Hamilton North School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 168
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Warwick Avenue, Te Rapa, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-8493029
- admin@hamnorth.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 74
- Māori
- 92
- Pacific
- 19
- Asian
- 31
- MELAA
- 4
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Year 02 | 6 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 03 | 8 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 04 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 2 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 06 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 07 | 8 | 2 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 09 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 10 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 11 | 9 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 12 | 8 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 13+ | 17 | 6 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 30 |
| Total | 87 | 19 | 30 | 5 | 1 | 73 | 0 | 160 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 07 | 8 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 08 | 8 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 09 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 10 | 5 | 3 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 11 | 6 | 2 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 12 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 13 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 16 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 19+ | 6 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 12 |
| Total | 87 | 19 | 30 | 5 | 1 | 73 | 0 | 160 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| Hamilton North School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| Hamilton North School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| Hamilton North School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Hamilton North School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Hamilton North School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
26.2%
| Hamilton North School | 26.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 35% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 62.3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 34.1% |
| Total | 26.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.4%
| Hamilton North School | 6.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8.5% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 10.6% |
| Total | 6.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Hamilton North School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 499
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1977
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 2 May 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board did not attest to all areas (2 May 2024)
Areas the board did not attest to, in ERO’s words: Personnel Management. The report says what that meant and what happened next.
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 2 May 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Completing a risk assessment as part of workforce safety checking. [ Children’s Act 2014 - Safety Checking of Workforce ]
The board has addressed the identified area of non-compliance.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 168 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2019
150
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 17 December 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 2 May 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 6 months of the Education Review Office and Hamilton North School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Hamilton North School is a day specialist school for children and young people aged five to twenty-one years, who have additional learning needs and receive funding from the Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS).
The school adapts and individualises the New Zealand Curriculum to meet the specific learning needs of students. Each student has an individual education plan.
A team of specialists and therapists provide transdisciplinary support for students in consultation with families, whānau and staff. A specialist teacher outreach service provides support for ORS funded students enrolled in local schools.
In addition to the base school, there are 10 satellite classes hosted in five local schools, Te Ao Mārama School, Crawshaw School, Te Totara Primary School, Hamilton Junior High School and Rototuna Senior High School. A transition learning area for older students focusing on work skills and transitioning towards life after school, is located at the base school.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
The school’s mission is to enable students to develop their potential with regards to their ability, to foster skills and provide opportunities, which allow them to successfully integrate into our multicultural society. This is supported by and enacted through the student motto: ‘In Our School Everyone is Safe and Cares for Each Other’.
Hamilton North School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
ako – our learning
hauora – our wellbeing
whanaungatanga – our relationships.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Hamilton North School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate to what extent the documented and enacted school curriculum reflects effective teaching and learning practices that responds to the unique and diverse needs of learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is that leaders have identified the need to review the current school curriculum to strengthen:
a shared understanding of what effective teaching practice means and looks like for diverse learners
a range of clear pathways to support learners to reach their potential
the documentation that supports and guides consistent coherent teaching practices across the school.
The school expects to see a curriculum that equips learners with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to be successful and reach their potential.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the extent the documented and enacted curriculum reflects effective teaching and learning practices that responds to the unique and diverse needs of learners.
A sustained focus on learners being able to communicate effectively and achieve individual goals with whānau input and voice supporting planning for learning.
Effective school systems and processes clearly identify, plan for and evaluate strategies that minimise complex behaviours.
Leadership creates conditions for innovation and responds to and sustains improved outcomes for learners.
Whānau and learner voice is effectively used to support planning for learning and wellbeing.
Staff consistently demonstrate and enact high expectations for learners and their success.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
reviewing current approaches and documented guidance for current practice
developing principles to underpin the implementation of school’s curriculum in line with the refreshed New Zealand Curriculum , Te Mātaiaho
using existing school structures to establish current good practices to determine priorities to inform curriculum development
strengthening the individual education planning process to improve goal setting to better monitor student learning and wellbeing outcomes.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
2 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).