Hastings Boys' High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 755
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 800 South Karamu Road, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8730365
- paoffice@hastingsboys.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students are to wear the correct school uniform at all times.
- Required
- Getting there
- A minibus pickup service for Napier-based akonga, and a Bruns chartered bus from Central Hawke's Bay: departs Bruns Depot, 28 Northumberland Street 7:10 am, Waipawa Bus Stop 7:18 am, Otane Town Hall 7:26 am, arrives Hastings Boys' High School 8:18 am
We run a minibus pickup service for our Napier-based ākonga. Please enquire at the Admin Hub if you need this service. CENTRAL HAWKE'S BAY CHARTERED BUS SERVICE Chartered Bus Timetable The Hastings Boys' and Hastings Girls' High Schools chartered Bruns bus supports our ākonga from Central Hawke's Bay If you have a student in CHB that would like to attend HBHS / HGHS, safe and easy transport is available. If you need further information please contact paoffice@hastingsboys.school.nz Morning Bus – CHB to HBHS/HGHS Bruns Depot, 28 Northumberland Street – 7:10 am (depart) Waipawa Bus Stop – 7:18 am Otane Town Hall – 7:26 am SH2 (842/44) – 7:29 am Opposite Poukawa School turn off – 7.45am Hastings Girls’ High School – 8:03 am (arrive) Hastings Boys’ High School – 8:18 am (arrive)
- A minibus pickup service for Napier-based akonga, and a Bruns chartered bus from Central Hawke's Bay: departs Bruns Depot, 28 Northumberland Street 7:10 am, Waipawa Bus Stop 7:18 am, Otane Town Hall 7:26 am, arrives Hastings Boys' High School 8:18 am
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students have access to highly trained and experienced teachers dedicated to their individual needs.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
C J Monk Cup Year 9 Athletics Champion
- CROSS COUNTRY
- CHESS
- SWIMMING
- CANOE POLO
- WAKA AMA
- BADMINTON
- ROWING
- GOLF
- VOLLEYBALL
- MOUNTAIN BIKING
- CRICKET
- HOCKEY
- FOOTBALL
- FUTSAL
- RUGBY
- Junior Basketball
Paul Tuala Fata Cup MVP Junior Basketball Player
- Kapa Haka - Te Rōpū Manu Huia
3rd Place Kapa Haka - Te Rōpū Manu Huia
- Race Unity Speech Competition
2026 Race Unity Speech Competition
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 286
- Māori
- 351
- Pacific
- 189
- Asian
- 74
- MELAA
- 10
- Other
- 1
- International
- 4
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 88 | 38 | 10 | 0 | 1 | 49 | 1 | 164 |
| Year 10 | 107 | 42 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 53 | 1 | 197 |
| Year 11 | 83 | 42 | 9 | 4 | 0 | 58 | 0 | 172 |
| Year 12 | 64 | 32 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 73 | 1 | 160 |
| Year 13+ | 44 | 28 | 14 | 4 | 1 | 43 | 2 | 113 |
| Total | 386 | 182 | 68 | 10 | 2 | 276 | 5 | 806 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 64 | 33 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 35 | 1 | 122 |
| Age 14 | 108 | 40 | 18 | 0 | 0 | 55 | 1 | 199 |
| Age 15 | 92 | 39 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 56 | 0 | 168 |
| Age 16 | 62 | 31 | 15 | 3 | 0 | 65 | 0 | 152 |
| Age 17 | 46 | 31 | 14 | 2 | 0 | 56 | 1 | 126 |
| Age 18 | 14 | 8 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 9 | 1 | 36 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Total | 386 | 182 | 68 | 10 | 2 | 276 | 5 | 806 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
82%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 82% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 82% |
| Māori | 77.2% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.4% |
| Total | 82% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
68.3%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 68.3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 68.3% |
| Māori | 59.8% |
| Pacific | 72.5% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 77.3% |
| Total | 68.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
45.9%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 45.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 45.9% |
| Māori | 35.9% |
| Pacific | 42.5% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 51.5% |
| Total | 45.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
6.6%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 6.6% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.6% |
| Māori | 4.3% |
| Pacific | 10% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 12.1% |
| Total | 6.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
71.6%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 71.6% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.6% |
| Māori | 63% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 74.2% |
| Total | 71.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
24.4%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 24.4% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 24.4% |
| Māori | 32.1% |
| Pacific | 24.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 23.5% |
| Total | 24.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.9%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.9% |
| Māori | 2.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.7% |
| Total | 1.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.5%
| Hastings Boys' High School | 1.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.5% |
| Māori | 3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 1.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 502
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 21 August 1904
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 10 April 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (10 April 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 10 April 2026 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 10 April 2026 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 13
secondary school for boys in Years 9 to 13
- Years 9 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 April 2026 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Hastings Boys’ High School is a secondary school for boys in Years 9 to 13. The school roll of 795 includes 48% of students who identify as Māori , 34% Pākehā /New Zealand European, 23% Pacific and 8% Asian. The school is guided by its Ākina Man values: Ngākau Aroha |Empathy, Whakaute | Respect, Ngākau Tapatahi | Integrity, and Hihiri | Diligence. Over recent years there has been change in the school’s leadership. A new principal was appointed during 2024.
The school offers academic qualifications pathways in National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) which includes a building academy, and the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) in Year 11.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the 2022 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected improvements
Hastings Boys’ High School focused on evaluating the extent the school was meeting students' cultural identities and learning needs, thereby strengthening student success and achievement with equity and excellence for Māori and Pacific students.
Findings
The school has made some progress. Following leadership changes since the last report, the school has refined its focus to a strategic and collaborative approach to school improvement. This has positively influenced school culture and established a foundation for consistency of student engagement and achievement throughout the school.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Student progress across the school is increasingly positive and students report strong levels of wellbeing.
A large majority of students enter the school well below the expected curriculum levels and make significant progress over Years 9 and 10. By the end of Year 10 a large majority of students are achieving at or above expected curriculum levels in literacy and a small majority in numeracy. The school is yet to achieve equitable outcomes for all Year 9 and 10 students.
Most Year 11 students enter NCEA, however, less than half achieve NCEA Level 1 as they are yet to meet the literacy and numeracy requirements. Additionally, a fifth of Year 11 students enter IGCSE and almost all achieve this.
A large majority of students in Years 12 and 13 achieve NCEA Levels 2 and 3; less than half of students achieve University Entrance. The school is yet to achieve equitable outcomes for all groups of students in Years 11 to 13.
Students report that they value a strong sense of belonging and support throughout the school, and that they enjoy a wide variety of learning and extra-curricular opportunities.
The school is not yet meeting the Government’s target for regular attendance with less than half of students attending school regularly. Regular attendance is improving and remains a priority for the school.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership is focused on embedding a school culture committed to high quality teaching and learning.
Leaders model strong relational practices in their developing of consistent evidence-based processes to support continuous improvement for all students.
Leaders prioritise professional learning for staff that focuses on consistency of evidence-based, responsive teaching practice to improve outcomes for all students.
Leaders strengthen relational trust and collaboration across all levels of the school community to achieve the strategic vision and improvement goals.
Curriculum and teaching practices are increasingly responsive to students’ needs, interests and identities.
Students experience a curriculum that provides a wide range of learning opportunities for students’ interests and promotes engagement in learning.
Students benefit from settled, respectful classrooms with most teachers using evidence-based teaching strategies tailored to support students’ different needs.
Students are well supported through planned transitions into, within and beyond school contributing to a strong sense of belonging and support for their post-school pathways.
The board, leaders and staff are taking positive steps to strengthen schoolwide processes and practices for continuing improvement in student outcomes.
The Hastings Boys’ High School Board actively represents and serves the school and community in its stewardship role with sustainability of student and staff wellbeing, and student progress and achievement being key priorities.
The school’s vision and values, embracing both the school’s tradition and current and future opportunities, are evident in all aspects of the school, underpinning decision making and actions of leaders, staff and students.
Evidenced-based support systems and interventions are increasingly effective in targeting additional learning and pastoral care to students who require it.
Leaders, staff and students recognise, value and increasingly cater for the diverse identities, languages and cultures of students, whānau and the community.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Strengthen evidence-based responsive teaching and learning so that all students make progress, achieve well and ensure equitable outcomes.
Embed a shared understanding of effective internal evaluation to understand what is working and support ongoing improvement.
Improve regular attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and the Board review the attendance plan, identify areas for further improvement and adjust as needed
Within six months:
evaluate the implementation of the school’s evidence-based responsive teaching framework for all students to measure progress on reducing disparities in achievement
leaders review and refine current evaluation practices and establish systematic processes across the school
Every six months:
leaders, teachers and the Board review schoolwide attendance and engagement data to evaluate the impact of strategies aimed at improving regular attendance and student progress and achievement
Annually:
leaders evaluate the implementation of evidence-based responsive teaching, identify areas for ongoing improvement and plan for the next year
the Board and leaders review the effectiveness of strategies for increasing student attendance, progress and achievement across the diversity of the school to guide strategic and annual improvement planning.
Expected outcomes
A school culture of evaluation where all staff regularly use evidence, including student and community feedback, to refine approaches that drive ongoing improvement for all students.
All students make progress, achieve well and have equitable outcomes.
Improved levels of regular attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
10 April 2026
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).