Hamilton Christian School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 979
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 4 North City Road, Rototuna North, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-8540010
- admin@hamiltonchristian.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 586
- Māori
- 48
- Pacific
- 31
- Asian
- 271
- MELAA
- 105
- Other
- 32
- International
- 22
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 1 | 12 | 2 | 3 | 25 | 0 | 36 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 3 | 16 | 1 | 3 | 23 | 0 | 42 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 2 | 10 | 2 | 1 | 33 | 0 | 46 |
| Year 04 | 2 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 2 | 35 | 2 | 50 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 3 | 17 | 5 | 1 | 37 | 2 | 61 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 4 | 4 | 45 | 3 | 68 |
| Year 07 | 6 | 4 | 21 | 3 | 2 | 64 | 4 | 98 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 1 | 24 | 6 | 0 | 49 | 2 | 80 |
| Year 09 | 8 | 7 | 19 | 9 | 3 | 88 | 2 | 122 |
| Year 10 | 8 | 5 | 27 | 5 | 5 | 75 | 4 | 115 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 1 | 16 | 5 | 4 | 77 | 4 | 100 |
| Year 12 | 6 | 4 | 15 | 8 | 5 | 62 | 3 | 94 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 3 | 12 | 4 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 49 |
| Total | 50 | 34 | 219 | 55 | 33 | 648 | 26 | 961 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 1 | 13 | 2 | 3 | 25 | 0 | 37 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 3 | 14 | 1 | 3 | 25 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 2 | 11 | 2 | 1 | 32 | 0 | 46 |
| Age 08 | 3 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 2 | 34 | 2 | 49 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 3 | 17 | 5 | 1 | 38 | 2 | 62 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 4 | 4 | 44 | 3 | 67 |
| Age 11 | 5 | 3 | 18 | 1 | 2 | 52 | 4 | 80 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 2 | 24 | 8 | 0 | 48 | 2 | 82 |
| Age 13 | 6 | 6 | 19 | 7 | 0 | 84 | 1 | 113 |
| Age 14 | 9 | 6 | 27 | 7 | 7 | 74 | 3 | 116 |
| Age 15 | 7 | 1 | 19 | 3 | 4 | 80 | 4 | 106 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 4 | 9 | 7 | 5 | 63 | 3 | 87 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 3 | 15 | 5 | 1 | 43 | 1 | 64 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 9 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 50 | 34 | 219 | 55 | 33 | 648 | 26 | 961 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
84.4%
| Hamilton Christian School | 84.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 92.9% |
| MELAA | 66.7% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 87.5% |
| Total | 84.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
77.9%
| Hamilton Christian School | 77.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 92.9% |
| MELAA | 66.7% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 80.4% |
| Total | 77.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
41.6%
| Hamilton Christian School | 41.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 51.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 33.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 78.6% |
| MELAA | 50% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 35.7% |
| Total | 41.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
13%
| Hamilton Christian School | 13% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 14.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.9% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 7.1% |
| MELAA | 33.3% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 14.3% |
| Total | 13% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
80.5%
| Hamilton Christian School | 80.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | 83.3% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 76.8% |
| Total | 80.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
58.2%
| Hamilton Christian School | 58.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 13.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.6% |
| Māori | 149.3% |
| Pacific | 184.6% |
| Asian | 32.4% |
| Other | 57.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 51.1% |
| Total | 58.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.7%
| Hamilton Christian School | 1.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.2% |
| Māori | 13.8% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.4% |
| Total | 1.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1%
| Hamilton Christian School | 1% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.8% |
| Māori | 14.9% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 413
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 3 March 1998
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 24 February 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (24 February 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 24 February 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
renew police vets for non-teaching staff every three years.
[S4 Education and Training Act 2020]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 979 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2015
337
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 June 2015
May 2011
323
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 June 2011
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 24 February 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Hamilton Christian School is an integrated Years 1 to 13 school located in the western districts of Hamilton city. The special character of the school is built around the Christian faith.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
A large majority of students make good progress and experience academic success.
A large majority of students gained the National Certificate in Education Achievement (NCEA) Level 2 and University Entrance, most gained Level 3; NCEA Level 1 is not offered.
Most students in Years 1 to 10 achieve at or above expected curriculum levels in reading, writing and mathematics.
Students demonstrate a strong connection to the school and are well supported by teachers in their wellbeing and academic needs.
A large majority of students attend regularly; the school is not yet meeting the Ministry of Education target for regular attendance.
Leaders are effective in strategically leading change for ongoing improvement to support learner success.
Strategic planning provides clear direction and future focused priorities; cohesion in realising strategic goals is through thorough annual planning that details specific action for senior secondary, junior secondary and primary sections of the school.
The school’s organisational structure fosters effective, confident leadership across the school.
Leaders proactively promote and model expectations for a positive school culture and respectful relationships underpinned by the school’s values.
Teaching practice is consistent across the school and effectively responds to the learning needs of students.
Teaching practice is relational and affirming between students and teachers; classrooms have clearly established routines and expectations for learning.
Collaborative and consistent school wide planning ensures smooth student transition from one year level to the next.
Different teaching practices are evident at the various year levels, meeting the needs of groups of learners.
The board, leaders and teachers are embedding schoolwide conditions to support student outcomes.
Students are offered a wide range of learning opportunities through The New Zealand Curriculum , Trades Academies and extra-curricular activities; high levels of engagement are evident in students’ successful outcomes.
The school has established strong connections with the local community, including growing relationships with iwi, who have assisted in strengthening tikanga Māori that complements the school’s special character.
Regular reporting to the board from school leaders ensures members have relevant analysed data and information to make well informed decisions about resourcing and future priorities.
Analysed achievement data is used well to monitor student progress, identify and respond to those students requiring additional support.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue to develop the school’s curriculum, including for changes in English and mathematics, and for senior courses, to meet the learning needs of students
continue to address attendance issues so that more learners attend regularly
ensure appropriate planning and resourcing are in place to manage and sustain the anticipated growth of the school roll, to ensure effective teaching and learning and positive student outcomes are sustained.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
begin to review the senior school curriculum and ensure teachers are prepared to deliver the refreshed English and mathematics curriculum
explore and investigate strategies to increase attendance for all students and incorporate this in the school’s strategic and annual plans
develop an action plan to ensure that appropriate resources are in place to effectively manage the projected roll growth of the school, to sustain high quality teaching and learning and positive learning outcomes
Every six months:
evaluate the progress made in implementing curriculum changes in English and mathematics, and review of the senior school curriculum, to identify further actions needed
continue to monitor student attendance data and to identify strategies that are working and what further steps need to be taken
Annually:
provide an update on the progress made in implementing curriculum changes and identify next steps for the following year
report attendance data to the board, scrutinise to identify trends and patterns and further actions needed
present to the board current and projected roll numbers for the following year and how changes are managed to maintain high quality teaching and learning.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
sustained and improved outcomes for all learners
a well embedded curriculum that meets the needs of all learners, including in the senior school
improved regular student attendance
effective planning and resourcing to manage roll growth that sustains high quality teaching and learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
24 February 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).