Forest View High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 426
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Baird Road, Tokoroa
- Territorial authority
- South Waikato District
- Phone
- 07-8865219
- admin@fvhs.school.nz
- Website
- https://www.fvhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 252
- Māori
- 245
- Pacific
- 86
- Asian
- 42
- MELAA
- 3
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 49 | 11 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 45 | 0 | 79 |
| Year 10 | 44 | 19 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 81 |
| Year 11 | 64 | 21 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 67 | 0 | 104 |
| Year 12 | 46 | 22 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 50 | 0 | 84 |
| Year 13+ | 42 | 17 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 36 | 0 | 76 |
| Total | 245 | 90 | 41 | 1 | 0 | 246 | 0 | 424 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 38 | 10 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 61 |
| Age 14 | 43 | 17 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 15 | 59 | 19 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 62 | 0 | 99 |
| Age 16 | 54 | 17 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 59 | 0 | 91 |
| Age 17 | 45 | 22 | 12 | 1 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 80 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 245 | 90 | 41 | 1 | 0 | 246 | 0 | 424 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
78.9%
| Forest View High School | 78.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 74.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.8% |
| Māori | 73% |
| Pacific | 83.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 74.1% |
| Total | 78.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
69.7%
| Forest View High School | 69.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.9% |
| Māori | 63.5% |
| Pacific | 79.2% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 58.6% |
| Total | 69.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
47.7%
| Forest View High School | 47.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 47.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 47.8% |
| Māori | 34.9% |
| Pacific | 58.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 43.1% |
| Total | 47.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
4.6%
| Forest View High School | 4.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 6.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.2% |
| Māori | 3.2% |
| Pacific | 8.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 5.2% |
| Total | 4.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
78%
| Forest View High School | 78% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.3% |
| Māori | 69.8% |
| Pacific | 91.7% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 69% |
| Total | 78% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
40.5%
| Forest View High School | 40.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 39.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 41.3% |
| Māori | 59.9% |
| Pacific | 59.3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 34.6% |
| Total | 40.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
13.5%
| Forest View High School | 13.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 2.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 26.6% |
| Māori | 19.3% |
| Pacific | 4.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.5% |
| Total | 13.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.8%
| Forest View High School | 2.8% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.9% |
| Māori | 4.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 2.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 517
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1974
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 29 May 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (29 May 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 29 May 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 426 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2018
323
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 3 October 2018
September 2015
383
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 November 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 29 May 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 9 months of the Education Review Office and Forest View High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Forest View High School is located in Tokoroa in the heart of the South Waikato region. The school provides education to students in Years 9 - 13. In 2019 a new Principal was appointed and since then there have been significant changes to the makeup of the senior leadership team.
Forest View High School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
have student centred decision making at the core of leadership and teacher planning
provide quality education to students to prepare them for life after secondary schooling while obtaining the highest and most significant qualifications possible
embed culture and languages into learning, that are representative of all the student and staff cultures the school serves.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Forest View High School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively internal evaluation is being used to improve student outcomes.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to evaluate the effectiveness and significance of recent changes on students' achievement and engagement
to evaluate special programmes Arataki and Akoranga introduced at Forest View High School, in terms of long-term benefits for students
to implement an effective programme and plan for internal review that can be applied to all aspects of our school for continued long term improvement.
The school expects to see a structured process in place that can be translated to all areas of the school to conduct effective review. The review process will include a range of voices strategically chosen to provide a wide lens on the mahi being reviewed and to ensure we are meeting our cultural responsibilities for our priority learners and clearly identifying next steps to improve student outcomes.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to build internal evaluation capability:
Well-established connections with whānau and wider community groups that support collaborative planning.
Students and staff voice are included in on all aspects of our school review and planning.
The leadership team is deliberately diverse and responsive to staff, students and parent voice.
The priority given to building staff capability about culturally responsive and relational practice.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
designing and implementing an approach to internal evaluation that establishes what is working well, for whom, and using this information to inform ongoing planning across the school
including the board of trustees in the internal evaluation cycle to ensure evidence-based decisions are made about school improvement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
29 May 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).