Fraser High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,450
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 72 Ellicott Road, Dinsdale, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-8479044
- office@fraser.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.fraser.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Badminton
- Basketball
- 3 x 3 Basketball
- Cricket
- Cross Country
- Football
Football and 5 a-side Football
- 5 a-side Football
Football and 5 a-side Football
- Futsal
- Hockey
- In-line Hockey
- Kilikiti
- Mountain Biking
- Netball
- Rock Climbing
- Rugby
- Rugby League
- Softball
- Squash
- Swimming
- Tennis
- Touch
- Turbo Touch
- Ultimate Frisbee
- Volleyball
- Waka Ama
- Water Polo
- Annual Production
- Annual Production
- Barbershop
- Barbershop
- Cultural Dance Exchanges
- Cultural Dance Exchanges
- Dance and Hip Hop
- Dance and Hip Hop
- Rockquest
- Rockquest
- Shakespeare Festival
- Shakespeare Festival
- Showquest
- Showquest
- Theatre Sports
- Theatre Sports
- Young Singers In Harmony
- Young Singers In Harmony
- Computer Technicians
- Computer Technicians
- Debating Team
- Debating Team
- Enviro Group
- Enviro Group
- Filipino Groups
- Filipino Groups
- Homework Mentors
- Homework Mentors
- Librarians
- Librarians
- Maaori groups
- Maaori groups
- Media Team
- Media Team
- Pasifika groups
- Pasifika groups
- Rainbow Group
- Rainbow Group
- Reading Mentors/Buddy Reading
- Reading Mentors/Buddy Reading
- Sports Coach
- Sports Coach
- Sports Referees/Umpires
- Sports Referees/Umpires
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 672
- Māori
- 621
- Pacific
- 284
- Asian
- 292
- MELAA
- 57
- Other
- 19
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 122 | 52 | 64 | 10 | 3 | 136 | 0 | 290 |
| Year 10 | 154 | 61 | 52 | 18 | 7 | 180 | 0 | 343 |
| Year 11 | 122 | 54 | 71 | 10 | 7 | 155 | 0 | 311 |
| Year 12 | 118 | 57 | 51 | 9 | 6 | 133 | 0 | 272 |
| Year 13+ | 108 | 55 | 50 | 13 | 3 | 147 | 0 | 270 |
| Total | 624 | 279 | 288 | 60 | 26 | 751 | 0 | 1486 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 109 | 43 | 47 | 7 | 3 | 120 | 0 | 243 |
| Age 14 | 137 | 57 | 60 | 14 | 7 | 166 | 0 | 330 |
| Age 15 | 140 | 59 | 62 | 11 | 7 | 170 | 0 | 322 |
| Age 16 | 117 | 54 | 50 | 11 | 5 | 132 | 0 | 267 |
| Age 17 | 101 | 52 | 45 | 8 | 3 | 135 | 0 | 247 |
| Age 18 | 17 | 11 | 20 | 5 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 61 |
| Age 19+ | 2 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 13 |
| Total | 624 | 279 | 288 | 60 | 26 | 751 | 0 | 1486 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
72.3%
| Fraser High School | 72.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 74.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.6% |
| Māori | 62.8% |
| Pacific | 71.8% |
| Asian | 84.6% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 78.6% |
| Total | 72.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
61.6%
| Fraser High School | 61.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 58.8% |
| Māori | 54.4% |
| Pacific | 57.7% |
| Asian | 75% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 68.4% |
| Total | 61.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
33.9%
| Fraser High School | 33.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 38.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 30.3% |
| Māori | 27.8% |
| Pacific | 40.8% |
| Asian | 38.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 38.3% |
| Total | 33.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.8%
| Fraser High School | 16.8% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 23.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.4% |
| Māori | 12.8% |
| Pacific | 7% |
| Asian | 13.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 21.4% |
| Total | 16.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
70.4%
| Fraser High School | 70.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.1% |
| Māori | 59.4% |
| Pacific | 73.2% |
| Asian | 86.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 73.8% |
| Total | 70.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
103.3%
| Fraser High School | 103.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 118% |
| Māori | 126.6% |
| Pacific | 43.9% |
| Asian | 39.8% |
| Other | 98.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 114.8% |
| Total | 103.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
33.3%
| Fraser High School | 33.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 33.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 33.9% |
| Māori | 53% |
| Pacific | 17.9% |
| Asian | 9.3% |
| Other | 25% |
| European/Pākehā | 26.3% |
| Total | 33.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
8.6%
| Fraser High School | 8.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.6% |
| Māori | 13.8% |
| Pacific | 6.5% |
| Asian | 2.9% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.3% |
| Total | 8.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 508
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1920
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 6 November 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 November 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 6 November 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
duty to prohibit the use or access of mobile phones at all times while at school [ Section 126, Education (School Boards) Amendment Regulations 2023 ]
maintaining a hazard register that identifies risk and suitable mitigation measures [ Health and Safety at Work Act, 2015 ]
a centralised accident register, and reporting of trends and patterns in accidents to the board [ Health and Safety at Work Act, 2015 ]
conduct, review and report on regular trial evacuations; fire, earthquake and lockdowns [ Health and Safety at Work Act, 2015 ]
ensure that high risk activities are clearly identified in education outside the classroom (EOTC) approvals prior to board sign off [ Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
ensure all teachers have completed restraint training [ Education (Physical Restraint) rules 2023; Section 100 of the Act: Limits on use of physical restraint at registered schools, Education and Training Act 2020]
ensure that all restraint trained non-teaching staff are authorised by the board to use restraint [ Education (Physical Restraint) rules 2023, Section 99 (2), Education and Training Act, 2020 ]
ensure that all staff hold a current police vet [ Section 104 Education and Training Act 2020 ]
ensure all new employees have a police vet through the school prior to beginning in their role [ Section 104Education and Training Act 202 0]
ensure staff appointments process includes records of referee checks, safety checking and risk assessment [ Section 599 & 104 Education and Training Act 2020 ].
The board has not yet addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1450 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2017
1448
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 31 August 2017
August 2014
1463
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 12 December 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 November 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Fraser High School is a co-educational school located in West Hamilton. It provides education for students from Years 9 to 13. There have been recent changes in the senior leadership team. The principal continues in her role. The school aspires to develop students who can ‘ learn with purpose, engage with pride, act with respect and dare to succeed’ (LEAD ) .
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the previous ERO report of March 2023, ERO and the school have been working to evaluate the extent to which school systems and processes are supporting and responding to student needs. The focus has been on attendance and lifting the completion of learning and assessment tasks by students to improve learner outcomes.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
Improved and more equitable outcomes for all students.
Progress and achievement outcomes for students are yet to show improvement.
Achievement outcomes continue to be inequitable for Māori and Pacific students.
The school has identified that assessment practices to monitor and support students’ progress and achievement in Year 9 and 10 requires further development.
Improved levels of attendance.
Attendance has improved slightly with a third of students attending regularly and the school has yet to meet the Ministry of Education target.
Strengthened systems and processes to support students to attend and complete learning and assessment tasks.
Leadership has recently increased tracking of learning and NCEA assessment task completion to support increased achievement.
Systems and processes for monitoring and following up regular attendance have strengthened and show a small improvement; addressing chronic attendance levels is a priority.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Student progress and achievement is yet to show improvement.
Less than half of students achieve Level 1 National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA), a small majority achieve Level 2 and less than half achieve Level 3, with few students gaining University Entrance.
The school is yet to develop a clear understanding about student progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics in Years 9 and 10.
The school does not meet the Ministry of Education target for regular attendance with approximately one third of students attending regularly; improving regular attendance remains an ongoing priority.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is beginning to develop systems and processes to improve outcomes for learners.
Leaders have identified key areas for development, including raising achievement and improving the junior curriculum; developing explicit action plans and ensuring these plans are implemented is an urgent priority.
The school has sought external expertise and support to develop future actions related to curriculum, school culture and community consultation in order to raise achievement and engagement.
Some teachers design and implement purposeful programmes of learning for students; redevelopment of the junior school curriculum is a priority.
Redevelopment of the junior curriculum is an identified priority to improve student learning pathways from Years 9 to 13 and students’ progress and achievement.
Teachers’ consistent use of assessment data to inform and improve teaching practices and effectively meet the needs of all students remains a key area for improvement.
Better identification, tracking and monitoring of students with additional learning needs, to enable the provision of high-quality learning support, is a key next step.
The school is taking early steps to improve conditions for learning.
Staff are beginning to collectively reinforce school systems for positive behaviour expectations; reducing the number behavioural incidents, stand downs and suspensions remains a priority.
School systems for promoting student wellbeing require further improvement, including responding to student feedback gathered through schoolwide surveys, to inform action plans and resourcing decisions.
The board has been focused on addressing school finance, employment issues and property matters; prioritising strategic planning to lift student achievement and engagement is a key next step.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
continue to develop the junior curriculum and promote effective teaching practices to improve students’ progress, achievement and engagement in learning
improve assessment, monitoring and reporting of students’ progress and achievement
continue to implement effective strategies to improve school culture and promote positive learning focused student behaviours
improve regular attendance and reduce chronic attendance levels.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
continue to plan the junior curriculum review process, including roles, actions, responsibilities, timeframes
review the sufficiency of learning support provisions for all students who require specific assistance
develop a schoolwide system for collecting, analysing and reporting reliable student progress and achievement data for Years 9 and 10 in literacy and mathematics
further develop, implement and report on strategies to improve attendance levels
Within six months:
carry out the planned review and redevelop the junior curriculum and teaching and learning programmes
report findings of junior curriculum review and planned responses to the board to inform decision making
implement schoolwide system for collecting, analysing and reporting progress and achievement information for Years 9 and 10 in literacy and mathematics
continue to monitor, analyse report on progress with strategies to improve student behaviour and attendance
Every six months:
the board and leadership consult with school community to identify priorities for the strategic plan and curriculum development
report progress and achievement information in relation to annual improvement targets, including student behaviour trends and patterns to the board
review student wellbeing outcomes and develop an action plan to address identified areas of concern
Annually:
review the strategic plan to reflect the current priorities including curriculum development progress and reset the annual implementation plan
evaluate initiatives designed to promote positive student behaviour and build a positive school culture
review schoolwide teaching and learning practices and their impact on student achievement
formally gather student and staff voice to monitor wellbeing to inform next steps and strategic priorities.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in significant improvement in:
achievement outcomes for all students, and levels of attendance and engagement in learning
curriculum, teaching practices and learner pathways that respond to the strengths, interests and needs of all students
assessment practices that enable teachers to monitor progress and achievement in the junior school and plan teaching programmes that effectively meet student needs
school culture and a reduction in student behaviour issues.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education considers an intervention under section 171 of the Education and Training Act 2020 in order to bring about improvements in:
health and safety and positive school culture
leadership of learning and curriculum
attendance, progress and achievement
strategic and annual planning for improvement
employment.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle and monitor progress against improvement priorities. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 November 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).