
The amount per annum is based on the number of children attending from a family: | 1 child | $300 per year | | 2 children | $500 per year | | 3 children | $650 per year | | 4 or more children | $750 per year |
- $300 per year for 1 child, $500 per year for 2 children, $650 per year for 3 children, $750 per year for 4 or more children
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Netball
- Netball
- Tennis
- Tennis
- Soccer
- Soccer
- T-Ball
- T-Ball
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Touch Rugby
- Touch Rugby
- Hockey
- Hockey
- Cross-Country Running
- Cross-Country Running
- Swimming
- Swimming
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Athletics
- Athletics
- Fencing
- Fencing
- Outdoor Education
- Outdoor Education
- House Sport Days
- House Sport Days
- Orchestra
- Orchestra
- Chess
- Chess
- Choirs
- Choirs
- Guitar
- Guitar
- Drums
- Drums
- Cello
- Cello
- Violin
- Violin
- Recorder
- Recorder
- Singing
- Singing
- Junior Production
- Junior Production
- Drama Group
- Drama Group
- Debating
- Debating
- Netball
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 242
- Māori
- 39
- Pacific
- 16
- Asian
- 36
- MELAA
- 38
- Other
- 3
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 02 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 04 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 29 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 06 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 07 | 5 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 33 |
| Year 08 | 3 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 27 |
| Year 09 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 28 |
| Year 10 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 29 |
| Year 12 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 32 |
| Year 13+ | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 21 | 0 | 24 |
| Total | 48 | 16 | 32 | 7 | 1 | 291 | 0 | 326 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 06 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 07 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 08 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 27 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 10 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 26 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 32 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 29 |
| Age 14 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 21 |
| Age 15 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 16 | 4 | 1 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 37 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 20 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 |
| Total | 48 | 16 | 32 | 7 | 1 | 291 | 0 | 326 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Hastings Christian School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
93.5%
| Hastings Christian School | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.9% |
| Total | 93.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
64.5%
| Hastings Christian School | 64.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 40% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 64.3% |
| Total | 64.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.9%
| Hastings Christian School | 12.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 14.3% |
| Total | 12.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
93.5%
| Hastings Christian School | 93.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.9% |
| Total | 93.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
26.8%
| Hastings Christian School | 26.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 56.1% |
| Māori | 40.2% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 28.8% |
| Total | 26.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hastings Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hastings Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 428
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 20 July 1997
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 4 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (4 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 4 July 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 328 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2018
269
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 December 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 4 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 13 months of the Education Review Office and Hastings Christian School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Hastings Christian School is a Years 1-13 interdenominational state-integrated school in Hastings. The school values are reflected in the mission statement, ‘To walk students through all fields of human thought and endeavour, discerning and celebrating ‘Truth’ at every turn for the purpose of challenging and equipping them to use their unique gift to forge lifestyles marked by exemplary dedication to God and neighbour‘.
Hastings Christian School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
to continue to design a curriculum that realises the school vision and mission and engages with contemporary needs and challenges
to nurture a hospitable, unified service-oriented community of learning that strives for excellence.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Hastings Christian School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate to what extent the Hastings Christian School (HCS) effective pedagogy framework is embedded across the curriculum to promote equity and excellent outcomes for all learners, particularly target students.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is the need:
to strengthen schoolwide collaboration for consistency of effective pedagogical practice within the school to achieve equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners
to continue to build cultural competency and develop a responsive local curriculum for all learners
to build collective capacity to do and use evaluation, inquiry and knowledge building to continue to improve learner outcomes.
The school expects to see:
the HCS effective pedagogy framework embedded across the school
a responsive broad-based, knowledge rich curriculum implemented within a Christian Worldview
foundation learning areas of reading, writing and mathematics strengthened to improve learner outcomes.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate to what extent the HCS effective pedagogy model is embedded across the curriculum to promote equity and excellent outcomes for all learners:
the special character of the school underpins all aspects of school life
staff are committed to enacting the school vision and values to promote positive outcomes for learners
positive relationships that support a strong sense of community and belonging
active involvement in the Lower North Island Christian Kāhui Ako to promote a culture of learning.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
ensuring the purpose of the HCS Effective Pedagogy framework is understood schoolwide
implementing a professional growth cycle that supports staff to reflect on ‘what they are teaching’ and ‘how they are teaching,’ enabling them to be more responsive to the learner
progressing a curriculum that meets the needs of all learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
4 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).