KuraHub

← Back to search

Fossil Bay School

Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
1–8
Total roll
16
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 569 schools in Auckland Region with a published location. Fossil Bay School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
58 Korora Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Territorial authority
Waiheke Local Board Area
Phone
09-3722152
Email
management@fossilbay.co.nz
Website
https://www.fossilbay.co.nz/
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
  • We believe in order for a child to develop into a resilient and rounded individual all aspects of the child need to be developed in a gentle and non-competitive way. We teach in small classes, ensuring the needs of each individual student can be met.
International students
  • Accepted, as statedWe welcome enquiries from international students from around the world. We believe having international students in our school will be culturally enriching for our students, teachers and families.

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
14
Māori
0
Pacific
2
Asian
0
MELAA
2
Other
1
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 0100000202
Year 0210111304
Year 0301000303
Year 0400000202
Year 0500000101
Year 0600000303
Total1111114015
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 0500000202
Age 0611111405
Age 0700000303
Age 0800000101
Age 0900000101
Age 1000000303
Total1111114015

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Small urban area
Date opened
31 December 2016

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
2
Last reviewed
8 November 2022
Latest report
Private School Review November 2022
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

What this report states about the school

As stated in ERO’s report of 8 November 2022 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.

International students
  • trueThe school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care for International Students) Code of Practice 2016

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 16 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. March 2018

    29

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 4 May 2018

This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 2 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).